Doomben Cup

The Doomben Cup 2016 is a Group 1 race over 2000m run at Doomben on Saturday 21st May during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Doomben Cup News

2017 Ajax Stakes Winner It’s Somewhat Back-to-Back

2017 Ajax Stakes Winner It’s Somewhat Back-to-Back

Godolphin stable stalwart It’s Somewhat celebrated a successful Ajax Stakes 2017 title defence winning the Coolmore Classic Day Group 2 first-up on way to possible Doncaster Mile bid this autumn.

The 2017 Doomben Cup is the long-term goal for dual Ajax Stakes winner It’s Somewhat. Photo: Steve Hart.

Last Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival the John O’Shea-trained son of Dynaformer ...

The 2016 Doomben Cup is a 2000m staying race designed to test a horse’s endurance and strength. Held during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival at Doomben Racecourse, the Doomben Cup is a weight-for-age race for horses aged three years and older.

Offering $650,000 in prize money, the Group 1 Doomben Cup attracts plenty of trainers, jockeys and horses from around the country. The best lead up race to the Doomben Cup is the Group 2 Hollindale Stakes (1800m) held two weeks earlier at the Gold Coast. This Hollindale Stakes / Doomben Cup double has been won by a number of horses over the years: Above Deck in 2006, Mr Bureaucrat in 2002, Might And Power in 1998, Danewin in 1995, Durbridge in 1994 and Rough Habit in 1991 and 1992.

The 2016 Doomben Cup will be run on Saturday May 21.

Doomben Cup 2016
Date: Saturday May 21, 2016
Track: Doomben Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: 3YO+ Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $650,000

2016 Doomben Cup Field

By all accounts, the 2016 Doomben Cup field should be filled out with very talented horses.
The 2016 Doomben Cup field is published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0590×61103 VOLKSTOK’N’BARRELL (NZ) Donna Logan & Chris Gibbs Blake Shinn 5 59kg 109
2 0728×33272 HAURAKI John O’Shea James McDonald 1 59kg 107
3 7x9230x550 OUR IVANHOWE (GER) Lee & Anthony Freedman Kerrin McEvoy 6 59kg 112
4 9936×56101 LEEBAZ (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Michael Cahill 2 59kg 109
5 7x23x61165 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Damian Browne 9 59kg 108
6 482×082201 MESSENE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Orman (a) 4 59kg 106
7 21x120x231 MAURUS (GB) David Vandyke Blake Spriggs 10 59kg 96
8 x6447204x7 SPIRITJIM (FR) Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 59kg 108
9 113x00xL23 NOBLE PROTECTOR (GB) Robert Smerdon Tim Clark 8 57kg 104
10 1x33x57412 LADY LE FAY (NZ) Chris Waller Jason Collett 7 57kg 98

2016 Doomben Cup Nominations

Because of the race’s massive reputation, the quality of Doomben Cup nominations is usually very high. A number of horses from top Queensland stables and also from interstate enter the Doomben Cup nominations in search of Group 1 glory.

The 2016 Doomben Cup nominations are provided below.

Doomben Cup History

First won by Pentheus in 1933, the Doomben Cup’s greatest horse has been Rough Habit with three consecutive wins from 1991 to 1993.

Between 1933 and 1937, the Doomben Cup race distance was 10 furlongs (approx 2000m) however this was changed to 11 furlongs (2200m) between 1938 and 1972. In 1989 it was temporarily increased to 2160m.

Recent Doomben Cup Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Doomben Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Doomben Cup
1st Our Ivanhowe 2 minutes 04.41 seconds
2nd Hauraki
3rd It’s Somewhat
Doomben Cup
1st Pornichet 2 minutes 02.52 seconds
2nd Weary
3rd I’m Imposing
Doomben Cup
1st Streama 2 minutes 01.72 seconds
2nd Leebaz
3rd Junoob
Doomben Cup
1st Beaten Up 2 minute 04.34 seconds
2nd Foreteller
3rd Secret Admirer
Doomben Cup
1st Mawingo 2 minute 02.0 seconds
2nd Lights of Heaven
3rd Manighar
Doomben Cup
1st Scenic Shot 2 minute 03.7 seconds
2nd My Kingdom Of Fife
3rd Glass Harmonium
Doomben Cup
1st Metal Bender 2 minutes 2.65 seconds
2nd Gold Water
3rd Triple Honour
Doomben Cup
1st Scenic Shot 2 minutes 2.8 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Sir Slick
Doomben Cup
1st Sarrera 2 minutes 3.3 seconds
2nd Rampant Lion
3rd Like It Is
Doomben Cup
1st Cinque Cento 2 minutes 1.8 seconds
2nd Gaze
3rd Pentathon
Doomben Cup
1st Above Deck 2 minutes 13.8 seconds
2nd Octapussy
3rd Roman Arch
Doomben Cup
1st Perlin 2 minutes 15 seconds
2nd Platinum Scissors
3rd Natural Blitz
Doomben Cup
1st Defier 2 minutes 11.6 seconds
2nd Pentastic
3rd Upsetthym
Doomben Cup
1st Bush Padre 2 minutes 13 seconds
2nd Freemason
3rd Maguire
Doomben Cup
1st Mr Bureaucrat 2 minutes 14 seconds
2nd Galroof
3rd Freemason
Doomben Cup
1st King Keitel 2 minutes 1.9 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Kasakh Belle
Doomben Cup
1st Akhenaton 2 minutes 4.7 seconds
2nd Integrate
3rd Cruzeiro