Cox Plate Results

The Cox Plate results reveal that spring’s Cox Plate winner, placegetters for exotic Cox Plate betting results as well as the exact finishing order of all the horses in the field.

Punters can discover how their Cox Plate bets on the $3 million weight-for-age classic went that year by looking at the results, which also reveal the winning Cox Plate jockey and trainer for the season.

Each year the Cox Plate results are also hotly anticipated because the winner receives a ballot exemption for entry to the Melbourne Cup, meaning the Cox Plate winner will have a guaranteed place in the Melbourne Cup field if they are entered in the race. Punters planning to bet on the Melbourne Cup are bound to keep a close look on the Cox Plate results.

2016 Cox Plate Results

The 2016 Cox Plate results was run at Moonee Valley Racecourse on 22nd October, 2016.

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 8 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 57kg $1.80F
2 3 HARTNELL (GB) John O’Shea James McDonald 8L 7 59kg $5
3 10 YANKEE ROSE David Vandyke Dean Yendall 8.75L 1 47.5kg $13
4 6 VADAMOS (FR) Andre Fabre Mark Zahra 9.75L 2 59kg $21
5 7 AWESOME ROCK Leon & Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 10.5L 5 59kg $101
6 5 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Brenton Avdulla 11L 4 59kg $51
7 9 LUCIA VALENTINA (NZ) Kris Lees Kerrin McEvoy 12.25L 9 57kg $16
8 4 HAURAKI John O’Shea Dwayne Dunn 12.45L 8 59kg $31
9 2 BLACK HEART BART Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 13.2L 6 59kg $15
10 1 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Ben Melham 14.45L 10 59kg $101

Past Cox Plate Results

If you are looking to bet on the Cox Plate think about checking out past Cox Plate results. Contenders often return to compete in the Cox Plate more than once, as the race is open to any thoroughbred over the age of three, so you can occasionally bet on runners who have previously performed in the same event – and you can predict their performance by researching their previous Cox Plate results.

You can also use past Cox Plate results when calculating your selections chances in other events, by comparing the race distance and the track conditions. Most horses have a favourite distance and many prefer certain track conditions to others, so horses doing well in the Cox Plate can also do well in races with similar characteristics.

Cox Plate Winners

Cox Plate winners have in the past gone on to compete very successfully in the Melbourne Cup. The most recent example is legendary runner Makybe Diva, who won the 2005 Cox Plate before going on to win the 2005 Melbourne Cup, her third (and last) consecutive Melbourne Cup victory.

Recent Cox Plate Results

Year First Second Third Time
2015 Winx Criterion Highland Reel 2:02.98
2014 Adelaide Fawkner Silent Achiever 2:03.8
2013 Shamus Award Happy Trails Fiorente 2:05.3
2012 Ocean Park All Too Hard Pierro 2:03.14
2011 Pinker Pinker Jimmy Choux Rekindled Interest 2:05.39
2010 So You Think Zipping Whobegotyou 2:03.9
2009 So You Think Manhattan Rain Zipping 2:03.9
2008 Maldivian Zipping Samantha Miss 2:06.9
2007 El Segundo Wonderful World Haradasun 2:06.3
2006 Fields Of Omagh El Segundo Pompeii Ruler 2:06.9
2005 Makybe Diva Lotteria Fields Of Omagh 2:09.3
2004 Savabeel Fields Of Omagh Starcraft 2:06.9
2003 Fields Of Omagh Defier Lonhro 2:07.6
2002 Northerly Defier Grandera 2:06.3
2001 Northerly Sunline Viscount 2:05.8
2000 Sunline Diatribe Referral 2:07.7