Lord Mayor’s Cup

The 2017 Lord Mayor's Cup is a Group 3 race run at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Kingsford-Smith Cup Day in late May during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Lord Mayor’s Cup News

Cantbuybetter Wins 2017 Members’ Handicap

Cantbuybetter Wins 2017 Members’ Handicap

A terrific late effort from the Ben Currie-trained Cantbuybetter at Doomben on 10,000 Day saw the galloper lead an all Toowoomba trifecta in the Members’ Handicap 2017 results.

Cantbuybetter (pictured Doomben 07/02/2015) enjoyed a black-type win over the Doomben mile in the Members’ Handicap 2017. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Coming off a close third behind Single Gaze at the ...

The 2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup is a Group 3 race now held at Eagle Farm Racecourse annually in late May on Kingsford Smith Cup Day. Run under weight-for-age conditions over a distance of 1600m, the Lord Mayor’s Cup was formerly run at Doomben Racecourse and remains a quality Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival feature.

The Lord Mayor’s Cup shares a race card with a host of other Group status races including the Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m) that is a new lead-up into the Stradbroke Handicap and the Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) for the two-year-olds targeting a Group 1 JJ Atkins (1600m) run over the Eagle Farm mile a fortnight later.

Horses come via a variety of racing channels to compete in the Lord Mayor’s Cup including Sydney visitors out of the Scone Cup Carnival races in New South Wales – including the Listed Scone Cup (1600m) a fortnight prior.

The 2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup will be run on May 27, 2017.

Lord Mayor’s Cup Info:

May 27, 2017
Eagle Farm Racecourse
Race Type:
Group 3

2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup Odds

The winter’s latest Lord Mayor’s Cup 2017 betting markets and links to the odds on the mile feature at Eagle Farm at Ladbrokes.com.au will be available below the week of the race.

2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup Field

The Lord Mayor’s Cup field attracts a quality line-up of winter milers that may have had a Sydney lead-up run in the Scone Cup two weeks before over the same distance or be coming off a Queensland lead-up at the Gold Coast from the start of the month in the Listed Prime Minister’s Cup (1400m).

The official 2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup Final Field & Barriers are set for release by Queensland Racing on Wednesday May 24 and will be published in full below.

2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup Nominations

The 2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup nominations will be provided here once released the Monday of race week.

The 2017 Lord Mayor’s Cup early entries attracted just nine hopefuls (listed below) – led by the Godolphin-raced Scone Cup winner Duca Valentinois – and have been extended until 9:00am (AEST) on Tuesday May 23, 2017.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 32x64468x6 AMOVATIO G 6 Chris Waller 104
2 540417×120 COL ’N’ LIL M 5 Ben Currie 98
3 x52493x201 DUCA VALENTINOIS (IRE) G 5 Darren Beadman
4 7×89117064 ELLE LOU M 5 Chris Waller
5 24020863×0 I’M BELUCCI H 4 Desleigh Forster 86
6 23x460x483 PAJARO (NZ) G 6 Peter & Paul Snowden
7 32218116×1 RELIGIFY G 6 Chris Waller 107
8 16111218×0 SAGA MISS M 4 Peter & Will Hulbert
9 873x30x988 TRUBIA H 5 Michael Lakey 88

Lord Mayor’s Cup History

Cool Gent won the inaugural edition of the Lord Mayor’s Cup in 1956, when it was known as the BATC Labour Day Cup. The race has had several names over the years, all of which are outlined below.

Lord Mayor’s Cup Race Name

Period Name
1956-1985 Labour Day Cup
1986 Seven National News Handicap
1987-1989 Carnival Handicap
1990-2002 Labour Day Cup
2003-2004 Doomben Carnival Cup
2005 onwards Lord Mayor’s Cup

The race distance has changed multiple times, fluctuating at various lengths between 2000m and 2050m. In 2012 it settled to its current distance of 1600m. The Lord Mayor’s Cup received Listed status in 1979, 23 years after it began. In 1996 it ran as a Group 3 race, and has remained at that grading since.

Notable Lord Mayor’s Cup winners include Gunsynd (1971), This Manshood (2004), and Solzhenitsyn (2012, 2013).

Lord Mayor’s Cup results since 2000 are listed below.

Lord Mayor’s Cup Results





Lord Mayor’s Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Mighty Lucky 1:36.0
2nd Pajaro
3rd Malice
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Strawberry Boy 1:35.6
2nd Lucky Lago
3rd I’m Imposing
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Angel Of Mercy 1:35.7
2nd Wistful
3rd Cameo
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Solzhenitsyn 1:36.68
2nd Transporter
3rd Epic
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Solzhenitsyn 1:35.9
2nd Firebolt
3rd Ginga Dude
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Firebolt 1:35.4
2nd St Germaine
3rd Tagus
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Rothesay 1:36.4
2nd Our Lukas
3rd Hadaaf
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Rampant Lion 1:36.4
2nd Solo Flyer
3rd Rags To Riches
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Rum Dum 1:35.9
2nd Majorca
3rd Mitanni
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Headturner 1:36.1
2nd Beauty Watch
3rd Mr Ubiquitous
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Cog Hill 1:35.4
2nd Spirit Of Tara
3rd Villa Bled
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Tickle 2:06.4
2nd Platinum Scissors
3rd Raw Instinct
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st This Manshood 2:04.4
2nd St Basil
3rd Another Warrior
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Restless 2:04.4
2nd The Kildare Kid
3rd Eminence Grise
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Freemason 2:07.7
2nd Restless
3rd Brighter Scene
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Sky Heights 2:04.0
2nd Yippyio
3rd Tis Love
Lord Mayor’s Cup
1st Integrate 2:09.7
2nd Figurehead
3rd My Duke