Lexus Stakes

The 2015 Lexus Stakes is a Group 3 staying event held on Victoria Derby Day.

Lexus Stakes News

O’Shea and McDonald get 4 winners with Havana Cooler in Doncaster Prelude

O’Shea and McDonald get 4 winners with Havana Cooler in Doncaster Prelude

Trainer John O’Shea combined with stable jockey James McDonald to collect four winners at Rosehill today when Havana Cooler stormed home to take out the Group 3 $150,000 Hyland Race Colours Doncaster Prelude (1500m).

Doncaster Prelude winner Havana Cooler was the 4th winner for the day at Rosehill for trainer John O’Shea and jockey James McDonlad. Photo by Steve Hart....

The Group 3 2015 Lexus Stakes is a 2500m staying event held at the illustrious Flemington Racecourse on Victoria Derby Day, the Saturday prior to the Melbourne Cup.

Open only to horses aged three years and older, the Lexus Stakes is run under quality handicap conditions. With total prize money of $250,000, the Lexus Stakes is quite a lucrative Group 3 event.

Victoria Derby Day is a massive race meeting, and the Lexus Stakes shares a race program with some major feature events. These include the Group 1 Victoria Derby (2500m), Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes (2000m), Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m), Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m), Group 2 Salinger Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Wakeful Stakes (2000m), Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes (1600m) and Group 3 Chatham Stakes (1400m).

There are a variety of paths that horses take to the Lexus Stakes. As it runs at the culmination of the spring carnival, those horses which target the Lexus Stakes may have been racing in Victoria, NSW or may even have just come out of quarantine following their trip to Australia. In the past, the Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) has been a fairly popular leadup event. The Group 3 David Jones Cup (2500m) has also often been targeted by horses on their way to the Lexus Stakes.

A number of horses use the Lexus Stakes as a lead up event to the Melbourne Cup, held just four days later on the first Tuesday of November. This has been a common course for international horses who are seeking ballot exemption, which the Lexus Stakes provides.

The Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes (2600m) is another popular target following a Lexus Stakes run.

The 2015 Lexus Stakes will be held on Saturday, October 31st.

Lexus Stakes 2015
Date: October 31st, 2015
Racecourse: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2500m
Conditions: 3YO&UP Quality Hcp
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $300,000
Inaugurated: 1869

2015 Lexus Stakes Field

The Lexus Stakes field tends to feature a diverse collection of horses each year. Running alongside Melbourne Cup potentials are stayers from far more modest backgrounds with more achievable goals, such as the listed Ballarat Cup. Those horses which contest the Lexus Stakes field generally have fairly extensive staying experience across different distances and in different classes. Although only holding Group 3 status, the Lexus Stakes field is often quite a bit classier than that.

The 2015 Lexus Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 0084×75092 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller Blake Shinn 10 58.5kg 105
2 33075×0003 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 12 57kg 102
3 15x11x5722 EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) Gai Waterhouse Dwayne Dunn 9 56.5kg 101
4 6316×41211 ELHAAME (IRE) Saeed Bin Suroor Brad Rawiller 4 56kg 100
5 4321x6x185 CHANCE TO DANCE (IRE) Robert Hickmott Craig Williams 11 55.5kg 99
6 x362Lx6063 HAVANA COOLER (IRE) John O’Shea James McDonald 3 55.5kg 99
7 12156×2181 RULING DYNASTY James Cummings Tommy Berry 1 54.5kg 97
8 2121×69233 BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 5 54kg 98
9 0535×86826 THUNDER LADY (NZ) John Sargent Chris Parnham 7 54kg 94
10 x88x000306 ETHIOPIA Pat Carey Patrick Moloney (a) 6 54kg 93
11 74x5421x46 MANALAPAN (IRE) Ciaron Maher Luke Currie 13 54kg 90
12 23314×8821 ZANTECA (NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane 8 54kg 80
13 104110×927 HIGH MIDNIGHT James Cummings Sam Clipperton 2 54kg 79

2015 Lexus Stakes Nominations

The Lexus Stakes nominations draw horses from around the world. While the majority of horses who enter the Lexus Stakes nominations are Australian or New Zealand bred, quite often a few foreign raiders will throw themselves into the Lexus Stakes nominations, either for a preparatory race for the Melbourne Cup or in an endeavour to gain ballot exemption.

The 2015 Lexus Stakes nominations will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 645361x2x1 SECRET NUMBER (GB) H 6 Saeed Bin Suroor 1 58.5kg 105
2 0530×48425 BEATEN UP (GB) G 8 Chris Waller 2 58.5kg 105
3 x3x0x12261 THE UNITED STATES (IRE) H 6 Robert Hickmott 3 58kg 104
4 15x11x5722 EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) H 6 Gai Waterhouse 4 56.5kg 101
5 98x21x0069 SERTORIUS G 8 Jamie Edwards 5 56.5kg 101
6 6316×41211 ELHAAME (IRE) G 6 Saeed Bin Suroor 6 56kg 100
7 4321x6x185 CHANCE TO DANCE (IRE) G 6 Robert Hickmott 7 55.5kg 99
8 x362Lx6063 HAVANA COOLER (IRE) G 6 John O’Shea 8 55.5kg 99
9 2121×69233 BOHEMIAN LILY (NZ) M 4 Gai Waterhouse 9 54kg 98
10 12156×2181 RULING DYNASTY H 4 James Cummings 10 54.5kg 97
11 2x893x0005 LIKE A CAROUSEL G 6 Ken Keys 11 54kg 96
12 0535×86826 THUNDER LADY (NZ) M 4 John Sargent 12 54kg 94
13 x88x000306 ETHIOPIA G 7 Pat Carey 13 54kg 93
14 23314×8821 ZANTECA (NZ) M 6 Darren Weir 14 54kg 80
15 104110×927 HIGH MIDNIGHT G 4 James Cummings 15 54kg 79
16 6947719116 THUNDER SET G 7 Vince Jones 16 54kg 62
17 955×143121 MAGIC HURRICANE (IRE) G 6 John O’Shea 17 59kg 106
18 0084×75092 JUNOOB (GB) G 8 Chris Waller 18 58.5kg 105
19 60x82Px008 OPINION (IRE) G 7 Chris Waller 19 58kg 104
20 x6650x5550 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) M 5 John Sargent 20 55kg 102
21 33075×0003 HAWKSPUR G 6 Chris Waller 21 57kg 102
22 12146×0744 MAYGROVE G 5 Murray Baker 22 54kg 95
23 0x86123505 KAPOUR (IRE) G 6 Ciaron Maher 23 54kg 95
24 74x5421x46 MANALAPAN (IRE) G 6 Ciaron Maher 24 54kg 90
25 7130×40980 DON DOREMO (NZ) G 5 Robbie Laing 25 54kg 88
26 1150x7x018 WEXFORD TOWN (IRE) G 5 Robert Hickmott 26 54kg 87
27 320x2x5135 VELOX (GB) G 6 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 27 54kg 87
28 453210×875 REFECTORY (IRE) G 6 Richard Laming 28 54kg 72
29 2216×04133 PURPLE SMILE G 5 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 29 54kg 70

Lexus Stakes History

The Lexus Stakes was inaugurated in 1969 as the Hotham Handicap, it’s current registered name. One of the oldest races in Australia, the Lexus Stakes has a very prestigious history to match its age.

The Lexus Stakes is renowned for a very rare triple dead heat in 1956. Fighting Force, Ark Royal and Pandie Sun crossed together to win one of the only races ever to record three winners.

Besides its current name, the Lexus Stakes has been known by a variety of sponsor titles. For ten years prior to 2009 (when Lexus started sponsorship) it was known as the Saab Quality. Prior to that, it was the Lean Cuisine Quality, Ten News Quality, Crown Quality, and The Dalgety.

Notable Lexus Stakes winners include Miss Carbine (1899), Spear Chief (1938), Foxzami (1949), Think Big (1974), Brew (2000) and Shocking (2009). Lexus Stakes results, winners and placegetters since 2000 are listed below, along with winning times.

Lexus Stakes Results

Year First Second Third Time
2015 Excess Knowledge Zanteca Havana Cooler 2:36.8
2014 Signoff Big Memory La Amistad 2:37.9
2013 Ruscello Let’s Make Adeal Araldo 2:39.8
2012 Kelinni Dare To Dream Exceptionally 2:37.6
2011 Niwot Macedonian Anudjawun 2:37.5
2010 Maluckyday Linton Once Were Wild 2:35.1
2009 Shocking Hume Irazu 2:38.3
2008 Moatise Light Vision Cape Cover 2:37.7
2007 Sculptor The Fuzz Desert Master 2:35.4
2006 Maybe Better Irazu Vanquished 2:35.8
2005 Strasbourg Bush Honey Mr Celebrity 2:40.3
2004 Don Raphael Catchmeifyoucan Winning Belle 2:36.6
2003 Big Pat Fawaz Dance On Wood 2:39.4
2002 Requiem Miss Meliss Piachay 2:35.3
2001 Maythehorsebewithu Spirit Of Westbury Touch The Groom 2:35.8
2000 Brew Mr Nelson Yammer 2:37.1