Myer Classic

The 2016 Myer Classic will be held at Flemington Racecourse on Saturday, October 29th.

Myer Classic News

McEvoy on Serene Majesty in Myer Classic 2016

McEvoy on Serene Majesty in Myer Classic 2016

Jockey Kerrin McEvoy is set to reunite with the Peter & Paul Snowden-trained Serene Majesty in Saturday’s 2016 Myer Classic shooting for his second win in the Victoria Derby Day showdown.

Serene Majesty will reunite with jockey Kerrin McEvoy for her Group 1 debut in the 2016 Myer Classic on Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Team Snowden saddle-up a ...

The 2016 Myer Classic is a Group 1 race run over a mile (1600m) for the season’s best fillies and mares held on the opening day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival in late October / early November annually.

The weight-for-age race is one of only two Group 1 events for fillies and mares offered during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Held on the same day as the prestigious Victoria Derby, the Myer Classic offers half a million dollars in prize money.

Raced at Flemington Racecourse the Myer Classic is also featured on the same day as the Longines Mile and the Coolmore Stud Stakes, totalling four Group 1 races on the one day or racing.

The 2016 Myer Classic will be run on Victoria Derby Day at Flemington on Saturday, October 29th .

Myer Classic 2016
Date: October 29th , 2016
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: 3YO+ Fillies and Mares Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Myer Classic Field

The Myer Classic field is usually contested by some fairly classy milers. It isn’t rare for some trainers to designate a run in the Myer Classic field as the end of spring target for some of their better horses. Run under weight for age conditions, the Myer Classic field can feature a varied range of fillies and mares from a lot of preparations. Because of the race’s Group 1 status and the prestigious day it’s held on, the Myer Classic field is almost guaranteed to feature multiple Group 1 winners.

The 2016 Myer Classic field is set for release on October 26 and will be published below.

2016 Myer Classic Nominations

The Myer Classic nominations are usually filled out with highly experienced fillies and mares. This is a premium event, and as such trainers tend to enter the Myer Stakes nominations following multiple rock solid performances in other, fairly high class races.

The 2016 Myer Classic nominations closed on October 24, 2016, and Racing Victoria received 18 early entries including a host of Group 1 winners such as First Seal, Abbey Marie and Rising Romance.

See below for the full 2016 Myer Classic Nominations and follow the link for a full early race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 111x ABBEY MARIE M 4 Michael Kent 97
2 2311118×35 DANISH TWIST M 5 Kris Lees 104
3 395262×444 DENMAGIC M 4 David Pfieffer 88
4 23010×0005 DIAMOND MADE M 4 Bruce Cross 74
5 11422×2021 DIXIE BLOSSOMS M 4 Ron Quinton 98
6 3x1210x511 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA M 4 Tony McEvoy 105
7 13x12x21 EURO ANGEL (NZ) M 4 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 95
8 26x1240x51 FIRST SEAL M 5 John P Thompson 110
9 1220×67216 FRENCH EMOTION M 5 Chris Waller 94
10 31122×4167 HEAVENS ABOVE M 5 Tim Martin 103
11 611×15423 I AM A STAR (NZ) F 3 Shane Nichols 94
12 41282×3093 MANAGERESS M 5 Cindy Alderson 92
13 64027×1033 PEARLS M 4 John O’Shea 97
14 4x150x722 PURE PRIDE (NZ) M 4 Murray Johnson 78
15 063540×274 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 107
16 x70331x574 SERENE MAJESTY M 4 Peter & Paul Snowden 89
17 1x1111x273 WHISPERING BROOK F 3 Simon A Miller 92
18 49x2515x05 ZANBAGH M 6 John P Thompson 100

Myer Classic History

Since 1988 when Concordance won, the Myer Classic has gone through several sponsor names starting with Honda. First named “The Honda Legend”, the race went on to be named the Hong Kong Bank Stakes, Hardy Brothers Classic and Nestle Peters Classic. In 2005 it was named the Myer Classic. It’s registered name is the Empire Rose Stakes.

Regarded as the best sprint race for fillies and mares, the Myer Classic is often raced by horses which have competed in the Rose Of Kingston Stakes and the Tristarc Stakes. Although no Myer Classic winner has gone on to win the WS Cox Plate or Melbourne Cup, the Emirates Stakes has been won by Divine Madonna in 2006 and Bonanova in 1997.

In 2003 the event became a Group 2 race and was changed from a set weight race with penalties to a weight-for-age race. In 2004 it was upgraded to Group 1 status.

Myer Classic Records

Fastest Winning Time: (since 1988) 1 minute 34.2 seconds by Market Price in 2001.
Slowest Winning Time (since 1988) 1 minute 39.8 seconds by Mingling Glances in 1993.

Myer Classic Results

Read through the list of Myer Classic winners and place getters from 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
Myer Classic
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Myer Classic
1st Politeness 1 minute 37.75 seconds
2nd Fenway
3rd Azkadellia
Myer Classic
1st Bonaria 1 minute 36.55 seconds
2nd Sweet Idea
3rd Catkins
Myer Classic
1st Red Tracer 1 minute 36.45 seconds
2nd Catkins
3rd Fire Up Fifi
Myer Classic
1st Appearance 1 minute 34:97 seconds
2nd Soft Sand
3rd Secret Admirer
Myer Classic
1st Hurtle Myrtle 1 minute 37:50 seconds
2nd Sacred Choice
3rd Dysphonia
Myer Classic
1st Sacred Choice 1 minute 38:91 seconds
2nd Typhoon Tracy
3rd Hot Danish
Myer Classic
1st Typhoon Tracy 1 minute 35:3 seconds
2nd Lady Lynette
3rd Zarita
Myer Classic
1st Forensics 1 minute 35.9 seconds
2nd Absolutely Fabulous
3rd Mimi Lebrock
Myer Classic
1st Divine Madonna 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Translate
3rd Red For Lou
Myer Classic
1st Lyrical Bid 1 minute 37.6 seconds
2nd Sea Change
3rd Kosi Bay
Myer Classic
1st Lotteria 1 minute 35.4 seconds
2nd Miss Potential
3rd Shania Dane
Myer Classic
1st Miss Potential 1 minute 37.5 seconds
2nd Alinghi
3rd Infinite Grace
Myer Classic
1st Zanna 1 minute 38.4 seconds
2nd Infinite Grace
3rd Mrs Tendulkar
Myer Classic
1st Miss Zoe 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd Purple Groove
3rd Ramanos Star
Myer Classic
1st Market Price 1 minute 34.2 seconds
2nd Pernod
3rd Calm Smytzer
Myer Classic
1st Super Sequel 1 minute 37.8 seconds
2nd Its Platonic
3rd Nova Claus