Wakeful Stakes

The 2016 Wakeful Stakes (2000m) is a Group 2 event hosted at Flemington Racecourse.

Wakeful Stakes News

Tiamo Grace Tops 2016 Wakeful Stakes Nominations

Tiamo Grace Tops 2016 Wakeful Stakes Nominations

Darren Weir’s improving filly Tiamo Grace heads the Wakeful Stakes 2016 nominations for the key Crown Oaks lead-up at Flemington Racecourse this Saturday.

Darren Weir is set to saddle-up 2016 Crown Oaks-bound filly Tiamo Grace in Flemingtn’s Wakeful Stakes on Saturday. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

Outside of the four Group 1 races on the card, a key support act ...

The 2016 Wakeful Stakes is an exciting Group 2 race that takes place towards the end of Australia’s most famous series of thoroughbred events, the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Held the Saturday before the illustrious Melbourne Cup in late October or early November annually, the Wakeful Stakes is one of nine Group status races that fill the card on Victoria Derby Day at Flemington. Derby Day is one of the only race meets in Australia where every race has Group status. Great Group 1 events held on the day including the $1.5 million Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby (2500m), $1 million Group 1 Cantala Stakes (1600m), Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) and the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m).

The Wakeful Stakes is a 2000m event for three-year-old fillies run under set weight conditions plus penalties. Worth $300,000 in total prize money it is an excellent lead-up race to the highly prestigious $1 million Crown Oaks (2500m) for three-year-old fillies the following Thursday. The Wakeful Stakes have been a good indication for the Crown Oaks over the years, with 13 fillies taking out the double since 1983, including most recently Kirramosa (2013).

Victoria Derby Day on Saturday October 29, 2016 will feature the 2016 Wakeful Stakes.

2016 Wakeful Stakes
Date: October 29, 2016
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights + Penalties
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300 000
Inaugurated: 1932

2016 Wakeful Stakes Field & Odds

The Wakeful Stakes field attracts a host of three-year-old fillies looking to back-up the next Thursday into the Crown Oaks field.

The 2016 Wakeful Stakes field and barriers are due for release on Wednesday October 26 and will be published below complete with links to updated Wakeful Stakes betting markets from Ladbrokes.com.au.

2016 Wakeful Stakes Nominations

The Wakeful Stakes nominations tend to attract some very decent three year old fillies. As a 2000m event, the fillies who enter the Wakeful Stakes nominations usually have an eye on later staying events, especially the Crown Oaks.

The 2016 Wakeful Stakes nominations were released by Racing Victoria on Monday October 24 and feature 17 promising fillies led by the Darren Weir-trained Tiamo Grace.

See below for the full 2016 Wakeful Stakes Nominations and follow the link for a more detailed rundown on the early entries.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 454×793412 ALLITERATE F 3 Pat Farrell
2 52 ALMALITA F 3 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott
3 7513×5126 BELLA SORELLASTRA F 3 Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison 70
4 36109 BETTYRAE RUBY F 3 Tim Hughes 62
5 7×721 FLORIDA KEYS F 3 Pat Carey 61
6 939227416 LAMMA HILTON F 3 Anthony Cummings
7 139x1x667 MISSROCK F 3 Robbie Laing 81
8 7×571 MY GIRL CHILLY F 3 Jarrod McLean 60
9 410×258 OUTBACK RAIN F 3 David Brideoake 65
10 23 PENTHOUSE KITTEN (NZ) F 3 Francis Finnegan
11 44×42113 PRETTY PUNK F 3 Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 74
12 732 QUEEN OF ZEALAND (NZ) F 3 Michelle Payne
13 21×5565 SEBRING DREAM F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
14 3122 TIAMO GRACE F 3 Darren Weir 70
15 944 TOFFEE NOSE F 3 Danny O’Brien
16 32130 WATERLOO SUNSET F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig
17 148377 WHYOUASK F 3 Matt Laurie 64

Wakeful Stakes Lead Up Races

Fillies competing in the Wakeful Stakes may come via a number of earlier carnival races including the Group 2 Moonee Valley Vase (2040m) on Cox Plate Day the week before, the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes (1600m) or the prestigious Group 1 Thousand Guineas (1600m).

Wakeful Stakes History

The Wakeful Stakes was first run in 1932 when Protea won the inaugural race. It started as a principal event run over ten furlongs and remained the same until 1973 when the distance was converted into 2000m with Australia’s adoption of the metric system. In 1979 the Wakeful Stakes was elevated to Group 2 status.

Many fine fillies have contested the race and high quality Wakeful Stakes winners include Zarita (2007) and Tuesday Joy (2006). Wakeful Stakes results, winners and placegetters since 2000 are listed below.

Wakeful Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Wakeful Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Wakeful Stakes
1st Ambience 2 minutes 4.7 seconds
2nd Beluga Blue
3rd Muzyka
Wakeful Stakes
1st Thunder Lady 2 minutes 3.4 seconds
2nd Abduction
3rd Fenway
Wakeful Stakes
1st Kirramosa 2 minutes 5.15 seconds
2nd May’s Dream
3rd Solicit
Wakeful Stakes
1st Zydeco 2 minutes 2.8 seconds
2nd Maraatib
3rd Transonic
Wakeful Stakes
1st Atlantic Jewel 2 minutes 4.98 seconds
2nd Rahveel
3rd Dowager Queen
Wakeful Stakes
1st Brazilian Pulse 2 minutes 4.27 seconds
2nd Placement
3rd Heartsareforlove
Wakeful Stakes
1st Faint Perfume 2 minutes 3.25 seconds
2nd Silent Surround
3rd Melito
Wakeful Stakes
1st Rocha 2 minutes 5.5 seconds
2nd Miss Scarlatti
3rd Estee
Wakeful Stakes
1st Zarita 2 minutes 5.8 seconds
2nd Riva San
3rd Katherine Gold
Wakeful Stakes
1st Tuesday Joy 2 minutes 2.7 seconds
2nd J’adane
3rd Anamato
Wakeful Stakes
1st Serenade Rose 2 minutes 2.5 seconds
2nd Astronomia
3rd Zenarta
Wakeful Stakes
1st Hollow Bullet 2 minutes 2.1 seconds
2nd Storm Alert
3rd Mango Daiquiri
Wakeful Stakes
1st Timbourina 2 minutes 5.5 seconds
2nd Special Harmony
3rd Dane Beltar
Wakeful Stakes
1st Hierogram 2 minutes 2.9 seconds
2nd Its Who Deanie
3rd Lashed
Wakeful Stakes
1st Quays 2 minutes 1.2 seconds
2nd Gold Lottery
3rd Li Lo Lill
Wakeful Stakes
1st Lolita Star 2 minutes 4.7 seconds
2nd Lang Kwai Fong
3rd Tanith