HDF McNeil Stakes

The 2016 HDF McNeil Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Melbourne's Caulfield Racecourse in August.

HDF McNeil Stakes News

Dunn wraps up a treble with Ocean Embers win in Cockram Stakes

Dunn wraps up a treble with Ocean Embers win in Cockram Stakes

Scobie Breasley Medal winner Dwayne Dunn wrapped up a winning treble when he steered Ocean Embers to a stunning win in the Group 3 $150,000 Ladbrokes Cockram Stakes (1200m) Caulfield today. Dunn brought Ocean Embers ($4.40 favourite) from near the tail of the field on the home turn to score a half length win over…

The 2016 HDF McNeil Stakes is a Group 3 1200m sprint for three year old horses.

Run under set weights with penalties conditions, the HDF McNeil Stakes is worth a total of $150,000 prize money.

Hosted at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne, the HDF McNeil Stakes forms an important part of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Held on Memsie Stakes Day, the McNeil Stakes shares its race program with a number of other black-type events. Other races held on the same day include:

  • Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m)
  • Group 3 The Heath 1100 (1100m)
  • Group 3 WW Cockram Stakes (1200m)

Scheduled at the outset of the Spring Racing Carnival, the McNeil Stakes play an important role in guiding form understanding for the remainder of the year. Quite a few handy three years olds run in the McNeil Stakes, and as it’s a very competitive race it is well worth watching that could lead to a run in the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

The HDF McNeil Stakes 2016 will be run on Saturday August 27th.

2016 HDF McNeil Stakes
Date: August 27th, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO SWP
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 McNeil Stakes Field

The 2016 McNeil Stakes field is now out, the full line-up of three-year-old final acceptors and jockeys listed below. All odds quoted are provided by Ladbrokes.com.au and subject to change.

HDF McNeil Stakes History

The HDF McNeil Stakes was inaugurated in 1989 and has continued to provide excellent racing action ever since. Good Old Ted took out the first edition of the McNeil Stakes, and since then several renowned horses have seen success.

Originally called the HDF McNeil Quality, the race name was changed for the 2005 edition to its current form. Up to and including 2005 the McNeil Stakes was raced over 1100 metres. Since 2006 it has remained at its current distance of 1200 metres. The McNeil Stakes was granted listed status in 1991, which it held until being upgraded to Group 3 in 1999. The race has remained a Group 2 event since then.

Notable McNeil Stakes winners include Danzero (1994), Miss Finland (2006), Scenic Blast (2007) and Starspangledbanner (2009). McNeil Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

HDF McNeil Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
HDF McNeil Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Defcon 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Highland Beat
3rd Wazzenme
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Gold Symphony 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Ready For Victory
3rd Demonstrate
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Chivalry 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Nordic Empire
3rd Awesome Rock
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Fast ‘N’ Rocking 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Prince Harada
3rd Thermal Current
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Lady Of Harrods 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Kabayan
3rd Shamexpress
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Golden Archer 1 minute 09.0 seconds
2nd Cross Of Gold
3rd Vatican
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Sistine Angel 1 minute 113.4 seconds
2nd Servant
3rd Intencion
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Starspangledbanner 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Tollesprit
3rd Eclair Fastpass
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Sugar Babe 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Cardinal Virtue
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Scenic Blast 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Pins On Parade
3rd Marching
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Miss Finland 1 minute 16.18 seconds
2nd Haradasun
3rd Due Sasso
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Danerich 1 minute 06.7 seconds
2nd Line Account
3rd Izanami
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Tahni Girl 1 minute 04.1 seconds
2nd Classiconi
3rd Oratorio
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Cahula 1 minute 05.4 seconds
2nd Cross Current
3rd Abdullah
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Bel Esprit 1 minute 01.9 seconds
2nd Yell
3rd Before Too Long
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Tully Dane 1 minute 05.6 seconds
2nd Raja Lane
3rd King Of Prussia
HDF McNeil Stakes
1st Rapid Man 1 minute 06.1 seconds
2nd Little Dozer
3rd Homewrecker