Shannon Stakes

The 2016 Shannon Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival.

Shannon Stakes News

2016 Shannon Stakes Winner Moral Victory on Song for Toorak

2016 Shannon Stakes Winner Moral Victory on Song for Toorak

Rosehill’s Tim Martin confirmed the stable’s evergreen warhorse Moral Victory was on song for a Group 1 Toorak Handicap start down south after his home win in the Shannon Stakes 2016 over the weekend. It was a big Golden Pendant Day achievement by the Husson seven-year-old who posted back-to-back wins at Rosehill track with his…

The 2016 Shannon Stakes is a Group 2 thoroughbred race held towards the end of the exciting Sydney Spring Racing Carnival on Golden Pendant Day in late September. Conducted at the picturesque Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, there are five quality Group races at the meeting. They are the Group 3 Gloaming Stakes (1800m), Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes (1500m), Group 2 Golden Pendant (1400m), Group 3 Colin Stephen Quality (2400m) and the Group 2 Shannon Stakes.

The Shannon Stakes is a middle-distance event raced over 1500m. A quality handicap for three-year-olds and up, it offers $175,000 in stakes. There are a number of earlier races held at the carnival that Shannon Stakes contenders may have previously run in including the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes (1300m) the previous week, Group 2 Tramway Quality Handicap (1400m) a fortnight before at Randwick and the Group 3 The Run To The Rose (1300m) in mid-August for three-year-olds.

The Shannon Stakes is the ideal lead-up race to the prestigious Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) in two weeks time at Randwick. Some quality runners have claimed victory in the Shannon Stakes including Al Mansour (2000), Armed For Action (1998) and Juggler (1996).

2016 Shannon Stakes
Date: 24 September, 2016
Track: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Conditions: 3YO & Up – Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000
Inaugurated: 1978

2016 Shannon Stakes Field

The Shannon Stakes 2016 field of final acceptances and barrier draw were released by Racing NSW on Wednesday September 21 and featured 10 runners before the early scratching of the Chris Waller-trained top-weight Counterattack and More To Gain. The Shannon Stakes field is now down to eight starters with Hi World for Lee & Anthony Freedman the current favourite.

See below for the complete Shannon Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw complete with the updated Shannon Stakes odds provided by

2016 Shannon Stakes Nominations

The Shannon Stakes 2016 nominations closed on Monday September 19 and feature 10 early entries including the Chris Waller-trained Counterattack who is also nominated for Saturday’s Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes (1400m) down at Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne.

View the official 2016 Shannon Stakes Nominations now.

Shannon Stakes History

Named in honour of the brilliant Hollywood Gold Cup victor and Hall of Fame inductee Shannon, the Shannon Stakes was first run in 1978 as a Principal race run over 1500m and For All Season was the inaugural winner. The following year in 1979 the race status was increased to a Listed event and the distance was decreased to 1400m. In 1985 it was installed as a Group 3 race and the length was increased back to the original distance of 1500m. Finally in 2001 the Shannon Stakes was elevated to its current Group 2 status and for one year was run over 1400m. The next year in 2002 the distance reverted back to 1500m again. The race was not held in 2007 due to an outbreak of the equine influenza.

Shannon Stakes Records
Race Record (1500m): 1:28.09 set by the Sportsman in 2003
Heaviest Weight Carried to Victory: 60kg by Juggler in 1996
Lightest Weight Carried to Victory: 48.5kg For All Seasons in 1978
Most Successful Jockeys: Two jockeys have won the Shannon Stakes four times.
R. Quinton with For All Seasons (1978), Dalmacia (1982), Eastern Bay (1984) and Never Quit ( 1987).
L. Beasley with Quick Flick (1997), Al Mansour (2000), On Type (2001) and Lotteria (2005).

Recent Shannon Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Shannon Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Shannon Stakes
1st Moral Victory 1 minute 28 seconds
2nd Caped Crusader
3rd Cosmic Cube
Shannon Stakes
1st Vashka 1 minute 29.2 seconds
2nd God’s In Him
3rd Messene
Shannon Stakes
1st Rock Sturdy 1 minute 28.8 seconds
2nd Liberty’s Choice
3rd Ninth Legion
Shannon Stakes
1st Rain Drum 1 minute 29.3 seconds
2nd Centennial Park
3rd Our Desert Warrior
Shannon Stakes
1st Rolling Pin 1 minute 31.18 seconds
2nd Offenders
3rd Fat Al
Shannon Stakes
1st King Lionheart 1 minute 28.56 seconds
2nd Fast Clip
3rd Lone Command
Shannon Stakes
1st Firebolt 1 minute 28.54 seconds
2nd Centennial Park
3rd Sacred Choice
Shannon Stakes
1st Drumbeats 1 minute 30.1 seconds
2nd Rangirangdoo
3rd Strat’s Flyer
Shannon Stakes
1st Musket 1 minute 30.56 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd Ice Chariot
Shannon Stakes
Race Not Held  
Shannon Stakes
1st Stormhill 1 minute 28.43 seconds
2nd Temple Hills
3rd Newton’s Rings
Shannon Stakes
1st Lotteria 1 minute 30.21 seconds
2nd Studebaker
3rd Swick
Shannon Stakes
1st Nips 1 minute 28.27 seconds
2nd Whoc
3rd Irongail
Shannon Stakes
1st Sportsman 1 minute 28.09 seconds
2nd Amex
3rd Nips
Shannon Stakes
1st Gordo 1 minute 29.7 seconds
2nd Shot Of Thunder
3rd Evander
Shannon Stakes
1st On Type 1 minute 22.42 seconds
2nd Century Kid
3rd Diamond Dane
Shannon Stakes
1st Al Mansour 1 minute 29.5 seconds
2nd Chinhoyi
3rd Varicool