Theo Marks Stakes

The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes (1300m) will be held in September at Rosehill Gardens.

Theo Marks Stakes News

37 In 2016 Epsom Handicap Nominations

37 In 2016 Epsom Handicap Nominations

The 2016 Epsom Handicap nominations have been released and 37 horses are in contention for the Group 1 event that will be held at Royal Randwick on October 1. Leading Victorian trainer Darren Weir has never previously had a horse in the Epsom Handicap, but he has included both Black Heart Bart and Palentino in…

The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes takes place during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and is a Group 2 race run in early-mid September at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse. It is run on Golden Rose Stakes Day, which is headlined by the Group 1 $1 million Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) for three-year-olds.

A 1300m sprint, the Theo Marks Stakes is open to horses aged three-year-olds and up, is run under quality handicap conditions and is worth $200,000. Held a week earlier on Chelmsford Stakes Day, the Group 3 Concorde Stakes (1100m) is the perfect lead-up race for the Theo Marks Stakes for horses that can handle the short turnaround.

Horses that contend the Theo Marks Stakes will often progress onto the Sydney Spring Carnival’s premier events including the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) at Randwick in early October.

The Theo Marks Stakes / Epsom Handicap is also a popular betting double well worth a look during the carnival and the last horse to take out both races was Winx (2015).

2016 Theo Marks Stakes
Date: September 10, 2016
Track: Rosehill Gardens Racecourse
Distance: 1300m
Conditions: 3YO & Up – Quality Handicap
Weight: Low 52kg – High 61kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200 000
Inaugurated: 1946

2016 Theo Marks Stakes Field

The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes field was released by Racing NSW on Wednesday September 7 and features a final line-up of 10 acceptors. The Gary Portelli-trained Rebel Dane leads the Theo Marks Stakes weights with 59kg and has also come up with gate one in the Theo Marks Stakes barrier draw.

See below for the official Theo Marks Stakes 2016 field, weights and barriers along with the latest Theo Marks Stakes odds provided by

2016 Theo Marks Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Theo Marks Stakes nominations were released on Monday September 5  Included in the 2016 and featured three hopefuls for the 2015 winning trainer Chris Waller.

View the full 2016 Theo Marks Stakes nominations now.

Theo Marks Stakes History

Shannon won the first Theo Marks Stakes when it was inaugurated in 1946. Beginning as a Principal race run over 7 furlongs, the race distance was converted to 1400m in 1973 with Australia’s adoption of the metric system. Following this in 1979 the race status was elevated to a Group 2 event. In 1985 the race distance was shortened to 1300m and then to 1280m in 1990. Run twice over 1280m it was increased back to 1300m in 1992.

Recent Theo Marks Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Theo Marks Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Mackintosh 1 minute 17.11 seconds
2nd Counterattack
3rd Southern Legend
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 15.77 seconds
2nd Sons of John
3rd Ninth Legion
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Cluster 1 minute 23.34 seconds
2nd Bull Point
3rd Ninth Legion
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Riva De Lago 1 minute 21.67 seconds
2nd Solzhenitsyn
3rd Your Honour
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Ambidexter 1 minute 22.29 seconds
2nd Fat Al
3rd Dystopia
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Master Of Design 1 minute 16.79 seconds
2nd Torio’s Quest
3rd Fast Clip
Theo Marks Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 22.16 seconds
2nd Rothesay
3rd Drumbeats
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 22.1 seconds
2nd Rock Kingdom
3rd Triple Honour
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Hurried Choice 1 minute 17.1 seconds
2nd Forensics
3rd Ice Chariot
Theo Marks Stakes
Race Not Held  
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 16.5 seconds
2nd New Edge
3rd Regal Cheer
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 16.8 seconds
2nd Perfect Promise
3rd Outback Prince
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Falkirk 1 minute 17.7 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Private Steer
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Fiery Venture 1 minute 16.3 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Osca Warrior
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Defier 1 minute 15.7 seconds
2nd Phoenix Park
3rd Carael Boy
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Shogun Lodge 1 minute 16.8 seconds
2nd Fouardee
3rd Belle Du Jour
Theo Marks Stakes
1st Hire 1 minute 17.1 seconds
2nd Landsighting
3rd Shogun Lodge