Premiere Stakes

The 2016 Premiere Stakes is a Group 2 sprint held at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Premiere Stakes News

Caulfield Sprint Nominations Packed With Talent

Caulfield Sprint Nominations Packed With Talent

The 2016 Caulfield Sprint nominations have been released and there is set to be plenty of talent in the Group 2 event.

Lankan Rupee is set to return to the races in the 2016 Caulfield Sprint this weekend. Photo by: Sarah Ebbett

Lankan Rupee has not been seen at the races since he failed to fire in the Group 2 ...

The 2016 Premiere Stakes is a Group 2 1200m sprint race held at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse on the first Saturday in October, the same day as Melbourne’s AFL Grand Final.

Worth $200,000 in prize money, the weight for age event attracts several horses which have already competed in the weight-for-age Missile Stakes two weeks earlier. The Premiere Stakes is held on Epsom Handicap Day and shares a race program with the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m), Group 1 Metropolitan Handicap (2400m), Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes (1200m), Group 3 Craven Plate (2000m) and three Listed events.

Premiere Stakes
Date: October 1, 2016
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO+ Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Premiere Stakes Field

The Premiere Stakes 2016 field and barrier draw was released on Wednesday September 28 and featured 15 final acceptors led by English before the early scratching of Russian Revolution who runs in the Roman Consul Stakes instead earlier on the card.

See below for the official 2016 Premiere Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a complete race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 264x321x24 UNDER THE LOUVRE Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 1 58.5kg 110
2 1x130x154x OUR BOY MALACHI Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes TBD 12 58.5kg 108
3 354094×236 REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Jason Collett 13 58.5kg 106
4 7x243120x1 TAKEDOWN Gary Moore Blake Shinn 2 58.5kg 106
5 x63512832x AMOVATIO Chris Waller Craig Williams 15 58.5kg 105
6 61x0007x83 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Jay Ford 7 58.5kg 104
7 23121x377x GOOD PROJECT Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 3 58.5kg 104
8 62x70x7187 SMART VOLATILITY John Sargent Tye Angland 6 58.5kg 104
9 3415370×58 BOSS LANE Ron Quinton Ms Kathy O’Hara 8 58.5kg 101
10 5829x1391x HOWMUCHDOYOULOVEME Con Karakatsanis Ms Samantha Clenton (a) 5 58.5kg 101
11 x0130x10x3 KAEPERNICK Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes TBD 4 58.5kg 101
12 45x111x13 SOUTHERN LEGEND Les Bridge Tim Clark 14 58.5kg 96
13 126x1631x5 ENGLISH Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Tommy Berry 11 56.5kg 110
14 x52311118x DANISH TWIST Kris Lees James McDonald 9 56.5kg 102
15 111 RUSSIAN REVOLUTION Peter & Paul Snowden 10 53kg 79

2016 Premiere Stakes Betting

The latest Premiere Stakes 2016 betting odds are listed below, pricing from

2016 Premiere Stakes Nominations

The Premiere Stakes 2016 nominations were taken by Racing NSW on Monday September 26 and feature 18 hopeful sprinters including the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott-trained Group 1 All Aged Stakes winner from the autumn English.

Read the full 2016 Premiere Stakes Nominations now.

Premiere Stakes History

First won by Outback in 1972, the Premiere Stakes has a history of double winners including Mr. Innocent in 1999-00 and Joanne in 1991-92. Since its inauguration, 2005 winner Shania Dane has managed to hold the record for the fastest winning time with 1 minute 8.83 seconds. Other notable Premiere Stakes winners include Kingston Town (1981), Emancipation (1983) and Arinosa (2013).

Premiere Stakes results since 2000, along with winning times, are listed below.

Premiere Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
2016Premiere Stakes 1st TBD TBD
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
2015Premiere Stakes 1st Terravista 1 minute 9.10 seconds
2nd Rebel Dane
3rd That’s A Good Idea
2014Premiere Stakes 1st Famous Seamus 1 minute 9.86 seconds
2nd Charlie Boy
3rd Wouldn’t It Be Nice
2013Premiere Stakes 1st Arinosa 1 minute 9.37 seconds
2nd Dystopia
3rd Famous Seamus
2012Premiere Stakes 1st Red Tracer 1 minute 9.67 seconds
2nd Satin Shoes
3rd Emotional Circus
2011Premiere Stakes 1st Neeson 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Hurtle Myrtle
3rd Love Conquers All
2010Premiere Stakes 1st Hot Danish 1 minute 09.87 seconds
2nd Trader
3rd Cardinal Virtue
2009Premiere Stakes 1st Mentality 1 minute 10.46 seconds
2nd Kroner
3rd Phelan Ready
2008Premiere Stakes 1st Triple Honour 1 minute 10.13 seconds
2nd Captain Bax
3rd Reigning To Win
2007Premiere Stakes 1st German Chocolate 1 minute 9.87 seconds
2nd Solo Flyer
3rd Fashions Afield
2006Premiere Stakes 1st Paratroopers 1 minute 10.29 seconds
2nd Imana
3rd Johan’s Toy
2005Premiere Stakes 1st Shania Dane 1 minute 8.83 seconds
2nd Dance Hero
3rd Spark Of Life
2004Premiere Stakes 1st Spark Of Life 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Into The Night
3rd Century Kid
2003Premiere Stakes 1st Thorn Park 1 minute 9.02 seconds
2nd Patezza
3rd Excellerator
2002Premiere Stakes 1st Century Kid 1 minute 9.35 seconds
2nd Ancient Song
3rd Shogun Lodge
2001Premiere Stakes 1st On Type 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Padstow
3rd Century Kid
2000Premiere Stakes 1st Mr. Innocent 1 minute 8.97 seconds
2nd Celestial Choir
3rd Adam