Autumn Stakes

The 2017 Autumn Stakes (1400m) is a Group 2 event hosted at Caulfield Racecourse on CF Orr Stakes Day during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival.

Autumn Stakes News

2016 Autumn Stakes Results: Mahuta Holds Off the Filly

2016 Autumn Stakes Results: Mahuta Holds Off the Filly

Darren Weir’s flying colt Mahuta posted his sixth win from as many starts to hold off Mick Price’s classy filly Sailing By in another gutsy all-the-way win in the Autumn Stakes 2016 at Caulfield Racecourse on CF Orr Stakes Day.

Darren Weir’s Autumn Stakes winner Mahuta is set to back up in the 2016 Australian Guineas at ...

The 2017 Autumn Stakes is a Group 2 event worth over $200,000 hosted each year in February at Caulfield Racecourse.

Open to three year olds only and run under set weights plus penalties conditions, the Autumn Stakes presents an exciting sprinting challenge for the strongest three year old sprinters heading towards races like the Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) the following month.

Forming a central part of the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival, the Autumn Stakes is held on CF Orr Stakes Day and is one of eight Group status races on the Caulfield card at the meeting.

The other key CF Orr Stakes Day feature races are the:

  • Group 1 CF Orr Stakes (1400m)
  • Group 2 Rubiton Stakes (1100m)
  • Group 2 Blue Diamond Prelude (F) (1100m)
  • Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) (1100m)
  • Group 3 Carlyon Cup (1600m)
  • Group 3 Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes (1200m)
  • Group 3 Kevin Hayes Stakes (1200m)

The Autumn Stakes 2017 will run on Saturday February 11.

2017 Autumn Stakes
Date: February 11, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO Set Weights + Penalties
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000

2017 Autumn Stakes Field

The Autumn Stakes field is released each year on the Wednesday before the race along with all the other final CF Orr Stakes Day acceptances.

The 2017 Autumn Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw will be published below as soon as available on Wednesday February 8, 2017.

2017 Autumn Stakes Nominations

The Autumn Stakes nominations are released by Racing Victoria each autumn on the Monday before the race.

The 2017 Autumn Stakes nominations close on Monday February 6, 2017 and will be published in full below.

Autumn Stakes History

The Autumn Stakes was first inaugurated in 1968, with Anvil taking out the first edition. In 1980, the race was granted Group 3 status, but was later downgraded to listed status in 1991. In 2005, the Autumn Stakes was again elevated to Group 3, and then to Group 2 in 2008. It has been known variously as the Schweppes Cup, Schweppervescence Cup and D’Urban Stakes.

Considered a good form guide for the Australian Guineas, in 2009 Heart of Dreams won the Australian Guineas after taking out third in the Autumn Stakes. The track record over 1400m is held by Exceed and Excel, who posted a time of 1 minute 21.2 seconds in the 2003 Dubai Cup.

Notable Autumn Stakes winners include Blaze The Turf (1998), Apache Cat (2006), Light Fantastic (2008) and Pied A Terre (2012). Autumn Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Autumn Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Autumn Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Autumn Stakes
1st Mahuta 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Sailing By
3rd Snoopy
Autumn Stakes
1st Nicasio 1 minute 23.6 seconds
2nd Zebulon
3rd Firehouse Rock
Autumn Stakes
1st Thunder Fantasy 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Rock Hero
3rd Late Charge
Autumn Stakes
1st Mulaazem 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Fiveandahalfstar
3rd Super Cool
Autumn Stakes
1st Pied A Terre 1 minute 24.7 seconds
2nd Proliferate
3rd Adamantium
Autumn Stakes
1st Dusty Star 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Under The Eiffel
3rd Eclair Mystic
Autumn Stakes
1st Denman 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Guru Bob
3rd Most Immediate
Autumn Stakes
1st Fravashi 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Nicconi
3rd Heart Of Dreams
Autumn Stakes
1st Light Fantastic 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Vivacious
3rd Viatorian
Autumn Stakes
1st Catechuchu 1 minute 24.7 seconds
2nd Haradasun
3rd Eclair Passion
Autumn Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 24.7 seconds
2nd God’s Own
3rd Empress Lily
Autumn Stakes
1st Shinzig 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Not A Single Doubt
3rd Danehill Express
Autumn Stakes
1st Special Harmony 1 minute 23.5 seconds
2nd Youth
3rd Dane Fever
Autumn Stakes
1st Titanic Jack 1 minute 25.1 seconds
2nd Storm Prince
3rd Step Ahead
Autumn Stakes
1st Dash For Cash 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Barkada
3rd Zonked
Autumn Stakes
1st Desert Sky 1 minute 25.1 seconds
2nd Desert Eagle
3rd Crop
Autumn Stakes
1st Sudurka 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Skymaker
3rd Noble Sensation