CF Orr Stakes

The CF Orr Stakes 2017 kicks off Group 1 racing during the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival in February.

CF Orr Stakes News

Australia Stakes the Autumn Launch Pad for Black Heart Bart

Australia Stakes the Autumn Launch Pad for Black Heart Bart

Darren Weir has revealed that star gelding Black Heart Bart is likely to be kept to distances of a mile or less when he returns to racing during the forthcoming 2017 Autumn Carnival.

Black Heart Bart will return to racing in the Group 2 Australia Stakes on January 27th. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

A former Perth galloper, Black Heart ...

The 2017 CF Orr Stakes is a Group 1 race held at Melbourne’s Caulfield Racecourse in early to mid February. This Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival event is a weight-for-age race run over 1400m and is worth $500,000 in prize money.

The ideal lead-up races for the CF Orr Stakes include the Group 3 Rubiton Stakes (1100m) and the Group 2 Carlyon Stakes (1200m).

The date for the 2017 CF Orr Stakes will be Saturday the 11th February, 2017.

CF Orr Stakes
Date: 11th February, 2017
Racecourse: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

2017 CF Orr Stakes Field

The 2017 CF Orr Stakes Field & Barrier Draw will be published below as soon as released by Racing Victoria the week of the race.

2017 CF Orr Stakes nominations

The 2017 CF Orr Stakes nominations are released the Monday before the race and will be published in full below as soon as available.

CF Orr Stakes History

Two horses have managed to win the CF Orr Stakes three consecutive times, Vo Rogue from 1988 to 1990 and Manikato from 1979 to 1981.

From 1925, when The Night Patrol won the first CF Orr Stakes, until 1992 the event possessed Group 2 status. Between 1925 and 1942, the CF Orr Stakes was a weight-for-age race with penalties however this was then changed to handicap conditions until 1945.

Originally an 8 furlong race (approx. 1600m); the CF Orr Stakes also underwent various location changes. Between 1925 and 1940, the race was held at Williamstown Racecourse. In the 1940s, it was switched between Moonee Valley and Flemington and in 1966 and 1996, it took place at Sandown Racecourse.

Recent CF Orr Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
CF Orr Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
CF Orr Stakes
1st Suavito 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Lucky Hussler
3rd Hucklebuck
CF Orr Stakes
1st Dissident 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Entirely Platinum
3rd Mourinho
CF Orr Stakes
1st Moment Of Change 1 minute 23.0 seconds
2nd Eurozone
3rd Shamus Award
CF Orr Stakes
1st All Too Hard 1 minute 22.83 seconds
2nd Mawingo
3rd Mr Moet
CF Orr Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 25.14 seconds
2nd Southern Speed
3rd Playing God
CF Orr Stakes
1st Typhoon Tracy 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Heart Of Dreams
3rd Ortensia
CF Orr Stakes
1st Typhoon Tracy 1 minute 24.04 seconds
2nd Heart Of Dreams
3rd Sirmione
CF Orr Stakes
1st Maldivian 1 minute 23.4 seconds
2nd Alamosa
3rd Theseo
CF Orr Stakes
1st Shinzig 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Niconero
3rd Rubiscent
CF Orr Stakes
1st El Segundo 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Marasco
3rd Aqua Damore
CF Orr Stakes
1st Perfect Promise 1 minute 22.3 seconds
2nd Lad Of The Manor
3rd Fields Of Omagh
CF Orr Stakes
1st Elvstroem 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Savabeel
3rd Lad Of The Manor
CF Orr Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Vocabulary
3rd Sound Action
CF Orr Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Fields Of Omagh
3rd Innovation Girl
CF Orr Stakes
1st Barkada 1 minute 24.6 seconds
2nd Northerly
3rd Cent Home
CF Orr Stakes
1st Desert Sky 1 minute 21.6 seconds
2nd Skoozi Please
3rd Hit The Roof
CF Orr Stakes
1st Redoutes Choice 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Miss Pennymoney
3rd Intergaze