Darley Classic

The 2017 Darley Classic will run on Emirates Stakes Day, Saturday November 11, 2017, the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington Racecourse.

2016 Darley Classic Results

  • 1st: Malaguerra
  • 2nd: Spieth
  • 3rd: Fell Swoop

Darley Classic News

Malaguerra to Defend Title in Darley Classic 2017

Malaguerra to Defend Title in Darley Classic 2017

The Gelagotis stable has confirmed plans to set their smart sprinter Malaguerra on a spring campaign that will culminate in a 2017 Darley Classic title defence during the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November. Last Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival the son of Magnus enjoyed a devastatingly close win over Spieth (2nd) and Fell Swoop (3rd) down…

The 2017 Darley Classic, formerly called the VRC Sprint Classic and prior to that the Patinack Farm Classic, is a 1200m sprint race run down the famous Flemington straight during the spring.

Held on the first Saturday of November on the final day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival, the Darley Classic is the premier sprint race of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival and is worth $1,000,000 in prize money.

The Group 1 Darley Classic is part of the Global Sprint Challenge, an initiative to bring together the best sprinters in Australia, Japan, United Arab Emirates, Singapore, United Kingdom and Hong Kong. The 10 leg Global Sprint Challenge offers a $1,000,000 bonus to any horse that can win one of the sprint races in three different countries. So far no horse has claimed the bonus.

The 2017 Darley Classic will run on November 11th, 2017 as a feature race on Emirates Stakes Day at Flemington.

Darley Classic 2017
Date: November 11th, 2017
Track: Flemington Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $1,000,000

2017 Darley Classic Betting Odds

The latest Darley Classic 2017 betting odds will be listed below following the release of the final field for the Flemington sprint classic along with links to the markets at Ladbrokes.com.au for you to back your best Darley Classic tips.

Early Darley Classic odds are open even before nominations for the sprint showdown are out and futures Darley Classic 2017 betting markets will be published below as soon as available.

2017 Darley Classic Field & Barriers

The 2017 Darley Classic field will be released by Racing Victoria on the Wednesday of Melbourne Cup week 2017 and will be published below along with the official Darley Classic Barrier Draw as soon as announced.

View the 2016 Darley Classic Final Field & Barrier Draw.

2017 Darley Classic First Acceptances

The make-up of the Darley Classic field begins to take shape following the release of the 2017 Darley Classic first acceptances.

The 2017 Darley Classic first acceptances will be published below once released in late October of 2017.

Darley Classic History

The Darley Classic’s inaugural winner was Gulnare in 1868. The race was upgraded to Group 1 status in 2007. The race distance has changed many times over the years, with the being a 1200m, 1400m and 1600m. The race name has also changed many times, with the race being known as the Flying Stakes, Linlithgow Stakes, Emirates Classic, Lexus Classic, The Age Classic, Patinack Farm Classic before changing to the VRC Sprint Classic in 2013. That only lasted a year before the name was again changed to Darley Classic in 2014.

Many great horses have won the Darley Classic including the legendary Phar Lap in 1930. Champion sire Fastnet Rock win the race in 2004.

A number of horses have won the race multiple times, Barbelle (1870-1872), Gladsome (1904-1905), Chatham (1931-1933), High Caste (dead heat with Manrico in 1939, 1940-1941), Matrice (1956-1957), All Shot (1972-1973), Scamanda (1974-1976),

More recently the great Black Caviar won the Darley Classic in both 2010 and 2011.

Darley Classic Results

The Darley Classic results including the winners and placegetters dating back to 2000 can be found on our Darley Classic Winners & Results page, and used to help you with Darley Classic betting this spring.