Doomben 10,000

The 2017 Doomben 10,000 kicks off Group 1 racing during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival and is now run over 1200m at Doomben Racecourse in mid-May.

Doomben 10,000 News

Doomben 10,000 Hopes Head 2017 Victory Stakes Nominations

Doomben 10,000 Hopes Head 2017 Victory Stakes Nominations

A line-up of potential 2017 Doomben 10,000 runners make up the Victory Stakes nominations for the early Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival lead-up at Eagle Farm Racecourse this weekend.

Fell Swoop is nominated to defend his title in the 2017 Victory Stakes at Eagle Farm in Brisbane on Saturday. Photo: Daniel Costello.

Saturday sees two Group status races take place at ...

The 2017 Doomben 10,000 is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival in May each year. It was previously raced over a middle distance sprint of 1350m, but from 2017 it will be contested over 1200m and kick off Group 1 racing in Queensland for the season.

Offering a lucrative $700,000 in prize money, The Doomben 10,000 is one of Queensland’s richest races and the weight-for-age event is now held two weeks before the Group 1 BTC Cup (1300m) – now known as the Darley Kingsford Smith Cup.

The Group 1 BTC Cup, previously run a fortnight before, was the best lead up race to the Doomben 10,000 and prior to the scheduled Brisbane Winter Carnival race changes in 2017 the last horse to do the double was Sea Siren (2012).

The new key Doomben 10,000 lead-up race will be the Group 2 Victory Stakes (1200m) run over the same distance also at weight-for-age at Eagle Farm two weeks before.

The 2017 Doomben 10,000 will be run on Saturday May 13, 2017.

Doomben 10,000
Date: Saturday May 13, 2017
Track: Doomben Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $700,000

2017 Doomben 10,000 Odds

The Doomben 10,000 2017 betting odds and Brisbane racing tips for the first Group 1 of the carnival will be available below as soon as markets open at

2017 Doomben 10,000 Field

The Doomben 10,000 field up until 2017 traditionally attracted weight-for-age sprinters coming off a BTC Cup run. The race is now held a fortnight earlier as the first Group 1 of the winter in Queensland and will likely be the carnival kick-off for many horses. Gallopers may also now come into the Doomben 10,000 race field via a Victory Stakes run a fortnight earlier at Eagle Farm Racecourse.

The official Doomben 10,000 field 2017 and barriers are set for release on Wednesday May 10, 2017 and will be published below as soon as announced by Racing Queensland.

2017 Doomben 10,000 Nominations

The early Doomben 10,000 race nominations for 2017 will be announced below after entries for the weight-for-age sprint are released on Wednesday May 3, 2017.

Doomben 10,000 History

First won by Wallen in 1933, the race was originally named the T. M Ahearn Memorial however the name was changed when 10,000 pounds became the set amount of prize money. At this time, the Doomben 10,000 was the richest sprint race in Australia. The event was also won by the magnificent Manikato in 1979.

Originally a 6 furlong (approx 1200m) race, the distance for the Doomben 10,000 was changed to 7 furlongs (1400m) in 1942 and remained so until 1973 when it became a 1350m race. The Doomben 10,000 race distance dropped back to the 1200m sprint in 2017 and the weight-for-age race moved forward a fortnight so it now marks the start of Group 1 racing in Brisbane over the winter.

Recent Doomben 10,000 Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Doomben 10,000
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Doomben 10,000
1st Music Magnate 1 minute 17.77 seconds
2nd Azkadellia
3rd Charlie Boy
Doomben 10,000
1st Boban 1 minute 19.15 seconds
2nd Charlie Boy
3rd Generalife
Doomben 10,000
1st Spirit Of Boom 1 minute 17.93 seconds
2nd Temple Of Boom
3rd Buffering
Doomben 10,000
1st Epaulette 1 minute 18.85 seconds
2nd Sea Siren
3rd Buffering
Doomben 10,000
1st Sea Siren 1 minute 19.09 seconds
2nd Buffering
3rd Temple Of Boom
Doomben 10,000
1st Beaded 1 minute 19.6 seconds
2nd Love Conquers All
3rd Black Piranha
Doomben 10,000
1st Hot Danish 1 minute 19.17 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Melito
Doomben 10,000
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd All Silent
Doomben 10,000
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 17.9 seconds
2nd Murtajil
3rd Turffontein
Doomben 10,000
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 18.5 seconds
2nd Gold Edition
3rd Mitanni
Doomben 10,000
1st Undue 1 minute 18 seconds
2nd Impaler
3rd Street Smart
Doomben 10,000
1st Red Oog 1 minute 18.6 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Takeover Target
Doomben 10,000
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 17.7 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Scenic Peak
Doomben 10,000
1st Bel Esprit 1 minute 18.3 seconds
2nd Private Steer
3rd Spinning Hill
Doomben 10,000
1st Falvelon 1 minute 18.8 seconds
2nd Show A Heart
3rd Lord Essex
Doomben 10,000
1st Falvelon 1 minute 17.2 seconds
2nd Spinning Hill
3rd Mr Innocent
Doomben 10,000
1st Mr Innocent 1 minute 18.8 seconds
2nd Easy Rocking
3rd Falvelon