Victory Stakes

The Victory Stakes 2017 is a Group 2 sprint run at Eagle Farm Racecourse in late April as a lead-up to the Doomben 10,000 and other Group 1 races during the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival.

Victory Stakes News

Seven Confirmed in 2017 Victory Stakes Field

Seven Confirmed in 2017 Victory Stakes Field

Only seven sprinters will seek black type success at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Saturday following this morning’s completion and release of the 2017 Victory Stakes field and barrier draw.

Doomben 10,000 winner Music Magnate will make his return to Queensland racing in Saturday’s Group 2 Victory Stakes. Photo: Steve Hart

Music Magnate is a proven performer in Brisbane, but could ...

The Group 2 2017 Victory Stakes is the first Group status race of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival taking place in late April at Eagle Farm Racecourse. Run over the sprint distance of 1200m it is a weight-for-age event worth $200, 000 and was previously known as the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes.

The Victory Stakes is an excellent lead up to Brisbane’s first Group 1 race of the season, the $700,000 Group 1 Doomben 10,000 (1200m), another 1200m weight-for-age event run at Brisbane’s other race track Doomben. Quality runners may then progress onto both the Group 1 Kingsford-Smith Cup (1300m) in late May and Queensland’s richest race, the $1.5 million Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) in June.

In 2014 the Victory Stakes produced the Stradbroke Handicap quinella with River Lad, seventh in the Group 2, beating home Victory Stakes winner Temple Of Boom in the Group 1.

The Victory Stakes 2017 will run on Saturday Saturday April 29, 2017.

Victory Stakes
Date: Saturday April 29, 2017
Track: Eagle Farm Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200, 000
Inaugurated: 1980

2017 Victory Stakes Odds

The updated Victory Stakes 2017 betting odds and market links to on the potential Doomben 10,000-bound winter sprinters will be available below the week of the race.

2017 Victory Stakes Field

The Victory Stakes field attracts a class line-up of Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival hopes usually having their first Queensland run of the season. Horses that contested the race the season prior often return, while a host of interstate raiders dominate the Victory Stakes final acceptances including runners out of the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) in Sydney earlier in the month.

The official Victory Stakes 2017 Field & Barriers are set for release by Racing Queensland on Wednesday April 26, 2017.

2017 Victory Stakes Nominations

The Victory Stakes nominations close on the Monday of race week and traditionally feature Doomben 10,000 bound sprinters kicking off their Brisbane campaigns for the winter.

The 2017 Victory Stakes Nominations attracted 13 hopefuls led by the defending winter Fell Swoop and Group 1 winner Takedown who are both prominent in early Doomben 10,000 betting markets.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp. Rating
1 56x323x663 FELL SWOOP G 5 Matthew Dale 1 58.5kg 109
2 0x112516x8 TAKEDOWN G 4 Gary Moore 2 58.5kg 111
3 1x1210x150 MUSIC MAGNATE (NZ) G 5 Bjorn Baker 3 58.5kg 112
4 05x953717x GOOD STANDING C 3 James Cummings 4 56.5kg 91
5 2741x4300x MISS COVER GIRL M 5 Kelly Schweida 5 56.5kg 102
6 34028×5313 JUNGLE EDGE G 6 Mick Bell 6 58.5kg 106
7 0x1154x10x HIDDEN PEARL M 6 Barry Lockwood 7 56.5kg 99
8 5x4062538x HOPFGARTEN G 6 Robert Heathcote 8 58.5kg 104
9 x1153429x6 SONY LEGEND G 6 Brian Smith 9 58.5kg 87.5
10 14x110x191 QUATRONIC G 4 Matthew Dunn 10 58.5kg 86
11 4211515×44 LONDEHERO G 6 Matthew Dunn 11 58.5kg 90
12 171x6x170x PRIMAL FLIGHT G 6 Gillian Heinrich & Ben Rodgers 12 58.5kg 84
13 1211x11x1 TUMBLER M 5 Barry Lockwood 13 56.5kg 89

Victory Stakes History

The first horse to win the race then called the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes was Golden Rhapsody in 1980 when the race was inaugurated. Beginning as a Listed race the following year in 1981 it reached Group 3 status before being installed as a Group 2 event in 1992. First run over 1810m, the Sir Byrne Hart Stakes has gone through a number of distance changes throughout its history but is now a 1200m sprint at the Eagle Farm Racecourse for gallopers heading towards the Group 1 Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival features.

Victory Stakes Distance:
1980 – 1983: 1810m
1984 – 1986: 2100m
1987: 2125m
1988: 1810m
1989: 2125m
1990 – 2005: 1400m
2006 onwards: 1200m

Victory Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Victory Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Victory Stakes
1st Fell Swoop 1 minute 9.02 seconds
2nd Didntcostalot
3rd Artlee
Victory Stakes
1st Srikandi 1 minute 9.63 seconds
2nd Ball Of Muscle
3rd Dances On Stars
Victory Stakes
1st Temple Of Boom 1 minute 9.0 seconds
2nd Spirit Of Boom
3rd Snitzerland
Victory Stakes
1st Buffering 1 minute 8.54 seconds
2nd Spirit Of Boom
3rd Albrecht
Victory Stakes
1st Meeting Abandoned
Victory Stakes
1st Buffering 1 minute 13.0 seconds
2nd Atomic Force
3rd Azzaland
Victory Stakes
1st Ghetto Blaster 1 minute 09.6 seconds
2nd The Jackal
3rd Albert The Fat
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Swiss Ace 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Sniper?s Bullet
3rd Red Element
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Swiss Ace 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Atapi
3rd Dance The Waves
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Mitanni 1 minute 9.7 seconds
2nd Anwaar
3rd Tellem
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st All Bar One 1 minute 8.5 seconds
2nd Falaise
3rd Impaler
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Wager 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Deuxieme
3rd Dezigna
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Only Words 1 minute 25.8 seconds
2nd Our Egyptian Raine
3rd Defier
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Tit For Taat 1 minute 21.5 seconds
2nd Scenic Peak
3rd Mr Bureaucrat
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Mr Bureaucrat 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Salgado
3rd Faiza
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Make Mine Magic 1 minute 20.8 seconds
2nd Play Station
3rd Camarena
Sir Byrne Hart Stakes
1st Cheiron 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Narwong
3rd City Fair