Challenge Stakes

The Challenge Stakes is a Group 2 Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival sprint run on Randwick Guineas Day offering $500,000 in prize money.

Challenge Stakes News

Malaguerra remains the favourite for Stradbroke Handicap

Malaguerra remains the favourite for Stradbroke Handicap

Four year old Malaguerra remains the favourite for the Group 1 $2m AAMI Stradbroke Handicap (1400m) at Eagle Farm on June 11 even though he failed to run a place at Randwick last Saturday.

Malaguerra remains the favourite for the Stradbroke Handicap at Eagle Farm. Photo by Steve Hart.

Early Stradbroke Handicap markets at have Malaguerra heading the betting ...

The 2017 Challenge Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse in early March as a part of the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. A 1000m open sprint the Challenge Stakes has increased notably in prize money in recent years and is now worth a lucrative $500,000.

The Challenge Stakes is one of the key support races on Randwick Guineas Day and accompanies the $1 million Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) and $500,000 Group 1 Canterbury Stakes (1300m).

A possible lead-up race into the Challenge Stakes field is the Group 3 Southern Cross Stakes (1200m) held at Randwick in February, but many of the horses race first-up in the half-a-million-dollar showdown.

The likely next-up autumn targets for horses out of the Challenge Stakes include the Group 1 The Galaxy (1100m) and April’s Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes (1200m) held as part of ‘The Championships’.

The Challenge Stakes 2017 will be run on Saturday March 4 on Rosehill Guineas Day.

Challenge Stakes
Date: March 4, 2017
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 1000m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000

2017 Challenge Stakes Field

The Challenge Stakes field usually attracts a decent variety of sprinters. Because it pays well and is run over a fairly brief distance, the Challenge Stakes field is regularly targeted by decent types in the midst of their Autumn campaign.

The 2017 Challenge Stakes field will be provided below when released by Racing NSW on Wednesday March 1, 2017.

2017 Challenge Stakes Nominations

Usually released on the Monday prior to the race, the Challenge Stakes nominations attract top sprinters from both local and interstate stables after a share in the generous prize money on offer in the lucrative Group 2 sprint.

The 2017 Challenge Stakes nominations will be published here as soon as released on February 27, 2017.

Challenge Stakes History

The first recorded winning of the AJC Challenge Stakes took place in 1966 when Tar Girl won with a finishing time of 58.5 seconds. Since then, the race has recorded a number of triple and double winners including Star Of Florida in 2003-04, Cangronde in 1997-98, At Sea from 1985 to 1987 and Razor Sharp from 1982 to 1984.

The fastest recorded winning time was set in 2010 by De Lightning Ridge with 55.92 seconds, eclipsing the previous record set in 1975 by Zephyr Bay with 56.2 seconds. The slowest winning time was recorded twice in 1969 by Gay Gauntlet and 1978 by Monreale with 1 minute 0.3 seconds.

See below for the full Challenge Stakes results dating back to 2000.

Recent Challenge Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Challenge Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Challenge Stakes
1st English 56.5 seconds
2nd Kinglike
3rd Boss Lane
Challenge Stakes
1st Miracles Of Life 56.7 seconds
2nd Va Pensiero
3rd Rubick
Challenge Stakes
1st Villa Verde 57.30 seconds
2nd Snitzerland
3rd Famous Seamus
Challenge Stakes
1st Snitzerland 56.16 seconds
2nd Decision Time
3rd Howmuchdoyouloveme
Challenge Stakes
1st Rain Affair 1:03.7 seconds
2nd Satin Shoes
3rd Neeson
Challenge Stakes
1st Hay List 56.8 seconds
2nd Keen Commander
3rd Solar Charged
Challenge Stakes
1st De Lightning Ridge 55.92 seconds
2nd Dorf Command
3rd Stryker
Challenge Stakes
1st Olonana 56.92 seconds
2nd Hoystar
3rd Fantene
Challenge Stakes
1st Hurried Choice 57.35 seconds
2nd Keen Commander
3rd German Chocolate
Challenge Stakes
1st Spark Of Life 56.89 seconds
2nd Whoever
3rd Biscayne Bay
Challenge Stakes
1st Snitzel 56.8 seconds
2nd Spark Of Life
3rd Media
Challenge Stakes
1st Impaler 56.25 seconds
2nd Snippetson
3rd Charge Forward
Challenge Stakes
1st Star Of Florida 56.39 seconds
2nd Mistegic
3rd Majestic Fiesta
Challenge Stakes
1st Star Of Florida 56.58 seconds
2nd Snowland
3rd Fair Embrace
Challenge Stakes
1st Bomber Bill 56.54 seconds
2nd Mistegic
3rd Ateates
Challenge Stakes
1st Pimpala Prince 59.24 seconds
2nd Ateates
3rd Notoire
Challenge Stakes
1st Easy Rocking 56.90 seconds
2nd Ab Initio
3rd Adam