Summer Cup

The 2016 Summer Cup is a Group 3 handicap held at Royal Randwick on Boxing Day.

Summer Cup News

2016 Summer Cup Target for Boom Time

2016 Summer Cup Target for Boom Time

Sydney’s Summer Cup 2016 on Boxing Day at Royal Randwick is a likely December target for the Lindsay Park-trained Boom Time after his gutsy Moonee Valley win over the weekend.

Craig Williams has ridden Boom Time for back-to-back Melbourne wins this time in ahead of the horse’s likely Sydney run on Boxing Day in the 2016 Summer Cup. Photo: ...

The 2016 Summer Cup is a Group 3 handicap event held at Royal Randwick Racecourse each year on Boxing Day, December 26.

Held over 2000m under handicap conditions, the Summer Cup is open to all horses aged three years and older. With $150,000 prize money on offer, the Summer Cup is a decent target for horses who are at the end of their spring campaign.

It stands as one of the only group events held in Sydney during the summer, and is the standalone black-type event on the day. Elsewhere in the country, Morphettville and Sandown also host Boxing Day races.

The Group 2 Villiers Stakes (1600m) is a reasonably popular lead up race to the Summer Cup. Following the Summer Cup, most horses head to the paddock. Some might choose to head over to Western Australia for the last of the Perth Summer Racing Carnival races including the Group 2 Perth Cup (2400m).

The 2016 Summer Cup will run on Saturday December 26th.

Summer Cup 2016
Date: December 26th, 2016
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: 3YO+ Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Summer Cup Field

The Summer Cup field usually attracts some fairly decent talent. Because it is one of the last opportunities for decent horses to contest a black-type event in Sydney, the Summer Cup field usually gets a few quality horses looking for a last run before their spell.

The 2016 Summer Cup field will be published below the week of the race.

2016 Summer Cup Nominations

The Summer Cup nominations are usually released around a week before the race itself. Because of it’s spot in the calendar, the Summer Cup nominations tend to include a few decent talents. It’s not unusual to see a Group 2 or even Group 1 level stayer enter the Summer Cup nominations.

The 2016 Summer Cup nominations will be provided here as soon as released by Racing NSW.

Summer Cup History

The Summer Cup was inaugurated in 1890, with Stockwell taking home the first Summer Cup trophy. Throughout the years, the Summer Cup has been variously held at Warwick Farm, Rosehill Gardens and its current home, Royal Randwick.

The distance of the Summer Cup has varied too, with it running over 2400m at Rosehill in 2011, as opposed to its current 2000m.

Quite a few decent horses have gone through the Summer Cup. Notable Summer Cup winners include Tornado (1897), Braille (1920), Nord (1933), Kamikaze (1961), Big Butch (1972), Ming Dynasty (1976), Super Impost (1988), Catalan Prince (1995), Aqua D’Amore (2005) and I’m Imposing (2013). Summer Cup results, place getters and winning times are provided below.

Summer Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Summer Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Summer Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Summer Cup
1st Mighty Lucky 2 minutes 3.7 seconds
2nd Junoob
3rd I’m Imposing
Summer Cup
1st I’m Imposing 2 minutes 4.8 seconds
2nd Midsummer Sun
3rd Casino Dancer
Summer Cup
1st I’m Imposing 2 minutes 4.8 seconds
2nd Travolta
3rd Destiny’s Kiss
Summer Cup
1st Le Roi 2 minutes 35.1 seconds
2nd Brightest
3rd Praecido
Summer Cup
1st Yulalona 2 minutes 30.1 seconds
2nd Nextanix
3rd Count Encosta
Summer Cup
1st Spechenka 2 minutes 26.3 seconds
2nd Strike One
3rd Let Them Have It
Summer Cup
1st Solid Billing 2 minutes 30.6 seconds
2nd Zazabeau
3rd Rockwood
Summer Cup
1st Ready To Lift 2 minutes 31.8 seconds
2nd Bellagio Wynn
3rd Zazabeau
Summer Cup
1st Race Not Held
Summer Cup
1st Jamberoo 2 minutes 32.9 seconds
2nd Game On
3rd Taken At The Flood
Summer Cup
1st Aqua D’Amore 2 minutes 28.1 seconds
2nd County Tyrone
3rd Beat The Tide
Summer Cup
1st This Manshood 2 minutes 27.8 seconds
2nd Vereza
3rd New York Style
Summer Cup
1st Stadium 2 minutes 30.1 seconds
2nd Ocho
3rd Stoway
Summer Cup
1st Stoway 2 minutes 33.2 seconds
2nd Ego Fast
3rd Barawin
Summer Cup
1st Majestically 2 minutes 29.3 seconds
2nd Zarayev
3rd Power Of Pegasus
Summer Cup
1st Lanolin 2 minutes 27.4 seconds
2nd Vitrinite
3rd Consolidator