Perth Cup

The 2016 Perth Cup (2400m) is a Group 2 race held at Ascot Racecourse on December 31.

Perth Cup News

Perth Cup Winner Delicacy Retired

Perth Cup Winner Delicacy Retired

The worst fears of WA’s leading owner-breeder Bob Peters were confirmed this week when his champion mare and last weekend’s Perth Cup winner Delicacy was forced into retirement due to injury.

2016 Perth Cup winner Delicacy has been retired due to injury. Photo: Jenny Barnes.

Last season’s Champion Three-Year-Old Filly, the now four-year-old daughter of Al Maher posted her 12...

The Group 2 2016 Perth Cup is one of the premier features of the annual Perth Summer Racing Carnival and after traditionally being run on New Year’s Day has changed dates a number of times in recent years.

The Perth Cup is now run in either late December or early January.

Held at Ascot Racecourse in W.A. the 2400m event is an open handicap that attracts the top local and interstate stayers and offers a lucrative $500,000 in total prize money to its entrants.

The 2016 Perth Cup will be held on December 31.

Perth Cup 2016
Date: December 31, 2016
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Perth Cup Field

The Perth Cup field is usually comprised of some very talented stayers. The majority of the Perth Cup field is comprised of local gallopers, with some eastern stayers coming over most years to have a crack at the race.

The 2016 Perth Cup field will be provided here the week of the race.

2016 Perth Cup Nominations

The Perth Cup nominations are usually released around a week prior to the race. Usually, the Perth Cup nominations include a majority of western horses along with some particularly talented eastern types looking to engage in the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

The 2016 Perth Cup nominations will be published below as soon as available from Perth Racing.

Perth Cup History

First held in 1887 and won by First Prince, the Perth Cup has a long history of winners with several horses adding a second Perth Cup win to their name. The double winners include Wandering Willie (1890,92), Scarpia (1893-94), Artesian (1911,13), Cueesun (1934-35), Fairetha (1958-59), Fait Accompli (1970,72) and Magistrate (1981-82).

The race has also undergone several distance changes starting as a two mile event to two miles and 11 yards and then 3200 metres and finally in 2009 it became a 2400m event.

The continued change of Perth Cup Day dates has a number of “double-up” editions. There will be two official 2016 Perth Cups, one run in January and one in December the same as in 2011.

See below for the Perth Cup results dating back to 2000.

Recent Perth Cup Winners

Year Place Horse Time
DEC 2016*
Perth Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
JAN 2016*
Perth Cup
1st Delicacy 2 minutes 30.01 seconds
2nd Neverland
3rd Real Love
Perth Cup
1st Real Love 2 minutes 29.94 seconds
2nd Red Blast
3rd Kirov Boy
Perth Cup
1st Black Tycoon 2 minutes 31.27 seconds
2nd God Has Spoken
3rd Ask Me Nicely
Perth Cup
1st Talent Show 2 minutes 29.78 seconds
2nd Mr Moet
3rd Global Flirt
DEC 2011*
Perth Cup
1st Western Jewel 2 minutes 28.24 seconds
2nd God Has Spoken
3rd Senhor Da Gama
JAN 2011*
Perth Cup
1st Guest Wing 2 minutes 27.5 seconds
2nd Admiring
3rd Big Ted
Perth Cup
1st Lords Ransom 2 minutes 30.63 seconds
2nd Ma Chienne
3rd Largo Lad
Perth Cup
1st Gunyo 2 minutes 25.9 seconds
2nd The Fuzz
3rd Ballack
Perth Cup
1st Cats Fun 3 minutes 21.6 seconds
2nd Exhilerating
3rd Westerly Breeze
Perth Cup
1st Respect 3 minutes 21 seconds
2nd Bay Story
3rd Rossam
Perth Cup
1st Black Tom 3 minutes 18.8 seconds
2nd Master Minx
3rd Early Express
Perth Cup
1st Crown Prosecutor 3 minutes 21.4 seconds
2nd Free At Last
3rd Black Tom
Perth Cup
1st King Canute 3 minutes 23.7 seconds
2nd Indigo King
3rd Higgins Gold
Perth Cup
1st Tumeric 3 minutes 23 seconds
2nd So Canny
3rd Bold Mirage
Perth Cup
1st Cardinal Colours 3 minutes 25.9 seconds
2nd Give Me A Chance
3rd Shoeless
Perth Cup
1st Lottila Bay 3 minutes 25.6 seconds
2nd Moonrise
3rd King Brian
Perth Cup
1st Lunar Tudor 3 minutes 21 seconds
2nd Victory Morn
3rd Matriculate

* In 2011 the Perth Cup was held twice due to the race date moving from January 2 to December 31 for the 2011/2012 racing season.

*In 2016 the Perth Cup was held twice due to the race date moving from early January to December 31 for the 2016/17 racing season.