AJ Scahill Stakes

The 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in November.

AJ Scahill Stakes News

Watermans Bay Wins 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes Again

Watermans Bay Wins 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes Again

Daniel Morton’s in-form local star Watermans Bay saluted for the punters in the feature race at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse over the weekend successfully defending his title in the AJ Scahill Stakes 2015.

Watermans Bay (pictured at Caulfield) became the first back-to-back AJ Scahill Stakes winner in history over the weekend in Perth. Photo: Adrienne Bicknell.

Last season the ...

The 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Perth’s Ascot Racecourse during the Perth Summer Racing Carnival.

Raced under weight for age conditions and open to horses aged three years and older, the AJ Scahill Stakes is an exciting test of some of the most talented sprinters in Perth and even Australia. Raced over 1400m, the AJ Scahill Stakes offers a total of $250,000 prize money, making it a very lucrative Group 3 event.

It is held on Kingston Town Classic Day alongside five other black-type events. These include the Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m), Group 3 Sir Ernest Lee Steere Classic (1400m), Listed Aquanita Stakes (1800m), Listed GA Towton Cup (2200m) and Listed Jungle Dawn Classic (1400m).

There are a variety of paths horses might take to the AJ Scahill Stakes. Most have already had a few runs in Perth. Some may even be continuing their spring campaign and will likely head to the paddock following this race. Others still might have plans to head to Queensland. The Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) and Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes (1200m) have in the past been contested by some talented types on their way to the AJ Scahill Stakes.

The 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes will be run on November 28th.

AJ Scahill Stakes 2015
Date: November 28th, 2015
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO+ WFA
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $250,000

2015 AJ Scahill Stakes Field

The AJ Scahill Stakes field usually features a fairly diverse range of horses. Although it is only a Group 3 event, the AJ Scahill Stakes field often attracts some top quality contenders, many of whom have experienced success at Group 1 level. Because of this, the AJ Scahill Stakes field always puts on an exciting race.

The 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes field will be provided below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 21x2591x22 WATERMANS BAY Daniel Morton William Pike 7 59kg
2 036x6827x4 RESPONDENT Adam Durrant Glenn Smith 5 59kg
3 23122×3260 DAWN APPROACH Vaughn Sigley Takahide Ikenushi 1 59kg
4 86217x31x9 ROMMEL Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 6 59kg
5 x32x33x3x8 CHECKPOINT Neville Parnham Brad Parnham 3 59kg
6 1118×11220 BATTLE HERO Grant Williams Chris Parnham 2 59kg
7 112x40x320 MAGNIFISIO Vaughn Sigley Jason Brown 4 57kg

2015 AJ Scahill Stakes Nominations

The AJ Scahill Stakes nominations provide punters with a pretty accurate indication as to the likely contenders in the race. Usually released about four days prior to the race itself, the AJ Scahill Stakes can often include horses from a number of different preparations.

The 2015 AJ Scahill Stakes nominations will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Weight
1 1118×11220 BATTLE HERO G 4 Grant Williams 59kg
2 x32x33x3x8 CHECKPOINT G 7 Neville Parnham 59kg
3 23122×3260 DAWN APPROACH G 5 Vaughn Sigley 59kg
4 x111x56315 HAZZABEEL (NZ) G 5 Daniel Morton 59kg
5 33411124×2 KING OF WU G 6 Brian Lucas 59kg
6 5081131345 PHAROMAC G 6 Stephen Rowe 59kg
7 036x6827x4 RESPONDENT G 5 Adam Durrant 59kg
8 86217x31x9 ROMMEL H 4 Neville Parnham 59kg
9 21x2591x22 WATERMANS BAY G 7 Daniel Morton 59kg
10 112x40x320 MAGNIFISIO M 6 Vaughn Sigley 57kg
11 2131114240 WINK AND A NOD M 6 Justin Warwick 57kg

AJ Scahill Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1978, the AJ Scahill Stakes has since developed a rich reputation for quality racing and producing talented sprinting types. Invariably, winners of the AJ Scahill Stakes go on to continued racing success.

It is named after Alan Scahill, who was one of the founding members of the WA TAB. He also served on the Western Australian Turf Club committee for over twenty years, from 1953 to 1975. He held the position of vice chairman for the final year of his service.

Originally a Principal Race, the AJ Scahill Stakes was changed to a Group 3 event in 1980, and has retained that status since.

While usually held at Ascot, in 2003 Belmont Park hosted the race. In its early days, the AJ Scahill Stakes was 1200m long. This was changed to 1400m in 1980, and increased again to 1450m in 1983. From 1984 onwards, the AJ Scahill Stakes has been raced over 1400m.

Due to a reshuffle of the Perth racing calendar, there were two editions of the AJ Scahill Stakes in 2001, one in January and one in December.

Notable AJ Scahill Stakes winners include Burgess Queen (1978), Heron Bridge (1986), Willoughby (1998), Arctic Park (2005), Takeover Target (2008), Grand Nirvana (2011) and Conservatorium (2013). In recent years, the quality of AJ Scahill Stakes winners has been quite high. AJ Scahill Stakes results, place getters and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

AJ Scahill Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
AJ Scahill Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Watermans Bay 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Magnifisio
3rd Antique Belle
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Conservatorium 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Luke’s Luck
3rd Power Princess
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Power Princess 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Waratah’s Secret
3rd Conservatorium
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Grand Nirvana 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Waratah’s Secret
3rd Grey Monarch
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Waratah’s Secret 1 minute 21.8 seconds
2nd Hadabeclorka
3rd Elliotto
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Proart 1 minute 22.1 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd Elliotto
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Takeover Target 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd Royal Lott
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Tarzi 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Glory Hunter
3rd Grasspatch Girl
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Marasco 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Mansion House
3rd Hartley’s Dream
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Arctic Park 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Star Laser
3rd Is Amazing
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Avenida Madero 1 minute 22.0 seconds
2nd Eastern Standard
3rd Who Did It
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Hot Shot Brother 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Kame’s Hope
3rd Kaprats
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Kensyl Bay 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Irish Pride
3rd Early Express
2001 (Dec)
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Tribula 1 minute 25.6 seconds
2nd Lady Belvedere
3rd Exit Lane
2001 (Jan)
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Lizzy Long Leg 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Master Park
3rd Star System
AJ Scahill Stakes
1st Terwilliger 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Willoughby
3rd Jevanswer