Tristarc Stakes

The 2016 Tristarc Stakes is a Group 2 sprint held at Caulfield Racecourse.

Tristarc Stakes News

2016 Tristarc Stakes Winner First Seal Heads to Myer Classic

2016 Tristarc Stakes Winner First Seal Heads to Myer Classic

Group 1 winner First Seal was back to her best on Caulfield Cup Day in her first Victorian run saluting in the Tristarc Stakes 2016 ahead of a trip to Flemington for the Myer Classic. A special mare for trainer John Thompson, the Sydney-based daughter of Fastnet Rock is best known for her three-year-old success…

The 2016 Tristarc Stakes is a quality Group 2 thoroughbred event held as part of the coveted Melbourne Spring Carnival on one of the most anticipated days of racing, Caulfield Cup Day. Taking place on a Saturday in mid-October, Caulfield Cup Day features seven quality Group races including the: Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m), Group 2 Caulfield Sprint (1000m), Group 3 Ladbrokes Caulfield Classic (2000m), Group 3 David Jones Cup (2000m) and Group 3 Moonga Stakes (1400m).

The Tristarc Stakes is run over the sprint distance of 1400m by a solid field of mares under set weights plus penalties and is worth $200,000. It is a great middle distance sprint for mares heading towards prestigious events including the Group 1 Myer Classic (1600m) on  Victoria Derby Day or the Group 2 Matriach Stakes (2000m) on Emirates Stakes Day. The set weight conditions that the race is run under ensures that the higher seeded females claim victory more often than not. In recent years the Tristarc Stakes has been a decent guide to the Myer Classic, with Red Tracer (2013).

The 2016 Tristarc Stakes will be run on Saturday October 15, 2016.

2016 Tristarc Stakes
Date: October 15, 2016
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Conditions: 4YO&Up Mares – Set Weights + Penalties
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $200,000
Inaugurated: 1987

Tristarc Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Tristarc Stakes betting markets are detailed below with the full Tristarc Stakes odds provided by so you can back your insider 2016 Tristarc Stakes tips at the right price.

2016 Tristarc Stakes Field

The 2016 Tristarc Stakes field and barriers were released on Wednesday October 12 and feature 13 hopeful mares led by Group 1 winner First Seal, Tycoon Tara coming off a Group win in Sydney and Chris Waller’s Blazer Stakes winner French Emotion.

See below for the official 2016 Tristarc Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw and follow the link for a full race preview.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Br. Wgt. Hcp. Rating
1 226x1240x5 FIRST SEAL John P Thompson Blake Shinn 8 58.5kg 109
2 x3600x1141 TYCOON TARA Peter & Paul Snowden TBA 3 57.5kg 108
3 x64027x103 PEARLS John O’Shea Brenton Avdulla 5 57.5kg 95
4 11220×6721 FRENCH EMOTION Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 10 57.5kg 94
5 311034×160 CATCH A FIRE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Damian Lane 11 57.5kg 88
6 52311118×3 DANISH TWIST Kris Lees Damien Oliver 13 56.5kg 104
7 0x65333163 VIBRANT ROUGE Michael Kent Luke Nolen 1 56.5kg 91
8 3175x380x8 CORONATION SHALLAN Brett Scott Michael Walker 4 56.5kg 92
9 537635×046 JESSY BELLE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Chris Symons 9 55kg 92
10 3395262×44 DENMAGIC David Pfieffer Tommy Berry 2 55kg 86
11 4212213884 TELOPEA (GB) Darren Weir Craig Williams 12 55kg 90
12 x112x71x51 SHILLELAGH (NZ) Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards Zac Purton 7 55kg 80
13 x169x52x84 SATYA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 6 55kg 70

2016 Tristarc Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tristarc Stakes nominations were released by Racing Victoria (RV) on Monday October 10 and feature 17 hopefuls including Golden Pendant winner Tycoon Tara.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp Rating
1 111x ABBEY MARIE M 4 Michael Kent 94
2 311034×160 CATCH A FIRE M 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 88
3 3175x380x8 CORONATION SHALLAN M 7 Brett Scott 92
4 52311118×3 DANISH TWIST M 5 Kris Lees 104
5 3395262×44 DENMAGIC M 4 David Pfieffer 86
6 226x1240x5 FIRST SEAL M 5 John P Thompson 109
7 11220×6721 FRENCH EMOTION M 5 Chris Waller 94
8 537635×046 JESSY BELLE M 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 92
9 x64027x103 PEARLS M 4 John O’Shea 95
10 4x150x722 PURE PRIDE (NZ) M 4 Murray Johnson 78
11 56324×7595 ROCKOLICIOUS M 5 Darren Weir 85
12 x169x52x84 SATYA M 5 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 70
13 3x70331x57 SERENE MAJESTY M 4 Peter & Paul Snowden 89
14 x112x71x51 SHILLELAGH (NZ) M 5 Stephen Autridge & Jamie Richards 80
15 4212213884 TELOPEA (GB) M 6 Darren Weir 90
16 x3600x1141 TYCOON TARA M 6 Peter & Paul Snowden 108
17 0x65333163 VIBRANT ROUGE M 8 Michael Kent 91

Tristarc Stakes History

Canny Lass was the inaugural Tristarc Stakes winner when the race was first run in 1987. It began as a Listed race, reaching Group 3 status in 1994 and finally Group 2 status in 2005. The race distance has always been 1400m. Some high quality females have taken out the Tristarc Stakes including Typhoon Tracy (1999), Infinite Grace (2005 & 2003) and Bionic Bess (1995).

Tristarc Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Recent Tristarc Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Tristarc Stakes
1st First Seal 1 minute 25.14 seconds
2nd Tycoon Tara
3rd Pearls
Tristarc Stakes
1st La Passe 1 minute 23.77 seconds
2nd Solicit
3rd Jessy Belle
Tristarc Stakes
1st Sweet Idea 1 minute 25.42 seconds
2nd Girl Guide
3rd Catkins
Tristarc Stakes
1st Red Tracer 1 minute 23.16 seconds
2nd Koonoomoo
3rd Ava’s Delight
Tristarc Stakes
1st Streama 1 minute 24.76 seconds
2nd Pear Tart
3rd Red Tracer
Tristarc Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 22.89 seconds
2nd Sister Madly
3rd Response
Tristarc Stakes
1st Culminate 1 minute 26.51 seconds
2nd Jersey Lily
3rd Marquardt
Tristarc Stakes
1st Typhoon Tracy 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Hot Danish
3rd Glowlamp
Tristarc Stakes
1st Mimi Lebrock 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Tan Tat De Lago
3rd Absolutely Fabulous
Tristarc Stakes
1st Miss Fantabulous 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Bellini Rose
3rd Like It Is
Tristarc Stakes
1st Nuclear Free 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Belle Bizarre
3rd Divine Madonna
Tristarc Stakes
1st Infinite Grace 1 minute 22.1 seconds
2nd Candy Vale
3rd Storm Alert
Tristarc Stakes
1st Our Egyptian Raine 1 minute 24.5 seconds
2nd Infinite Grace
3rd Skewiff
Tristarc Stakes
1st Infinite Grace 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Forum Floozie
3rd Faith Hill
Tristarc Stakes
1st Reactive 1 minute 23.6 seconds
2nd Gentle Genius
3rd Taimana
Tristarc Stakes
1st Pernod 1 minute 24.2 seconds
2nd Kaemess
3rd Calm Smyzer
Tristarc Stakes
1st Lady Marion 1 minute 23 seconds
2nd Pace Invader
3rd Spice Doll