Tea Rose Stakes

The 2016 Tea Rose Stakes is a race for 3YO fillies held in September.

Tea Rose Stakes News

Thousand Guineas Ideal for Tea Rose Stakes Winner Foxplay

Thousand Guineas Ideal for Tea Rose Stakes Winner Foxplay

Talented filly Foxplay has underlined her class at Royal Randwick this afternoon; overcoming a black in the final straight to win the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1400m). Jumping from the gates well, jockey Hugh Bowman elected to settle Foxplay off the early pace of Plenty To Like, Skylight Glow and Bacarella; who ensured that…

The 2016 Tea Rose Stakes is a Group 2 race held mid-way through the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival in September.

Taking place on George Main Stakes Day at Royal Randwick, the Tea Rose Stakes is one of  five Group races held at the meeting. Also run on the day are the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m), Group 2 The Shorts (1100m), Group 2 Hill Stakes (1900m) and Group 3 Bill Ritchie Handicap (1400m).

A middle-distance race run over 1400m, the Tea Rose Stakes is for three-year-old fillies at set weights and is worth $175 000. A good lead-up race to the Tea Rose Stakes is the Group 2 Furious Stakes (1400m) two weeks before at Randwick. The Furious Stakes has proved a fantastic guide to the Tea Rose Stakes in recent years, with many fine fillies claiming victory in both races including Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005), Prisoner Of Love (2004), Shamekha (2003) and Victory Vein (2002).

Quality fillies that run well in the Tea Rose Stakes usually progress on to the premier fillies’ event at the carnival, the Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m) at Randwick on Epsom Handicap Day a fortnight later. The Tea Rose Stakes is an ideal preparation to this showcase race for females, with many punters placing a bet on the Tea Rose Stakes / Flight Stakes double. Fillies to win both races include Samantha Miss (2008), Cheeky Choice (2006), Ha Ha (2001) and Unworldy (2000).

2016 Tea Rose Stakes
Date: 17th September, 2016, 2016
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 1400m
Conditions: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights w Penalties
Weights: 55.5kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175 000
Inaugurated: 1980

2016 Tea Rose Stakes Field

The 2016 Tea Rose Stakes field of final acceptances and barrier draw were released on Wednesday September 14 and features 11 three-year-old fillies including the early favourite Foxplay.

Check out the official 2016 Tea Rose Stakes Final Field & Barrier Draw in the table below complete with the latest Tea Rose Stakes odds provided by Ladbrokes.com.au.

2016 Tea Rose Stakes Nominations

The 2016 Tea Rose Stakes nominations were released by Racing NSW on Monday September 12 and feature 13 hopefuls led by Chris Waller’s Furious Stakes winner Foxplay.

Check out the full 2016 Tea Rose Stakes Nominations now.

Tea Rose Stakes History

First run in 1980, the inaugural winner of the Tea Rose Stakes was Dark Eclipse. It began as a Listed race run over 1400m but soon gained Group 3 status in 1983. The race distance was increased in 1985 to 1500m when the Tea Rose Stakes became a Group 2 event. From 1990 – 1991 the race was run over the increased distance of 1550m before reverting back to 1500m in 1992. In 2007 the race was not held due to equine influenza. From 2013 onwards, the Tea Rose Stakes has been raced over 1400m as opposed to the previous 1500m.

Three top class fillies have managed to win the Furious Stakes / Tea Rose Stakes / Flight Stakes treble, they are Unwordly (2000), Danglissa (1999) and Sunline (1998).

Tea Rose Stakes Records
Race Record (at current 1500m distance): 1:28.62 set by Sunline in 1998.

Recent Tea Rose Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Tea Rose Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Foxplay 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Skylight Glow
3rd Quick Feet
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Pearls 1 minute 24.44 seconds
2nd Honesta
3rd Kimberley Star
Tea Rose Stakes
1st First Seal 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Winx
3rd Earthquake
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Guelph 1 minute 22.1 seconds
2nd Arabian Gold
3rd Bound For Earth
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Longport 1 minute 29.33 seconds
2nd Norzita
3rd Jade Marauder
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Streama 1 minute 30.31 seconds
2nd Pane In The Glass
3rd Florentina
Tea Rose Stakes
1st More Strawberries 1 minute 29.72 seconds
2nd Parables
3rd Ambers Waltz
Tea Rose Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 28.7 seconds
2nd Melito
3rd Deer Valley
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Samantha Miss 1 minute 30.61 seconds
2nd Kimillsy
3rd Glowlamp
Tea Rose Stakes
Race Not Held  
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Cheeky Choice 1 minute 30.01 seconds
2nd Gallant Tess
3rd My Lady’s Chamber
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Mnemosyne 1 minute 32.19 seconds
2nd Fashions Afield
3rd Sydney Owner
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Prisoner Of Love 1 minute 29.48 seconds
2nd Wager
3rd Covertly
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Shamekha 1 minute 30.01 seconds
2nd Unearthly
3rd Miss Ivy
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Victory Vein 1 minute 28.95 seconds
2nd Ms Bowie
3rd Quiet As
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Ha Ha 1 minute 29.78 seconds
2nd Lady Cay
3rd Hosannah
Tea Rose Stakes
1st Unwordly 1 minute 30.17 seconds
2nd Dynamic Love
3rd Lady Mulan