Furious Stakes

The Group 2 2017 Furious Stakes is a set weight race for three year old fillies held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney. Held in early September during the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival, the 1200m event is worth $175,000 in prize money.

Many fillies will first race in the Silver Shadow Stakes held two weeks earlier at Warwick Farm, while the better performing fillies will then advance to the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes (1500m) held at Rosehill Gardens and then the Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m) over the mile at Randwick on Epsom Handicap Day.

The Furious Stakes 2017 will be run on Saturday September 2, 2017.

Furious Stakes
Date: September 2, 2017
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO Fillies – Set Weights of 56kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $175,000

2017 Furious Stakes Field

The 2017 Furious Stakes field was released on Wednesday, August 31 and features Quezette Stakes winner I Am A Star – the filly also accepted for a Moonee Valley race on the same day.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11302×1 FORMALITY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Kerrin McEvoy 6 56kg 84
2 3x4113x WHISPERED SECRET Kris Lees Glyn Schofield 2 56kg 82
3 1x1x3 CHAMPAGNE CUDDLES Bjorn Baker Tye Angland 8 56kg 77
4 1x136x5 SEANNIE Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Tim Clark 4 56kg 71
5 425×12 ALIZEE James Cummings Hugh Bowman 1 56kg 78
6 52213x JOYFILLY OURS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Joshua Parr 3 56kg 82
7 31×5 I AM EXCITED David Pfieffer Corey Brown 5 56kg 69
8 21×3 DEVOLVING Ron Quinton Andrew Adkins (a) 7 56kg 67

2017 Furious Stakes Nominations

The 2017 Furious Stakes nominations were released on Monday August 29 and featured plenty of classy three-year-old fillies including Chris Waller’s Silver Shadow Stakes winner Omei Sword and I Am A Star coming off a Melbourne win in the Quezette Stakes.

# Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Penalty Hcp Rating
1 11302×1 FORMALITY F 3 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 1 56kg 84
2 15195×4 ONE MORE HONEY F 3 John P Thompson 2 56kg 78
3 3x4113x WHISPERED SECRET F 3 Kris Lees 3 56kg 82
4 1x1x3 CHAMPAGNE CUDDLES F 3 Bjorn Baker 4 56kg 77
5 42x31x9 I’LL HAVE A BIT F 3 John McArdle 5 56kg 71
6 1x136x5 SEANNIE F 3 Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young 6 56kg 71
7 425×12 ALIZEE F 3 James Cummings 7 56kg 78
8 52213x JOYFILLY OURS (NZ) F 3 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 8 56kg 82
9 31×5 I AM EXCITED F 3 David Pfieffer 9 56kg 69
10 11 REGIMEN F 3 James Cummings 10 56kg 69
11 2x2348x MEMENTO F 3 Anthony & Edward Cummings 11 56kg 65
12 21×3 DEVOLVING F 3 Ron Quinton 12 56kg 67
13 2×31 ACQUME F 3 Brad Widdup 13 56kg 64

Check out the full 2017 Furious Stakes nominations now.

Furious Stakes History

Originally a Listed race, the Furious Stakes became a Group 3 race between 1995 and 2004 until it was elevated to Group 2 status.

The Silver Shadow Stakes/Furious Stakes double has been won by Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005) and Victory Vein (2002), while the Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes double has been won by Samantha Miss (2008), Mnemosyne (2005), Prisoner Of Love (2004), Shamekha (2003) and Victory Vein (2002).

Accomplishing the Furious Stakes/Tea Rose Stakes/Flight Stakes treble is a hard victory but has there have been three successful fillies including Unwordly (2000), Danglissa (1999) and Sunline (1998).

The fastest race time was recorded in 2009 when Melito crossed the finish line in 1 minute 21.54 seconds. The slowest time was by Belle Jamie in 1978 with 1 minute 29 seconds. Between 2001 and 2012, the race was run over 1400m. From 2013 onwards it has been contested over 1200m.

Recent Furious Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Furious Stakes
1st Formality 1 minute 9.9 seconds
2nd Champagne Cuddles
3rd I Am Excited
Furious Stakes
1st Foxplay 1 minute 12.5 seconds
2nd Bacarella
3rd Global Glamour
Furious Stakes
1st Speak Fondly 1 minute 10.64 seconds
2nd Perignon
3rd Ottoman
Furious Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 11.99 seconds
2nd Alpha Miss
3rd Earthquake
Furious Stakes
1st Bound For Earth 1 minute 9.07 seconds
2nd Guelph
3rd Thump
Furious Stakes
1st Dear Demi 1 minute 22.95 seconds
2nd Meidung
3rd Jade Marauder
Furious Stakes
1st Streama 1 minute 25.0 seconds
2nd Florentina
3rd Detours
Furious Stakes
1st More Strawberries 1 minute 27.08 seconds
2nd Divorces
3rd Parables
Furious Stakes
1st Melito 1 minute 21.54 seconds
2nd Hurtle Myrtle
3rd Lovemelikearock
Furious Stakes
1st Samantha Miss 1 minute 26.21 seconds
2nd Love And Kisses
3rd Portillo
Furious Stakes
Race Not Held  
Furious Stakes
1st Just Dancing 1 minute 26.58 seconds
2nd My Lady’s Chamber
3rd Gallant Tess
Furious Stakes
1st Mnemosyne 1 minute 22.56 seconds
2nd Media
3rd Permissive
Furious Stakes
1st Prisoner of Love 1 minute 23.06 seconds
2nd Wager
3rd Our Sweet Moss
Furious Stakes
1st Shamekha 1 minute 22.36 seconds
2nd Regimental Gal
3rd Spurcent
Furious Stakes
1st Victory Vein 1 minute 24.22 seconds
2nd Royal Purler
3rd Lavishly
Furious Stakes
1st Moonflute 1 minute 25.13 seconds
2nd Hosannah
3rd Ha Ha
Furious Stakes
1st Unworldly 1 minute 22.56 seconds
2nd Money Begets Money
3rd Preserve

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final fie...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

A win by English in 2018 Kings...

A win by English in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup could secure an Everest slot

Doomben 10,000 winner English could be racing for a slot in the 2018 The...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stake...

BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes nominations: Waller’s trio top 3 in betting

The Chris Waller trained two year ods  The Autumn Sun, Zousain and Lean Mean...

Waller contemplating blinkers ...

Waller contemplating blinkers for 2018 Queensland Oaks favourite Youngstar

Trainer Chris Waller will decide before final acceptance time on Wednesday...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field