Underwood Stakes

The 2017 Underwood Stakes will be held at Caulfield on Sunday October 1st, the same day the NRL Grand Final takes place in Sydney.

Underwood Stakes News

Caulfield Cup Horses Head 2017 Underwood Stakes Nominations

Caulfield Cup Horses Head 2017 Underwood Stakes Nominations

A host of potential Caulfield Cup horses make-up the Underwood Stakes 2017 nominations for the spring staying showdown held this Sunday at Caulfield Racecourse. Punters are treated to three Group 1 race meetings across the footy Grand Finals long weekend including in Melbourne on Sunday for Underwood Stakes Day. The feature race on the card…

The Underwood Stakes 2017 is a Group 1 race run during the renowned Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival in late September or early October on the Sunday of the NRL Grand Final (held in Sydney). The feature event of Underwood Stakes Day at Caulfield Racecourse, this 1800m race is run under weight-for-age conditions and is worth $750,000 in prize money.

Key lead-up races to this event that Underwood Stakes runners may come via include the Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes (1600m) at Moonee Valley, the  Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) at Flemington a fortnight before and the Memsie Stakes (1400m) in August. So You Think (2010) was the last horse to complete the Memsie Stakes – Underwood Stakes double without a run in between. All of these quality weight-for-age Group races may be used as preparation for the Underwood and then the more lucrative and prestigious races held later in the carnival.

The Underwood Stakes is the first weight-for-age race run over a distance greater than 1400m and provides horses with an excellent opportunity to step up their race distance in preparation for the 2000m and 2400m events to follow. This race is definitely worth keeping an eye on as it has been a solid guide to the Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate in recent years.

This season the Underwood Stakes 2017 is set to take place on Sunday 1 October , 2017.

2017 Underwood Stakes
Date: Sunday 1 October , 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1800m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $750,000
Inaugurated: 1924

2017 Underwood Stakes Betting

Horses that ran well in lead-up races like Moonee Valley’s Dato’ Tan Chin Nan Stakes and the Memsie Stakes dominate the Underwood Stakes betting markets each spring. Favourites at the top of the Underwood Stakes odds on race day however have a poor recent record with the only one to salute for the punters since So You Think (2010) being Black Heart Bart (2016).

The season’s top Underwood Stakes 2017 odds and betting market links to Ladbrokes.com.au will be provided below as soon as released.

2017 Underwood Stakes Field

Each season the Underwood Stakes field attracts a gun line-up of potential Cox Plate and Caulfield Cup horses coming off lead-up runs in races including the Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes or Flemington’s Makybe Diva Stakes. In 2016 Black Heart Bart improved on a lead-up second in the Makybe Diva Stakes over the mile to win the Underwood Stakes.

The official 2017 Underwood Stakes field of final acceptances will be released on the Wednesday leading up to Underwood Stakes Day and listed in full below along with the Underwood Stakes barrier draw.

2017 Underwood Stakes Nominations

The 2017 Underwood Stakes nominations are released by Racing Victoria on the Monday of race week and will be published in full below once announced.

In 2017 the Underwood Stakes early entries attracted 16 spring staying types including Dato’ Tan Chin Nam Stakes winning mare Bonneval who heads towards the Caulfield Cup over the mile and a half on October 21.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 1x8400x725 ABBEY MARIE M 5 Michael Kent 102
2 0x0D71x000 AMRALAH (IRE) H 8 Robert Hickmott 101
3 211x75x323 BLACK HEART BART G 7 Darren Weir 115
4 x5P31111x1 BONNEVAL (NZ) M 4 Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman 108
5 181x37x014 GAILO CHOP (FR) G 7 Darren Weir 110
6 70x6713x71 HARDHAM H 4 David Brideoake 101
7 23x2822x12 HARTNELL (GB) G 7 James Cummings 115
8 10x8747x46 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) G 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 106
9 33x5126x69 INFERENCE H 4 Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 105
10 2894053443 JACQUINOT BAY G 10 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 92
11 00x0x770x0 MAGICOOL G 6 Tony Romeo 88
12 3×68321983 PETROLOGY G 6 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 93
13 1231x2x212 SAMOVARE M 4 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 90
14 0312612×05 SINGLE GAZE M 5 Nick Olive 108
15 x4030x2283 SO SI BON H 4 Robbie Laing 95
16 01121x5x76 VENTURA STORM (IRE) H 5 David & B Hayes & T Dabernig 106

Underwood Stakes History

Whittier was the inaugural Underwood Stakes winner in 1924 and followed up this success claiming victory the next year as well. The event began as a principal race run over eight furlongs. For one year in 1943 the distance was decreased to seven furlongs, but went back to the original length the next year. That year, in 1944, there was two runnings of the race, with both Amana and Tea Cake seeing victory. In 1949 the length was increased to nine furlongs and then a few years later in 1954 another distance jump saw the event raced over 10 furlongs. With Australia’s adoption of the metric system, the race was converted to 2000m in 1972 and not long after in 1979 the event was elevated to Group 1 status. In 1994, the distance was cut to 1800m and has remained the same through until today.

The Underwood Stakes has had a number of elite horses claim victory including Phar Lap (1931), Rain Lover (1969), Bonecrusher (1986), Octagonal (1996), Tie The Knot (1998), Northerly (2001 & 2002) and Weekend Hussler (2008). Underwood Stakes results play a major role in form understanding for punters who follow the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Underwood Stakes results and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Underwood Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Underwood Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Underwood Stakes
1st Black Heart Bart 1 minute 50.64 seconds
2nd He Or She
3rd Lucia Valentina
Underwood Stakes
1st Mourinho 1 minute 48.83 seconds
2nd Fawkner
3rd The Cleaner
Underwood Stakes
1st Foreteller 1 minute 50.25 seconds
2nd Happy Trails
3rd Crackerjack King
Underwood Stakes
1st It’s A Dundeel 1 minute 54.70 seconds
2nd Atlantic Jewel
3rd Dear Demi
Underwood Stakes
1st Ocean Park 1 minute 51.40 seconds
2nd Voila Ici
3rd December Draw
Underwood Stakes
1st Lion Tamer 1 minute 50.03 seconds
2nd Southern Speed
3rd Midas Touch
Underwood Stakes
1st So You Think 1 minute 49.54 seconds
2nd Dariana
3rd Metal Bender
Underwood Stakes
1st Heart Of Dreams 1 minute 49.5 seconds
2nd Whobegotyou
3rd Predatory Pricer
Underwood Stakes
1st Weekend Hussler 1 minute 49.8 seconds
2nd Pompeii Ruler
3rd Littorio
Underwood Stakes
1st Rubiscent 1 minute 49 seconds
2nd Miss Finland
3rd Marasco
Underwood Stakes
1st El Segundo 1 minute 49.5 seconds
2nd Polar Bear
3rd Molotov
Underwood Stakes
1st Perlin 1 minute 52.7 seconds
2nd Our Smoking Joe
3rd She’s Justa Tad
Underwood Stakes
1st Elvstroem 1 minute 50 seconds
2nd She’s Archie
3rd Delzao
Underwood Stakes
1st Mummify 1 minute 49.5 seconds
2nd Grey Song
3rd Aint Seen Nothing
Underwood Stakes
1st Northerly 1 minute 48.9 seconds
2nd Magical Miss
3rd Don Eduardo
Underwood Stakes
1st Northerly 1 minute 50.2 seconds
2nd Universal Prince
3rd Kaapstad Way
Underwood Stakes
1st Oliver Twist 1 minute 47.6 seconds
2nd Shoozi Please
3rd Kaapstad Way