Victoria Derby Day

DEPOSIT $100 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $50 bet with


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $25 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers

deposit $250 to get


*In Bonus-bets

View Offers



Victoria Derby Day is the first of four meetings run at Flemington Racecourse during the annual Melbourne Cup Carnival.

VRC Derby Day runs on the Saturday before Melbourne Cup Day, held on the first Tuesday of November, and features all-Group racing.

All nine Victoria Derby Day races hold Group status making it the only meeting in Australia where every event is a Group race and is dubbed a day for racing purists.

Four Group 1 races headline the Victoria Derby Day program with the meeting’s marquee race being the time-honoured Group 1 $1.5 million Victoria Derby (2500m) for three-year-olds.

Outside of the Group 1 VRC Derby Day races a key event is the Group 3 Lexus Stakes (2500m) offering the winner a ballot exemption into the official Melbourne Cup Field.

The official Victoria Derby Day flower is the cornflower.

2017 Victoria Derby Day will take place on Saturday November 4, 2017 at Flemington Racecourse, and the official VRC Derby Day 2017 schedule and race program will be published below once released by Racing Victoria.

2017 Victoria Derby Day Schedule

Race No. Time (AEDT) Status Prizemoney Race Name Distance Conditions
1 11:45am Group 3 $200,000 The Carbine Club Stakes 1600m 3YO SW+P
2 12:20pm Group 2 $300,000 G.H. Mumm Wakeful Stakes 2000m 3YOF SW+P
3 1:00pm Group 3 $200,000 Skip Sprint 1100m 4YO+UP M SW+P
4 1:40pm Group 3 $300,000 Lexus Stakes 2500m QLTY HCP
5 2:25pm Group 1 $1,000,000 Coolmore Stud Stakes 1200m 3YO SW
6 3:05pm Group 1 $500,000 Myer Classic 1600m F&M WFA
7 3:50pm Group 1 $1,500,000 AAMI Victoria Derby 2500m 3YO SW
8 4:35pm Group 1 $1,000,000 Kennedy Mile 1600m QLTY HCP
9 5:20pm Group 2 $300,000 Salinger Stakes 1200m HCP

2017 Victoria Derby Day Races


Spring Racing

The Everest 2018 Ultimate Goal...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field ...

Capacity 2018 Perth Cup Field Released

Ascot Racecourse in W.A. hosts one of the summer’s highlight races on New...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney R...

2018 The Everest Next Sydney Race for Viddora

Ace young South Australian trainer Lloyd Kennewell has confirmed his Group 1...

Vega Magic Injured But Still S...

Vega Magic Injured But Still Scaling The Everest 2018

A freak accident in the paddock last month has ruled the Lindsay Park-trained...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 Geo...

Snoopy Could Miss Wet 2017 George Moore Stakes

Heavy midweek rainfall in Brisbane has put the George Moore Stakes 2017 run of...

Horse Racing Today

Trapeze Artist heads up 2018 E...

Thronum to chase G1 glory afte...

Thronum to chase G1 glory after 2018 Australia Stakes win

Lindsay Park co-trainer Tom Dabernig will now step Thronum up to Group 1...

Pierata heads up final field f...

Pierata heads up final field for 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The in-form Greg Hickman trained Pierata heads up a final field of sixteen...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emerge...

Full field of 16 plus 5 emergencies for 2018 Magic Millions 2yo Classic

The David Atkins trained Jonker will carry the number one saddlecloth in the...

Pierata chasing huge payday in...

Pierata chasing huge payday in 2018 Magic Millions 3yo Guineas

The Greg Hickman trained three year old Pierata is in the running for a huge...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field