Ballarat Cup

The 2015 Ballarat Cup is a Listed staying event held towards the end of November at Ballarat Racecourse.

Ballarat Cup News

Charlevoix Considered for 2016 Zipping Classic

Charlevoix Considered for 2016 Zipping Classic

The Zipping Classic 2016 at the tail-end of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival is shaping up as a nice target for Michael Kent’s lightly-raced stallion Charlevoix.

Charlevoix is tracking towards a possible November run in the 2016 Zipping Classic at Ladbrokes Park. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A now four-year-old son of New Approach, the Cranbourne-trained Charlevoix has had ...

The 2015 Ballarat Cup is a 2200m event held at Dowling Forest Racecourse during mid to late November each year.

A listed event, the Ballarat Cup is worth a very healthy $200,000. It is held under open handicap conditions, and tends to attract some pretty solid talent each year.

The Ballarat Cup tends to attract a fairly varied field of runners each year. Some lead-up races worth watching include other cup events such as the Kyneton Cup or the Bendigo Cup. Many country runners, and even some metro types, often contest several country cups as part of their campaign. Other staying events during the Melbourne Cup Carnival are also often contested by horses on their way to the Ballarat Cup.

The Ballarat Cup represents the end of the spring racing carnival in Victoria, as it’s the last black-type meet and the last feature day.

The 2015 Ballarat Cup will be held on November 21st.

Ballarat Cup 2015
Date: November 21st, 2015
Racecourse: Ballarat Racecourse
Distance: 2200m
Race Type: Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $200,000

2015 Ballarat Cup Field

The Ballarat Cup field usually attracts quite a few metro runners from Melbourne, which is only around 100km away. Sometimes the odd handy runner from Sydney will head down to run in the Ballarat Cup field. Although it’s a country race, the Ballarat Cup field is by no means largely made up of country runners. The standard is high, so only genuinely talented stayers can contest it.

The 2015 Ballarat Cup field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 084×750920 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller 6 60kg 105
2 105216×530 INDEX LINKED (GB) Chris Waller Ben Melham 10 59.5kg 104
3 x684x4x803 PRINCE CHERI (FR) David Vandyke Mark Zahra 13 57kg 99
4 2124138110 DIGITALISM John Sadler Michael Dee (a) 12 56kg 97
5 3755×00774 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir 5 55kg 95
6 6184183005 CRAFTY CRUISER Bryce Stanaway Jye McNeil (a) 4 55kg 95
7 4651060×00 TANBY Mick Cerchi Dean Holland 17 55kg 95
8 21143×9755 TOOLEYBUC KID Darren Weir 15 55kg 95
9 146×074440 MAYGROVE Murray Baker Patrick Moloney (a) 9 54.5kg 94
10 3510×08720 PONDAROSA MISS (NZ) Jason Bridgman James Winks 3 54.5kg 98
11 08712×0000 SONNTAG Henry Dwyer Chris Symons 16 54.5kg 94
12 x452x78624 SYSMO (FR) Tony McEvoy Luke Currie 18 54kg 92
13 30×4098035 DON DOREMO (NZ) Robbie Laing Craig Robertson 8 54kg 90
14 5182424855 LORD DURANTE Simone Ferchie Darren Gauci 11 54kg 89
15 15443×5063 MUJADALE Paul A Jones Stephen Baster 2 54kg 88
16 31532×8444 UNGRATEFUL ELLEN Robert Smerdon Craig Newitt 7 54kg 85
17 x049429711 ZAYAM (FR) Matthew Smith Vlad Duric 1 54kg 80
18 x0x7872447 WALES Richard Laming 14 54kg 72

2015 Ballarat Cup Nominations

The Ballarat Cup nominations draw on horses from a broad variety of preparations. Some runners come from Melbourne stables and have previously contested many events throughout their spring campaign prior to entering the Ballarat Cup nominations. Other horses might be local runners, who have been entered into the Ballarat Cup nominations in hopes of having a crack at a black-type victory.

The 2015 Ballarat Cup nominations will be provided below.

Ballarat Cup History

The Ballarat Turf Club was established in 1854, making it one of the oldest racing organisations in Victoria. For some time now, Ballarat Cup Day has been the biggest meet of the year at Dowling Forest Racecourse, often drawing almost 20,000 people.

Not too long ago, the Ballarat Cup occupied a Wednesday slot as a mid-week event. However, it was moved to Sunday in 2011 in order to allow greater attendance and accommodate more metro runners. As of 2014, the Ballarat Cup has been run on a Saturday. It is the only black-type meet in Victoria and NSW on that day, so attracts considerable punting attention. The Group 1 Railway Stakes and Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes are held over at Ascot in Perth on the same day.

Notable Ballarat Cup winners include Pressmans Choice (1989), Magical Storm (1995), Aquiver (2001) and Daka’s Gem (2008). Ballarat Cup results, place getters and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Ballarat Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Ballarat Cup
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Ballarat Cup
1st Mujadale 2 minutes 17.8 seconds
2nd At First Sight
3rd Fat Al
Ballarat Cup
1st The Offer 2 minutes 25.1 seconds
2nd Pelicano
3rd Hurdy Gurdy Man
Ballarat Cup
1st King Diamond 2 minutes 18.4 seconds
2nd Pelicano
3rd Exceptionally
Ballarat Cup
1st Domesky 2 minutes 19.2 seconds
2nd Rothera
3rd Sean Baile Mor
Ballarat Cup
1st My Bentley 2 minutes 17.0 seconds
2nd Kidnapped
3rd Allanthus
Ballarat Cup
1st Itstheone 2 minutes 14.4 seconds
2nd Gallions Reach
3rd Davcon
Ballarat Cup
1st Daka’s Gem 2 minutes 21.8 seconds
2nd Sentire
3rd Banana Man
Ballarat Cup
1st Sentire 2 minutes 23.9 seconds
2nd Bowl Along
3rd Red Riviera
Ballarat Cup
1st Rubijon 2 minutes 17.3 seconds
2nd Upstaged
3rd Lancettier
Ballarat Cup
1st Command N Conquer 2 minutes 17.4 seconds
2nd Maneroo Lue
3rd Steelworker
Ballarat Cup
1st Just The Part 2 minutes 15.4 seconds
2nd Irish Crusader
3rd Demerger
Ballarat Cup
1st Western Waters 2 minutes 16.2 seconds
2nd Delvecchio
3rd Dance On Wood
Ballarat Cup
1st Varsilayos 2 minutes 15.0 seconds
2nd As You Would
3rd Sale Of Century
Ballarat Cup
1st Aquiver 2 minutes 14.0 seconds
2nd Varsilayos
3rd Adolescence
Ballarat Cup
1st Royal Caliph 2 minutes 18.5 seconds
2nd Luther
3rd Laebeel