Eclipse Stakes

The 2015 Eclipse Stakes is a Group 3 event held at Sandown Racecourse.

Eclipse Stakes News

Casino Dancer Takes Out Eclipse Stakes

Casino Dancer Takes Out Eclipse Stakes

Five-year-old Casino Dancer has posted a big upset at Sandown this afternoon; completing a perfectly timed performance to beat Puccini in the dying stages of the Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m).

Casino Dancer beat a talented field to the line in the Group 3 Eclipse Stakes this afternoon. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos

Allocated the awkward barrier 13, Casino Dancer jumped ...

The 2015 Eclipse Stakes is a Group 3 event held at Sandown Racecourse towards the end of the Spring Racing Carnival.

Held under quality handicap conditions, the Eclipse Stakes is an 1800m test with $150,000 prize money on offer.

The Eclipse Stakes is held on one of the biggest race days of the year at Sandown Racecourse. Also featured on the race program are the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m), Group 2 Sandown Guineas (1600m), Group 3 Sandown Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Summoned Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes (1300m) and three listed events, including the Sandown Cup (3200m).

The Eclipse Stakes is often targeted by horses who are towards the end of their spring racing campaign. The Listed Melbourne Cup Day Plate (1800m), run under handicap conditions at Flemington around a week and a half before can sometimes act as a lead up race. Some mares come via the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes (2000m) held at Flemington a week before.

Following their run in the Eclipse Stakes there are a number of avenues horses can pursue. Many might head to the paddock, while some might continue to seek a few placings to round off their spring campaign.

The 2015 Eclipse Stakes will be run on November 14th.

Eclipse Stakes 2015
Date: November 14th, 2015
Track: Sandown Racecourse
Distance: 1800m
Race Type: Open Quality
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2015 Eclipse Stakes Field

The Eclipse Stakes field is usually contested by horses who are nearing the end of their spring campaign. As a result, many of the runners in the Eclipse Stakes field are at peak fitness and have provided quite a bit of form for punters to follow. In the past, the Eclipse Stakes field has featured some top quality horses, and the winner is almost always a very handy type.

The 2015 Eclipse Stakes field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 18040×0008 PUCCINI (NZ) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 16 58.5kg 102
2 840×332009 RUDY Helen Page Glen Boss 12 58.5kg 102
3 2789×27274 JACQUINOT BAY David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Michael Walker 9 57.5kg 100
4 0x48504410 DESERT JEUNEY Nigel Blackiston Damian Lane 8 57kg 99
5 2677×02742 MALICE John O’Shea James McDonald 6 57kg 99
6 1375×17145 WORTHY CAUSE John Zielke Luke Dittman (a) 1 56.5kg 98
7 6212413811 DIGITALISM John Sadler Mark Zahra 2 56kg 97
8 x5x95x0x00 CALVIN WILLIAMS (FR) Darren Weir Kerrin McEvoy 4 55.5kg 96
9 2504×05025 SCREAM MACHINE Robert Smerdon Chris Parnham 7 54.5kg 94
10 44550×4351 TRISTRAM’S SUN (NZ) Robbie Laing Vlad Duric 14 54.5kg 94
11 7522505133 CASINO DANCER Mike Van Gestel James Winks 13 54kg 95
12 2101×01221 SLATE ON EDGE Brett Thompson Dwayne Dunn 3 54kg 92
13 x31687x333 GARUD (IRE) Michael Moroney Ryan Maloney 11 54kg 90
14 17x86233x8 CADILLAC MOUNTAIN Peter G Moody Daniel Stackhouse 5 54kg 88
15 x23x11x5x8 ASSIGN (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ms Michelle Payne 18 54kg 82
16 116×577112 LORD ATHENAEUM (NZ) Stuart Webb Patrick Moloney (a) 15 54kg 81
17e 3216×112 PLOT THE COURSE Michael Trotter Steven King 10 54kg 78
18e 2586x067x7 DURNFORD Quinton Scott Jordan Mallyon (late alt) 17 54kg 78

2015 Eclipse Stakes Nominations

The Eclipse Stakes nominations draw horses from stables around the entire country, but the majority hail from local barns. Many horses enter the Eclipse Stakes nominations as a last run or a last effort to secure some prize money and places. Although, there are often some genuinely quality horses among the Eclipse Stakes nominations.

The 2015 Eclipse Stakes nominations will be published here.

Eclipse Stakes History

The Eclipse Stakes has over the years acquired a reputation for quality fields and top notch winners.

The Eclipse Stakes race distance has changed a few times over the years, varying between 2100m and the current 1800m.

The 2013 Eclipse Stakes was held at Caulfield because Sandown was undergoing renovations. Prior to 2011, the Eclipse Stakes was held the week following the Zipping (Sandown) Classic. However, it was moved in order to create a significant feature race card on Zipping Classic Day.

Once a Principal Race, the Eclipse Stakes was given listed status at the introduction of the Group system. It held that until 1997, when it was upgraded to a Group 3 event.

The Eclipse Stakes was not held for two years, 1942 and 1943.

Notable Eclipse Stakes winners include Balkan Prince (1937), Morse Code (1950, 1952), Sky Call (1971), Pride Of Century (1981), Innocent King (1994), Fields Of Omagh (2001) and Mouro (2013). Eclipse Stakes results, place getters and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Eclipse Stakes History

Year Place Horse Time
Eclipse Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Eclipse Stakes
1st Casino Dancer 1 minute 48.0 seconds
2nd Puccini
3rd Worthy Cause
Eclipse Stakes
1st Zabisco 1 minute 49.7 seconds
2nd Pheidon
3rd Extra Zero
Eclipse Stakes
1st Mouro 1 minute 50.3 seconds
2nd Rain Drum
3rd Bel Thor
Eclipse Stakes
1st Eclair Surprise 1 minute 49.6 seconds
2nd Tai Tai Tess
3rd Shewan
Eclipse Stakes
1st Rothera 1 minute 52.1 seconds
2nd Folding Gear
3rd Ulundi
Eclipse Stakes
1st Viking Hero 1 minute 55.2 seconds
2nd Davcon
3rd Niblick

Eclipse Stakes

1st Bashful Girl 1 minute 49.8 seconds
2nd Rose Syrah
3rd Down Under Boy

Eclipse Stakes

1st Eskimo Dan 2 minutes 15.5 seconds
2nd Instructor
3rd Sentire

Eclipse Stakes

1st Like It Is 2 minutes 50.4 seconds
2nd Shinzig
3rd Hidden Strings

Eclipse Stakes

1st Utility 2 minutes 52.0 seconds
2nd Douro Valley
3rd Flash Trick

Eclipse Stakes

1st Aqua D’Amore 2 minutes 14.5 seconds
2nd Stamen
3rd Wild Classic

Eclipse Stakes

1st Requisite 1 minute 49.6 seconds
2nd Fonome
3rd Caveat Emptor

Eclipse Stakes

1st Zazzman 2 minutes 03.8 seconds
2nd Chairman’s Choice
3rd You Little Beaut

Eclipse Stakes

1st Damaschino 2 minutes 02.1 seconds
2nd Another Warrior
3rd British Buska

Eclipse Stakes

1st Fields Of Omagh 2 minutes 11.1 seconds
2nd Thong Classic
3rd Aquiver

Eclipse Stakes

1st Tickle My 2 minutes 07.0 seconds
2nd The Collector
3rd Aka Bilk