Festival Stakes

The Group 3 Festival Stakes 2017 is run at Rosehill Gardens during the Sydney Summer Racing Carnival in early December.

Festival Stakes News

Japonisme Out To Find Way in Festival Stakes 2017

Japonisme Out To Find Way in Festival Stakes 2017

Jockey Glyn Schofield has described Chris Waller’s former Group 1 winner Japonisme as “lost” but hopes to turns things around on the galloper this Saturday in the 2017 Festival Stakes. Schofield partners the Choisir gelding under race conditions for the first time since a failed ninth to Tivaci in Randwick’s Group 1 All Aged Stakes…

The 2017 Festival Stakes is a Group 3 race run at Rosehill Gardens in early December during the Sydney Summer Racing Carnival.

The quality handicap race is run over 1500m and offers $150,000 in prize money. Horses running in the Festival Stakes field can come via a host of different lead-ups including Melbourne races run over the spring such as the Group 3 Chatham Stakes (1400m) at Flemington on Emirates Stakes Day.

The Festival Stakes serves as a nice lead-up race to the Group 2 $250,000 Villiers Stakes (1600m) run over the mile at Royal Randwick a fortnight later.

The Festival Stakes 2017 is set to run on Saturday Saturday December 2, 2017 .

2017 Festival Stakes
Date: Saturday December 2, 2017
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Festival Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Festival Stakes odds will be listed below with pricing links to Ladbrokes.com.au for you to lock in your Festival Stakes Tips at the right price this summer racing season.

2017 Festival Stakes Field

The Festival Stakes field attracts a diverse line-up of summer gallopers many of which are heading towards a run in the season’s Villiers Stakes over the Randwick mile and is released on the Wednesday before the race.

The official 2017 Festival Stakes field and barriers will be published below as soon as announced by Racing NSW.

The Festival Stakes 2017 Final Field attracted 11 summer gallopers led by November Handicap winner Cabeza De Vaca chasing his sixth win on the trot. Red Excitement carries the 59.5kg top weight and comes down from the 62kg he carted to fifth in the same lead-up race, while Federal for Godolphin is the other best out of the November Handicap having run third carrying 2 kilos more than his 55.5kg allocation for Saturday’s rematch at Rosehill.

Read more on the 2017 Festival Stakes Field & Favourites now.

# Form (Last 5) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 27805 RED EXCITEMENT Gerald Ryan Brenton Avdulla 11 59.5kg 105
2 0x786 JAPONISME Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 1 58.5kg 103
3 5×690 GOOD PROJECT Chris Waller Blake Shinn 6 57.5kg 101
4 11×11 CABEZA DE VACA Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott Ms Rachel King (a) 7 57kg 100
5 72274 MIGHTY LUCKY Fred Cowell Chris O’Brien 2 57kg 100
6 030×7 TESTASHADOW Gary Portelli Jason Collett 5 57kg 100
7 3×001 MOHER James Cummings Joshua Parr 10 56kg 98
8 73×53 FEDERAL James Cummings Tye Angland 3 55.5kg 97
9 x128x MISTER SEA WOLF (IRE) Chris Waller Tim Clark 4 54.5kg 95
10 41×06 SALSONIC Jason Coyle Peter Wells 8 53kg 89
11 x2137 CHALK Wendy Roche Andrew Adkins (a) 9 53kg 69

2017 Festival Stakes Nominations

The Festival Stakes nominations are taken the Monday prior to the race and are the first indication of what middle-distance gallopers will take to the track for the handicap clash in early December.

The 2017 Festival Stakes nominations attracted 12 early entries on Monday before being extended until 11:00am (AEDT) on 28/11/2017. The original Festival Stakes 2017 Nominations include the in-form November Handicap winner Cabeza De Vaca for last year’s winning trainers Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott who chases a sixth win on the trot. Federal (3rd) is the other best out of the November Handicap race, while trainer Chris Waller has four nominees including former Group 1 winning sprinter Japonisme.

# Form (Last 10) Horse Sex Age Trainer Hcp. Rating
1 32x2111x11 CABEZA DE VACA G 6 Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 100
2 8517×2137 CHALK G 4 Wendy Roche 69
3 3x63773x53 FEDERAL G 6 James Cummings 97
4 0472x5x690 GOOD PROJECT H 6 Chris Waller 101
5 650980×786 JAPONISME G 5 Chris Waller 103
6 162613107x LIAPARI (NZ) G 5 Chris Waller 89
7 7864×72274 MIGHTY LUCKY G 8 Fred Cowell 100
8 010x3x128x MISTER SEA WOLF (IRE) G 6 Chris Waller 95
9 x82433x001 MOHER G 5 James Cummings 98
10 255×427805 RED EXCITEMENT G 8 Gerald Ryan 105
11 36x3941x06 SALSONIC G 4 Jason Coyle 89
12 x1633030x7 TESTASHADOW G 6 Gary Portelli 100

Festival Stakes History

The Festival Stakes was first run in 1948 and won by Cragside. Since then a number of quality contenders have taken out the Sydney showdown including Headstrong (1994), Ike’s Dream (2004), Monton (2011) and I’m Imposing (2014).

The event has run at both Rosehill Racecourse as well as Canterbury Park and has also undergone a number of distance changes. It has been run over its current 1500m distance since 2008. It was inaugurated as a Principal race before gaining Listed status in 1979 – 2015. The Festival Stakes was elevated to a Group 3 race for the first time in 2016.

Recent Festival Stakes Winners

See below for the full list of Festival Stakes winners and results going back to 2000.

Year Place Horse Time
Festival Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Festival Stakes
1st Sweet Redemption 1 minute 29.63 seconds
2nd Hazzabeel
3rd Red Excitement
Festival Stakes
1st Mighty Lucky 1 minute 29.49 seconds
2nd It’s Somewhat
3rd Peace Force
Festival Stakes
1st I’m Imposing 1 minute 28.51 seconds
2nd Estonian Princess
3rd Strawberry Boy
Festival Stakes
1st White Sage 1 minute 30.0 seconds
2nd Terravista
3rd Alma’s Fury
Festival Stakes
1st Malavio 1 minute 28.72 seconds
2nd Monton
3rd Galah
Festival Stakes
1st Monton 1 minute 28.63 seconds
2nd Lightinthenite
3rd Viva Las
Festival Stakes
1st Race Not Run
Festival Stakes
1st Rabbuka 1 minute 28.72 seconds
2nd Parfumier
3rd Ahdashim
2008 (December)
Festival Stakes
1st Voice Commander 1 minute 29.25 seconds
2nd Synonym
3rd Theophorus
2008 (January)
Festival Stakes
1st Eremein 1 minute 33.92 seconds
2nd Lancaster Park
3rd Beauty Watch
Festival Stakes
1st Race Not Run
Festival Stakes
1st Utzon 1 minute 22.69 seconds
2nd Anwaar
3rd Real Strike
Festival Stakes
1st Spirit Of Tara 1 minute 24.83 seconds
2nd Our Apache
3rd Benedetti
Festival Stakes
1st Ike’s Dream 1 minute 21.82 seconds
2nd Sam Sung A Song
3rd Rinehart
Festival Stakes
1st This Manshood 1 minute 22.69 seconds
2nd Palladium Star
3rd Salagado
Festival Stakes
1st This Manshood 1 minute 23.98 seconds
2nd Gabfest
3rd Raw Instinct
Festival Stakes
1st Nanny Maroon 1 minute 22.35 seconds
2nd Play Station
3rd Osca Warrior
Festival Stakes
1st Adam 1 minute 17.02 seconds
2nd Mr. Innocent
3rd Steel City