Sandown Guineas

The 2015 Sandown Guineas is a Group 2 mile event held at Sandown Racecourse.

Sandown Guineas News

Crockett Winner Sweet Sherry to 2016 Sandown Guineas

Crockett Winner Sweet Sherry to 2016 Sandown Guineas

Co-trainer Troy Corstens has the Ladbrokes Sandown Guineas 2016 on the agenda for his smart filly Sweet Sherry who atoned for missing a Thousand Guineas run with a Cox Plate Day win in the Crockett Stakes.

The 2016 Ladbrokes Sandown Guineas is a target race for Crockett Stakes winning filly Sweet Sherry. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photo.

Corstens, who trains ...

The 2015 Sandown Guineas is a Group 2 race held at the very end of the prestigious Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival on Zipping Classic Day in November.

The meeting at Sandown Racecourse hosts five other group status races, the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m), Group 3 Sandown Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m), Group 3 Summoned Stakes (1500m) and Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes (1200m). There are also three listed events on the day, including the Sandown Cup (3200m).

The Sandown Guineas is a middle distance race run over 1600m and is for three-year-olds at set weights. The race offers lucrative stakes of $300,000. It is also the last quality group race for three-year-olds at set weights of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Horses competing in the Sandown Guineas may have come via a large number of quality events held throughout the carnival including the Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes (1600m) on Victoria Derby Day at Flemington.

The 2015 Sandown Guineas is a feature race of Zipping Classic Day on Saturday 14th November.

Sandown Guineas 2015
Date: 14th November, 2015
Track: Sandown Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Conditions: 3YO – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
Inaugurated: 1957

2015 Sandown Guineas Field

The Sandown Guineas field usually attracts a fairly healthy range of runners. It’s a very popular target for stronger three year olds following successful spring campaigns. Although it is only 1600m, three year olds who have previously contested longer events will also line up in the Sandown Guineas field.

The 2015 Sandown Guineas field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 2x131x4306 DAL CIELO (NZ) Murray Baker Mark Zahra 12 57kg 77
2 24111 MAHUTA Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 14 57kg 82
3 11x41x64 MARKY MARK Moira Murdoch Michael Walker 2 57kg 90
4 x321514332 DEMONSTRATE John O’Shea James McDonald 3 57kg 73
5 824×417738 GREDINGTON Pat Hyland Craig Newitt 1 57kg 69
6 5×41324452 PATCH ADAMS Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Steven Arnold 11 57kg 72
7 324×1624 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 13 57kg 67
8 19×86222 SEA OF TRANQUILITY Matt Laurie Luke Currie 15 57kg 66
9 443×1436 FLYING LIGHT David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Kerrin McEvoy 10 57kg 66
10 13 NGARIMU (NZ) Peter G Moody Glen Boss 7 57kg 66
11 4Dx5815 SHOCKAHOLIC Matt Laurie Chris Parnham 6 57kg 61
12 413×34161 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA Tony McEvoy Dwayne Dunn 5 55kg 77
13 x521x07696 THE GREY FLASH Robbie Laing Joe Bowditch 4 55kg 71
14 264×15 MAYSAM Mick Price Vlad Duric 8 55kg 63
15 1 ZAFIKI (NZ) Robert Smerdon Daniel Stackhouse 9 55kg 63

2015 Sandown Guineas Nominations

The Sandown Guineas nominations tend to draw a fairly broad variety of three year olds, although most of them are quite talented. The majority of three year olds that enter the Sandown Guineas nominations have had pretty decent spring campaigns and are looking to get their name further up in lights.

The 2015 Sandown Guineas nominations will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 2x131x4306 DAL CIELO (NZ) C 3 Murray Baker 1 57kg 77
2 24111 MAHUTA C 3 Darren Weir 2 57kg 82
3 11x41x64 MARKY MARK G 3 Moira Murdoch 3 57kg 90
4 413×34161 DON’T DOUBT MAMMA F 3 Tony McEvoy 4 55kg 77
5 x521x07696 THE GREY FLASH F 3 Robbie Laing 5 55kg 71
6 x321514332 DEMONSTRATE G 3 John O’Shea 6 57kg 73
7 5×41324452 PATCH ADAMS C 3 Terry & Karina O’Sullivan 7 57kg 72
8 824×417738 GREDINGTON C 3 Pat Hyland 8 57kg 69
9 324×1624 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) G 3 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 9 57kg 67
10 296159×334 QUEEN OF WANDS F 3 Clarry Conners 10 55kg 66
11 19×86222 SEA OF TRANQUILITY G 3 Matt Laurie 11 57kg 66
12 443×1436 FLYING LIGHT G 3 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 12 57kg 66
13 3×22 INDARRA (NZ) F 3 Robert Smerdon 13 55kg 66
14 118×78020 ASHLEE MARIE F 3 Richard Laming 14 55kg 64
15 138×46 IRADA F 3 Mick Price 15 55kg 67
16 13 NGARIMU (NZ) C 3 Peter G Moody 16 57kg 66
17 264×15 MAYSAM F 3 Mick Price 17 55kg 63
18 1 ZAFIKI (NZ) F 3 Robert Smerdon 18 55kg 63
19 4Dx5815 SHOCKAHOLIC G 3 Matt Laurie 19 57kg 61
20 85 ECLAIR SHADOW (NZ) C 3 Robbie Laing 20 57kg 57

Sandown Guineas History

First run in 1957, the inaugural winner of the Sandown Guineas was Orient. The event originated as a Principal race over eight furlongs and for two years in 1968 and 1969 it was run over 10 furlongs before reverting back to the original distance. Up until 1967 it was a fillies only race and from its inauguration until 1964 the event was held at Caulfield racecourse before being moved to Sandown. A few years later when Australia adopted the metric system the length was converted to 1600m. The Sandown Guineas gained its Group 2 status in 1979.

Some more than handy types have claimed victory in the Sandown Guineas including Over (1999), Sedation (1998), King Ivor (1996) and Durbridge (1990), although the event doesn’t normally attract Group 1 quality runners. Sandown Guineas winners, place getters and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Recent Sandown Guineas Results

Year Place Horse Time
Sandown Guineas
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Sandown Guineas
1st Mahuta 1 minute 35.98 seconds
2nd Dal Cielo
3rd Don’t Doubt Mamma
Sandown Guineas
1st Petrology 1 minute 36.74 seconds
2nd Stratum Star
3rd Berisha
Sandown Guineas
1st Paximadia 1 minute 37.39 seconds
2nd Equator
3rd Apollo’s Choice
Sandown Guineas
1st Tatra 1 minute 36.77 seconds
2nd Lunar Rise
3rd Proverb
Sandown Guineas
1st So Swift 1 minute 38.84 seconds
2nd Niagara
3rd Galah
Sandown Guineas
1st Pressday 1 minute 42.71 seconds
2nd Chasse
3rd Bigelow
Sandown Guineas
1st Kidnapped 1 minute 36.2 seconds
2nd Majestic Music
3rd Turf Express
Sandown Guineas
1st Caymans 1 minute 38 seconds
2nd Marveen
3rd Lucky Thunder
Sandown Guineas
1st Schilling 1 minute 38.6 seconds
2nd Masked Assassin
3rd Wind Shear
Sandown Guineas
1st Sender 1 minute 34.8 seconds
2nd Flame Of Sydney
3rd Wordsmith
Sandown Guineas
1st Cayambe 1 minute 39.4 seconds
2nd Zigotto
3rd Aztec Smytzer
Sandown Guineas
1st Binding 1 minute 42.5 seconds
2nd Barely A Moment
3rd Al Maher
Sandown Guineas
1st Pay Keys 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Ikes Dream
3rd Delzao
Sandown Guineas
1st Dextrous 1 minute 35.5 seconds
2nd Lawsons Storm
3rd Cool Azz
Sandown Guineas
1st Moon Dragon 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd All Courage
3rd Road To Dance
Sandown Guineas
1st Scenic Warrior 1 minute 34.6 seconds
2nd Wyndam Special
3rd Paradiddle