Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic)

The 2015 Zipping Classic (2400m) is a Group 2 event hosted at Sandown Racecourse.

Zipping Classic (Sandown Classic) News

Charlevoix Considered for 2016 Zipping Classic

Charlevoix Considered for 2016 Zipping Classic

The Zipping Classic 2016 at the tail-end of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival is shaping up as a nice target for Michael Kent’s lightly-raced stallion Charlevoix.

Charlevoix is tracking towards a possible November run in the 2016 Zipping Classic at Ladbrokes Park. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A now four-year-old son of New Approach, the Cranbourne-trained Charlevoix has had ...

The Group 2 2015 Zipping Classic, also known as the Sandown Classic, is a 2400m staying event held at Melbourne’s Sandown Racecourse after the Flemington four day carnival.

Worth $350,000 in prize money, the weight-for-age event is held on the same day as the Group 2 Sandown Guineas and the Group 3 Sandown Stakes.

Many of the horses that run in the Sandown Classic will come via the Group 2 Moonee Valley Cup or the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

The 2015 Zipping Classic is the feature race of Zipping Classic Day on Saturday November 14th.

Zipping Classic 2015
Date: November 14th, 2015
Track: Sandown Racecourse
Distance: 2400m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $350,000

2015 Zipping Classic Field

The Zipping Classic field usually features some pretty talented horses. Because the race takes place so late in the spring racing carnival, the Zipping Classic field attracts a host of horses well into their preparation and with plenty of form to look to.

The 2015 Zipping Classic field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 624×008421 DANDINO (GB) Darren Weir Dwayne Dunn 4 59kg 106
2 5442×75870 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller James McDonald 5 59kg 109
3 8x21x00690 SERTORIUS Jamie Edwards Craig Newitt 7 59kg 101
4 81111×8848 TALL SHIP (IRE) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 2 59kg 97
5 130×409803 DON DOREMO (NZ) Robbie Laing Mark Zahra 3 59kg 90
6 x122x62002 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 8 57kg 109
7 6650×55503 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) John Sargent Kerrin McEvoy 6 57kg 102
8 2213x300x9 DO YOU REMEMBER (SAF) Peter G Moody Vlad Duric 1 57kg 95

2015 Zipping Classic Nominations

The Zipping Classic nominations are fairly interesting every year, mainly because it’s kind of difficult to determine which horses will enter them. The Zipping Classic nominations largely depend on how well a horse has performed during the spring racing carnival. Trainers might elect to get one more run out of their better horses, or try and scrape a placing with their less-effective runners by entering them into the Zipping Classic nominations.

The 2015 Zipping Classic nominations will be provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 624×008421 DANDINO (GB) H 9 Darren Weir 1 59kg 106
2 x122x62002 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) M 5 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 2 57kg 109
3 5442×75870 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) G 7 Chris Waller 3 59kg 109
4 8x21x00690 SERTORIUS G 8 Jamie Edwards 4 59kg 101
5 416×506710 ALMOONQITH (USA) H 6 David Hayes & Tom Dabernig 5 59kg 105
6 81111×8848 TALL SHIP (IRE) G 5 Darren Weir 6 59kg 97
7 31532×8444 UNGRATEFUL ELLEN M 4 Robert Smerdon 7 56kg 85
8 130×409803 DON DOREMO (NZ) G 5 Robbie Laing 8 59kg 90
9 6650×55503 KIRRAMOSA (NZ) M 5 John Sargent 9 57kg 102
10 x452x78624 SYSMO (FR) G 7 Tony McEvoy 10 59kg 92
11 2213x300x9 DO YOU REMEMBER (SAF) M 6 Peter G Moody 11 57kg 95
12 4x5421x469 MANALAPAN (IRE) G 6 Ciaron Maher 12 59kg 90
13 x0x7872447 WALES H 6 Richard Laming 13 59kg 72

2015 Zipping Classic Day

Sandown Classic Day is the feature race day of the year at Sandown Park and it marks the end of the annual Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. With four group races, including the Group 2 Sandown Classic and Group 2 Sandown Guineas, and four listed races on the nine race card, Sandown Classic Day offers top quality racing for fans and punters alike.

Many horses contesting races on Sandown Classic Day have run in some of the main events during the Spring Racing Carnival, including the Melbourne Cup.

The 2015 Zipping Classic Day will be run on Saturday, November 14th at Sandown Racecourse.

Sandown Classic History

The Sandown Classic was first run in 1888 and won by Mara however it was originally named the Williamstown Cup before becoming the Sandown Cup and eventually the Sandown Classic. Over the years, the race distance has increased from 11 furlongs to 12 furlongs and 13 furlongs. Second Wind managed to win the event twice in 1930-31, however the true champion of this race is Zipping with four consecutive wins from 2007 to 2010. Zipping’s four straight wins in the Sandown Classic means that the gelding joins Manikato, Tie The Knot and Lord as the only horses to win the same group race consecutively four or more times.

In 2006, Gallant Guru managed to win the Sandown Classic/Queen Elizabeth Stakes double while Sydeston won the Sandown Classic/Cathay Pacific Airways Cup double in 1989. Since 1988, the fastest horse to cross the finish line has been Brave Chief in 2000 with 2 minutes 24.3 seconds while Count Ricardo was the slowest winner in 2004 with 2 minutes 37.9 seconds.

Recent Sandown Classic Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Sandown Classic
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Sandown Classic
1st Who Shot Thebarman 2 minutes 29.1 seconds
2nd Tall Ship
3rd Do You Remember
Sandown Classic
1st Au Revoir 2 minutes 32.1 seconds
2nd Epingle
3rd Prince Of Penzance
Sandown Classic
1st Sertorius 2 minutes 30.97 seconds
2nd Epingle
3rd Queenstown
Sandown Classic
1st Tanby 2 minutes 32.01 seconds
2nd Exceptionally
3rd Precedence
Sandown Classic
1st Americain 2 minutes 37.87 seconds
2nd Manighar
3rd Mourayan
Sandown Classic
1st Zipping 2 minutes 39.49 seconds
2nd Exceptionally
3rd Manighar
Sandown Classic
1st Zipping 2 minutes 32.2 seconds
2nd Purple
3rd Master O’Reilly
Sandown Classic
1st Zipping 2 minutes 35 seconds
2nd Douro Valley
3rd Red Ruler
Sandown Classic
1st Zipping 2 minutes 33.7 seconds
2nd Jukebox Johnny
3rd Baughurst
Sandown Classic
1st Gallant Guru 2 minutes 30.8 seconds
2nd Casual Pass
3rd Show Barry
Sandown Classic
1st Roman Arch 2 minutes 33.7 seconds
2nd Grey Song
3rd Expunge
Sandown Classic
1st Count Ricardo 2 minutes 37.9 seconds
2nd Fantastic Love
3rd Media Puzzle
Sandown Classic
1st Legible 2 minutes 29.8 seconds
2nd Distinctly Secret
3rd Zazzman
Sandown Classic
1st Hail 2 minutes 27.9 seconds
2nd Hill Of Grace
3rd Grey Song
Sandown Classic
1st Sky Heights 2 minutes 28.3 seconds
2nd King Keitel
3rd Cinder Bella
Sandown Classic
1st Brave Chief 2 minutes 24.3 seconds
2nd Forgotten Hero
3rd Pasta Express