Bletchingly Stakes

The 2017 Bletchingly Stakes is a Group 3 race held at Sandown Racecourse at the end of July as a final winter black-type or early Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival lead-up race.

The 2017 Bletchingly Stakes is a 1200m sprint race contested at Caulfield Racecourse in late July towards the end of the winter racing season.

Run under weight-for-age conditions, the Bletchingly Stakes attracts gallopers at the tail-end of their winter campaigns and also makes a nice early starting point for sprinters tracking towards the tougher upcoming races held during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

Worth a total of $150,000 prize money, the Bletchingly Stakes field often features runners that had a lead-up run in the Group 3 Sir John Monash Stakes (1100m) at the same Caulfield track a fortnight earlier.

Horses that race in the Bletchingly Stakes often progress onto other events such as the Group 2 PB Lawrence Stakes (1400m) in mid-August or even the opening elite level race of the spring – the Group 1 Memsie Stakes (1400m).

The 2017 Bletchingly Stakes will be held on Sunday August 6th, 2017 after the strong winds at Caulfield postponed the event.

2017 Bletchingly Stakes
Date: Sunday August 6th, 2017
Track: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2017 Bletchingly Stakes Odds

The winters’ best Bletchingly Stakes 2017 betting odds and market links to will be posted below the week of the race.

2017 Bletchingly Stakes Field

The Bletchingly Stakes field often attracts graduates out of the Sir John Monash Stakes run at the track a fortnight earlier over 100m less distance. The Bletchingly Stakes also serves as a nice early spring starting point for gallopers eyeing Group race assignments over 1400m up to a mile in the coming months.

The official Bletchingly Stakes 2017 Final Field & Barriers are released the Wednesday of race week and will be published in full below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x169x3x34x LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 9 58.5kg 115
2 0x00x415x6 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing Arron Lynch 6 58.5kg 104
3 83x211478x KEEN ARRAY David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 1 58.5kg 104
4 112x0x89x4 DIVINE TEN Kelvin Bourke Harry Coffey 10 58.5kg 89
5 089x60229x CHARMED HARMONY John Sadler Ms Katelyn Mallyon 8 58.5kg 100
6 x344943x19 TASHBEEH David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Cory Parish 5 58.5kg 101
7 24x43139x2 DUKE OF BRUNSWICK Mick Price Damien Oliver 7 58.5kg 94
8 x3189348x3 MURT THE FLIRT Brendan McCarthy Chris Symons 12 58.5kg 88
9 111121612x CHOCOLATE HOLIC Darren Weir Damian Lane 3 58.5kg 97
10 3047×49155 SANTA ANA LANE Lee & Anthony Freedman Mark Zahra 11 58.5kg 96
11 7x4136x111 ABILITY Robert Smerdon Dwayne Dunn 4 58.5kg 94
12 1x17731x1x SAVANNA AMOUR John Meagher Ben Melham 2 56.5kg 92

2017 Bletchingly Stakes Nominations

The full Bletchingly Stakes 2017 Nominations will be available below as soon as released by Racing Victoria the Monday leading-up to the race.

Bletchingly Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1994, the Bletchingly Stakes was first won by Poetic King. The Bletchingly Stakes is the last Group race of the minor Melbourne winter racing season.

The race was initially run over 1100m, up until the 2004 edition when it was first held over 1200m, the distance it remains today. Initially graded as a listed race, the Bletchingly Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 status in 1997, with Blazing Reality taking it out that year.

Notable Bletchingly Stakes winners include Poetic King (1994), Regal Roller (2005), Apache Cat (2007) and Let Go Thommo (2009). Bletchingly Stakes results since 2000 are listed below.

Bletchingly Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Ability 1 minute 14.2 seconds
2nd Lankan Rupee
3rd Duke of Brunswick
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Lord Of The Sky 1 minute 11.62 seconds
2nd Fast ‘N’ Rocking
3rd Mahuta
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Smokin’ Joey 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Platinum Rocker
3rd Petrology
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Thiamandi 1 minute 10.7 seconds
2nd Gig
3rd Nearest To Pin
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Second Effort 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Academy Jack
3rd Launay
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Ready To Rip 1 minute 12.8 seconds
2nd Zamorar
3rd Dusty Star
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Mid Summer Music 1 minute 211.4 seconds
2nd Rue Maple
3rd Stanzout
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Shoot Out 1 minute 11.7 seconds
2nd Stanzout
3rd Velocitea
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Let Go Thommo 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Orange County
3rd Mr Baritone
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Commanding Hope 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Lucky Diva
3rd Red Arrow
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Apache Cat 1 minute 09.3 seconds
2nd Haradasun
3rd Honalee
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Minson 1 minute 09.3 seconds
2nd Red Dazzler
3rd Snort
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Regal Roller 1 minute 13.7 seconds
2nd Super Elegant
3rd Le Zagaletta
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Le Zagaletta 1 minute 14.3 seconds
2nd Yell
3rd Elvstroem
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 06.3 seconds
2nd Ruby Slipper
3rd The Big Chill
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Rubitano 1 minute 03.7 seconds
2nd Ruby Slipper
3rd Dandy Kid
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Windigo 1 minute 05.1 seconds
2nd Piavonic
3rd Flavour
Bletchingly Stakes
1st Dandy Kid 1 minute 04.3 seconds
2nd Miss Pennymoney
3rd St Chrisoph

Spring Racing

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC...

El Dorado Dreaming of 2018 VRC Oaks Bid

Ben Smith’s ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes winning filly El Dorado Dreaming is in...

Horse Racing Today

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Betti...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting U...

2018 Queensland Oaks Betting Update

The Chris Waller domination of the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival will...

Baker snug about Champagne Cud...

Baker snug about Champagne Cuddles chances in 2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup

Trainer Bjorn Baker is snug about the chances of his three year old filly...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 ...

Capacity field of 16 for 2018 Queensland Oaks: Waller has 5

A capacity field of sixteen fillies will line up in the 2018 Group 1 $500,000...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Final...

2018 Kingsford-Smith Cup Final field: English draws barrier 1

Rejuvenated Group 1 performer English has drawn barrier one in the final field...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

Can Kelinni Win Sydney Cup 2013 for the Punters?

Moroney Gets into Queensland Derby 2013 Rhythm

Buffering Draws 7 – 2013 BTC Cup Final Field and Barrier Draw

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

13 two-year-olds in 2013 Champagne Classic Field