Asian Beau Stakes

The 2016 Asian Beau Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth.

2016 Asian Beau Stakes Results

  • 1st: Heart Starter
  • 2nd: Great Shot
  • 3rd: Respondent

Asian Beau Stakes News

Oliver To Ride Real Love In Railway Stakes

Oliver To Ride Real Love In Railway Stakes

Leading hoop Damien Oliver has been booked to ride Real Love in the 2015 Railway Stakes at Ascot on Saturday. Real Love stamped herself as a horse to follow when she took out the Group 3 Queen’s Cup (2200m) at Ascot on December 6 and she claimed the Listed Western Australia St Leger Stakes (2100m)…

The 2016 Asian Beau Stakes is a 1400m sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth in either late October or early November.

Held under handicap conditions, the Asian Beau Stakes is open only to horses aged three years and older. With total prize money of $150,000, this is a fairly lucrative race considering its status.

The Asian Beau Stakes is one of the earlier races in the Perth Summer Racing Carnival. As a result, it tends to be a fairly popular target for resuming horses. Add to that the fact that it runs on the same day as the Victoria Derby in Melbourne, as the nation is building towards the Melbourne Cup, and it quickly becomes clear why the Asian Beau Stakes receives the local attention that it does.

There aren’t many lead up races to the Asian Beau Stakes, largely because there isn’t a lot of racing prior to it. The Group 3 Northerly Stakes (1400m) held a couple of weeks earlier at the same track under the same conditions can act as a fairly effective preparatory race.

Following the Asian Beau Stakes, horses tend to follow fairly straightforward paths. The Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100m) and the Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes (1500m) are popular future targets, while the Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) attracts some of the stronger runners.

The 2016 Asian Beau Stakes was held on October 29.

Asian Beau Stakes 2016
Date: October 29, 2016
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO+ Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize money: $150,000

2016 Asian Beau Stakes Field

The Asian Beau Stakes field usually attracts a fairly decent selection of sprinters and middle distance runners. Trainers tend to be pretty flexible when deciding whether to accept for the Asian Beau Stakes field, so it can get quite varied. It’s worth watching the Asian Beau Stakes field in order to get a decent gauge on the runners for the remainder of the summer carnival.

The 2016 Asian Beau Stakes field will be published below.

2016 Asian Beau Stakes Nominations

The Asian Beau Stakes nominations usually consist mainly of WA-trained horses. It isn’t often that an eastern horse will enter the Asian Beau Stakes nominations, largely because there is a plethora of other opportunities in eastern states, most of them with better prize money. Even so, the Asian Beau Stakes nominations are worth keeping an eye on, particularly if you’re looking to get an idea of the projected targets for many of the runners.

The 2016 Asian Beau Stakes nominations will be published below.

Asian Beau Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1982, the Asian Beau Stakes has grown into quite an important Western Australian race.

In the beginning, the Asian Beau Stakes was known as the Kankama Quality Stakes. It has gone through multiple name changes over the years, being known also as the Belmont Community Quality Stakes and Budget Quality Stakes.

The Asian Beau Stakes gained its current Group 3 status in 1999. It has always been run at Ascot Racecourse with the exception of one year in 2003, when it was run at Belmont Park.

The race is named after champion galloper Asian Beau. Asian Beau’s 1981 blitzing of the Group 1 Railway Stakes made him only the fourth horse to win as odds-on favourite since the race’s inception in 1887. Jockey Graeme Webster made the claim following the race that Asian Beau would “prove to be the best sprinter in Australia”. At the time, Tommy Berry’s offer of $450,000 seemed to reflect that. Although owner Joe Williams claimed he wanted $600,000 following the race.

Notable Asian Beau Stakes winners include Nitro Lad (1982), Pago Escort (1992), Idyllic Prince (2006), Luckygray (2011) and Platinum Rocker (2013). Asian Beau results, placegetters and winning times since 2000 are listed below.

Asian Beau Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Asian Beau Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Heart Starter 1 minute 24.12 seconds
2nd Great Shot
3rd Respondent
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Real Love 1 minute 24.5 seconds
2nd My Sister Lil
3rd Hazzabeel
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Balmont Girl 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Black Heart Bart
3rd Respondent
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Platinum Rocker 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Vermeer
3rd Rohan
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Westriver Kevydonn 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Maschino
3rd Kerrific
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Luckygray 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Mega Steel
3rd Tranquility
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Colour Correct 1 minute 21.8 seconds
2nd God Has Spoken
3rd Inarticulate
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Kasabian 1 minute 21.7 seconds
2nd Elliotto
3rd Grand Nirvana
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Gilded Venom 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Megatic
3rd Famous Roman
Asian Beau Stakes
1st El Presidente 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd Wire Detonator
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Idyllic Prince 1 minute 22.3 seconds
2nd Kim Invader
3rd Ripped
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Wild Target 1 minute 21.7 seconds
2nd Wire Detonator
3rd Changing Lanes
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Rock Of Cashel 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Dead Eye Dick
3rd Prince Of Vasac
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Track Jester 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Kame’s Hope
3rd Dead Eye Dick
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Suspicion 1 minute 24.2 seconds
2nd Kensyl Bay
3rd Storm Shot
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Old Fashion 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Country Blazer
3rd Face Your Fears
Asian Beau Stakes
1st Fair Alert 1 minute 23.0 seconds
2nd Great Beau
3rd Slideaway