Northerly Stakes

The 2016 Northerly Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in October.

Northerly Stakes News

2015 Railway Stakes Field Released

2015 Railway Stakes Field Released

The 2015 Railway Stakes field has been released and 15 horses are set to contest the Group 1 event that will be held at Ascot on Saturday. Black Heart Bart will carry the top weight of 58 kilograms in the Railway Stakes and he will have the chance to record his maiden win at the…

The 2016 Northerly Stakes is a Group 3 sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth during October each year.

Raced over 1400m, the Northerly Stakes is a handicap event open to horses aged three years and older.

With prize money of $150,000, this is a fairly lucrative Group 3 event and tends to attract a field to match.

The Northerly Stakes is the headline event on the day, sharing the race schedule with only one other black type event, the Listed Belgravia Stakes (1200m), for three year olds under set weights plus penalties. The Caulfield Cup is held in Melbourne on the same day.

Because the Perth Spring Racing Carnival contains far fewer black-type events than its eastern counterparts, you’ll need to do some serious form study for the Northerly Stakes. Beyond the listed Birthday Stakes (1200m) held at Belmont two weeks before, there isn’t a lot of good form to follow in this race. Rather, the Northerly Stakes acts as a great lead up event to many of the major Perth events further down the track.

Horses who run well in the Northerly Stakes often target the Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) and the Group 3 RJ Peters Stakes (1500m), both held at Ascot during November.

The 2016 Northerly Stakes will be held on Saturday, October 15th, 2016.

Northerly Stakes 2016
Date: October 15th, 2016
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO+ Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Northerly Stakes Field

The Northerly Stakes field is usually composed of local runners looking for a reintroduction to racing after a spell. Some horses might target the Northerly Stakes field as part of an ongoing western spring campaign, however classier runners often contest this first up. You’ll usually see a few of the summer’s better sprinters kick things off in the Northerly Stakes field.

The 2016 Northerly Stakes field is now published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 21111x40x1 BLACK HEART BART Vaughn Sigley Glenn Smith 1 57.5kg
2 11523122×3 DAWN APPROACH Vaughn Sigley Takahide Ikenushi 7 57.5kg
3 516630x49x BASS STRAIT (NZ) Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 6 57.5kg
4 12027x542x BALMONT GIRL Paula Wagg Shaun O’Donnell 5 56.5kg
5 255x3311x2 FUCHSIA BANDANA Darren Mcauliffe Jarrad Noske 2 56.5kg
6 x112131114 WINK AND A NOD Justin Warwick Ms Lucy Warwick (a) 3 55.5kg
7 10121×2314 RESONATES Gavin Slater William Pike 4 54.5kg

2016 Northerly Stakes Nominations

The Northerly Stakes nominations attract handicappers from local stables and elsewhere in Western Australia. It’s reasonably rare for decent eastern horses to enter the Northerly Stakes nominations, although you’ll occasionally get some New Zealand bred runners in there.

The 2016 Northerly Stakes nominations will be published here on Wednesday, October 14th.

Northerly Stakes History

The Northerly Stakes is named after the 2002 Caulfield Cup and Cox Plate winner Northerly, who also took out the 2001 Cox Plate and Australian Cup, making him one of the most prolific runners to ever come out of the west.

The Northerly Stakes was renamed in 2006, two years after the great Northerly retired. Initially a listed race, the Northerly Stakes received an upgrade to Group 3 status in 2013. With that came an increase in prize money from $125,000 to $150,000.

The Northerly Stakes was previously known as the WATC Anniversary Cup.

In 2000, the Northerly Stakes was run over 1600m. In 1999, it was 1800m.

Notable Northerly Stakes winners include Megatic (2008, 2009), King Saul (2012) and Playing God (2013). Northerly Stakes results, including winning times, are listed below.

Northerly Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Northerly Stakes
1st Lite’n In My Veins 1 minute 24.3 seconds
2nd Ideal Image
3rd Perfect Reflection
Northerly Stakes
1st Black Heart Bart 1 minute 23.7 seconds
2nd Wink And A Nod
3rd Resonates
Northerly Stakes
1st Fuchsia Bandana 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Miss Rose De Lago
3rd Balmont Girl
Northerly Stakes
1st Playing God 1 minute 24.2 seconds
2nd Rohan
3rd Platinum Rocker
Northerly Stakes
1st King Saul 1 minute 22.9 seconds
2nd Kerrific
3rd Maschino
Northerly Stakes
1st Ranger 1 minute 21.4 seconds
2nd Waratah’s Secret
3rd Mega Steel
WATC Northerly Stakes
1st Famous Roman 1 minute 21.5 seconds
2nd Megatic
3rd Colour Correct
WATC Northerly Stakes
1st Megatic 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Colour Correct
3rd London
WATC Northerly Stakes
1st Megatic 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd I Command
WATC Northerly Stakes
1st New Spice 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Jinx King
3rd West River Charley
WATC Northerly Stakes
1st Grasspatch Girl 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Mr Diagnosis
3rd Daka’s Gem
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Changing Lanes 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Daka’s Gem
3rd Danny Blue
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Prince Of Vasac 1 minute 23.8 seconds
2nd Blevvo
3rd Early Express
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Superior Star 1 minutes 22.12 seconds
2nd Mogul
3rd Kim Lisa
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Mr Callahan 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Finito
3rd Zaheed
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Storm Shot 1 minute 24.1 seconds
2nd Shoeless
3rd The Grey Cardinal
WATC Anniversary Cup
1st Umah 1 minute 37.6 seconds
2nd Moonrise
3rd Penghulu