WA Guineas

The 2015 WA Guineas (1600m) is a Group 2 event held at Ascot Racecourse in November.

WA Guineas News

Man Booker Records Narrow WA Guineas Win

Man Booker Records Narrow WA Guineas Win

Man Booker produced the best performance of his racing career to record an upset win in the 2015 Western Australian Guineas at Ascot this afternoon.

Man Booker started his racing career with three straight wins as a two-year-old and he started his summer preparation with a fourth place finish at Belmont Park on October 3 before he performed well without ...

The Group 2 2015 WA Guineas is one of the most anticipated events on the Western Australia racing calendar. Held at the picturesque Ascot racecourse in mid November, the WA Guineas is a 1600m middle distance event for three-year-olds at set weights worth $400 000. It is the first group status race for three-year-olds held in Perth each season.

Runners in the WA Guineas may progress on to other Perth races run under the same conditions like the Group 3 Lee Steere Classic (1400m) in preparation for the premier set weights race held in Perth, the $500 000 Group 1 WATC Derby (2400m) in March. Alternatively, horses may be aimed at the lucrative handicap races including the $1 million Group 1 Railway Stakes (1600m) the following week and the $500 000 Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) three weeks later.

2015 WA Guineas
Date: November
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Conditions: 3YO at Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $400 000
Inaugurated: 1937

2015 WA Guineas Field

The Western Australian Guineas field has developed a fairly solid reputation for featuring some very talented three year olds. The 2015 WA Guineas field will be released on Monday afternoon, October 16th and will likely be comprised of some really solid horses.

The 2015 WA Guineas field will be published below.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 2214×23211 LONDON LINE Daniel Morton Jason Brown 7 56.5kg
2 111×452 MAN BOOKER Daniel Morton Ms Jerry Noske 11 56.5kg
3 2×11224 KEY TO FAME Simon A Miller Peter Knuckey 3 56.5kg
4 1×116 UNIVERSAL LAW Grant Williams Damien Oliver 8 56.5kg
5 324×1624 HE’S OUR ROKKII (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 12 56.5kg
6 32247×8417 GEORGE ’N’ ERNIE Neville Parnham Steven Parnham 10 56.5kg
7 211259 SEE ME SIZZLE Grant Williams Glenn Smith 9 56.5kg
8 x243336243 EXPRESS SNOOPER Dion Luciani Jason Whiting 1 56.5kg
9 14x87x85 FREMOND Neville Parnham Chris Parnham 14 56.5kg
10 5×1135 THE COBBLA Stephen Miller Shaun Mc Gruddy 6 56.5kg
11 1×13 WHO DAT SINGA (NZ) Alan Mathews Patrick Carbery 17 56.5kg
12 4436×3221 BIG RED COSTA Wally Mitchell Mr Aaron Mitchell (a) 2 56.5kg
13 3331×42 SHOWY CHLOE Jason Pateman Jarrad Noske 5 54.5kg
14 1111×313 BLACKWOOD Fred Kersley Ms Lucy Warwick 13 54.5kg
15 1×1232 ARCADIA DREAM Grant Williams William Pike 15 54.5kg
16 223×42144 SPIRIT BIRD (NZ) Nick Cox Craig Williams 4 54.5kg
17e 8540×212 SECRET DOUBT Neville Parnham Brad Parnham 16 54.5kg

2015 WA Guineas Nominations

The WA Guineas nominations usually attract some fairly top quality horses from local stables, and a few from eastern states. The 2015 WA Guineas nominations will be released on Monday, October 19th and will no doubt feature a number of talented three year olds.

The 2015 WA Guineas nominations will be provided below.

WA Guineas History

The inaugural winner of the WA Guineas was Footmark in 1937. The event originated as a principal race of eight furlongs and remained the same until 1972 when the distance was converted to 1600m. The race reached Group 3 status in 1979 and then became a Group 2 event only two years later in 1981.

In 2003 the WA Guineas was held at Belmont Park Racecourse, which is the other major track in Perth.

Recent WA Guineas Winners

Year Place Horse Time
WA Guineas
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
WA Guineas
1st Man Booker 1 minute 34.73 seconds
2nd Spirit Bird
3rd The Cobbla
WA Guineas
1st Rommel 1 minute 36.04
2nd Disposition
3rd Say Geronimo
WA Guineas
1st Ihtsahymn 1 minute 37.65 seconds
2nd Miss Rose De Lago
3rd Saint Bro
WA Guineas
1st Academus 1 minute 35.97 seconds
2nd Bippo No Bungus
3rd Darlington Abbey
WA Guineas
1st King Saul 1 minute 36.11 seconds
2nd Caiguna
3rd Red Hot Sax
WA Guineas
1st Playing God 1 minute 36.21 seconds
2nd Lauradane
3rd Hoegaarden
WA Guineas
1st Clueless Angel 1 minute 35.06 seconds
2nd Thorn Dancer
3rd The Corporation
WA Guineas
1st Moccasin Bend 1 minute 33.7 seconds
2nd Locus Standi
3rd Saxon Palace
WA Guineas
1st Megatic 1 minute 35.6 seconds
2nd Perestroika
3rd Moisture
WA Guineas
1st Vain Crusader 1 minute 35.8 seconds
2nd Real Cheeky
3rd Translate
WA Guineas
1st Cape North 1 minute 36 seconds
2nd Lock The Vault
3rd Geil
WA Guineas
1st Dr John 1 minute 36.7 seconds
2nd Moet Magic
3rd Stormy Nova
WA Guineas
1st River Mist 1 minute 37.3 seconds
2nd Changing Lanes
3rd Laetare
WA Guineas
1st The Right Money 1 minute 36.8 seconds
2nd Trimagic
3rd Amphritite
WA Guineas
1st Royal Retrieve 1 minute 36 seconds
2nd Kentiara
3rd Dexian
WA Guineas
1st Kalatiara 1 minute 37.5 seconds
2nd Mr Tanzania
3rd Eutectic
WA Guineas
1st Devilish Dealer 1 minute 37.6 seconds
2nd Mulga King
3rd Major Metal