Lee Steere Stakes

The 2016 Lee Steere Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age sprint held at Ascot Racecourse in Perth.

2016 Lee Steere Stakes Results

  • 1st: Perfect Reflection
  • 2nd: Disposition
  • 3rd: Tradesman

Lee Steere Stakes News

Pike sticks with Silverstream in 2017 Railway Stakes

Pike sticks with Silverstream in 2017 Railway Stakes

Leading Perth rider William Pike will stick with last start winner Silverstream in the Group 1 $1m James Boag’s Premium Railway Stakes (1600m) at Ascot in Perth on Saturday. Pike had the first choice of prominent Perth owner Bob Peters three Railway Stakes runners and chose Silverstream over Cosmic Storm and Disposition. Pike has been…

Held at Ascot Racecourse during the Perth Racing Carnival, the 2016 Lee-Steere Stakes is a 1400m weight-for-age race worth $250,000 in prize money. Held during early November, the Group 2 race serves as a nice early lead-up for gallopers heading towards the $500,000 Group 1 Kingston Town Classic (1800m) a month later.

Lead up events to the Lee Steere Stakes are few and far between, mainly because it’s held so early in the Perth Summer Racing Carnival, but backing the top-tier horses in the field with previous Group 1 or 2 wins at the track is key to successful Lee Steere Stakes betting.

One race horses in the Lee Steere Stakes field could come via in mid-October is the Group 3 Northerly Stakes (1400m).

The 2016 Lee-Steere Stakes took place at Ascot Racecourse on Saturday, November 5th, 2016.

Lee-Steere Stakes 2016
Date: November 5th, 2016, 2016
Track: Ascot Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000

2016 Lee Steere Stakes Field

The Lee Steere Stakes field usually features a decent assortment of horses from local stables in and around Perth. Occasionally you’ll see an interstate raider sign up for the Lee Steere Stakes field, although it is usually reserved for locals looking to get back into the swing of things.

The 2016 Lee Steere Stakes field will be published here.

2016 Lee Steere Stakes Nominations

The Lee Steere Stakes nominations usually attract healthy numbers from local stables. Look over the Lee Steere Stakes nominations to gain a rough understanding of the projected paths of many horses. A lot of trainers enter their horses into the Lee Steere Stakes nominations as part of a push for a Group 1 win later down the track.

The 2016 Lee Steere Stakes nominations will be published below.

Lee-Steere Stakes History

Originally named the All Aged Stakes from 1893 to 1938, the Lee Steere Stakes was first won by Scarpia, a horse which managed to win the event in three consecutive years from 1893 to 1895.

In 2003 the Lee Steere Stakes was run at Belmont Park Racecourse.

The Lee Steere Stakes has several double winners including Tarquin (1897-98,1900), Cetotis (1933,36), Big Bob (1962-63), Railway Boy (1966-67) and La Trice (1971-72). You can view Lee Steere Stakes results and winning times since 2000 below.

Lee Steere Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Perfect Reflection 1 minute 23.09 seconds
2nd Disposition
3rd Tradesman
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Black Heart Bart 1 minute 22.53 seconds
2nd Magnifisio
3rd Delicacy
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Magnifisio 1 minute 23.63 seconds
2nd Fuchsia Bandana
3rd Platinum Rocker
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Conservatorium 1 minute 23.86 seconds
2nd Checkpoint
3rd Ranger
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Luckygray 1 minute 22.95 seconds
2nd God Has Spoken
3rd Luke’s Luck
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Ranger 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Grand Nirvana
3rd Waratah’s Secret
Lee Steere Stakes
1st Famous Roman 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd For Your Eyes Only
2009Lee Steere Stakes 1st Idyllic Prince 1 minute 22.5 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd Spirited One
2008Lee Steere Stakes 1st Marasco 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Tarzi
3rd Hartley’s Dream
2007Lee Steere Stakes 1st Grasspatch Girl 1 minute 22.3 seconds
2nd Mansion House
3rd No Questions
2006Lee Steere Stakes 1st Belle Bizarre 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Hartley’s Dream
3rd Wild Target
2005Lee Steere Stakes 1st Avenida Madero 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Covertly
3rd Hartley’s Dream
2004Lee Steere Stakes 1st Ellicorsam 1 minute 21.3 seconds
2nd Modem
3rd Mr Sandgroper
2003Lee Steere Stakes 1st Early Express 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Modem
3rd Finito
2002Lee Steere Stakes 1st Hardrada 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Irish Prelude
3rd Finito
2001Lee Steere Stakes 1st Tribula 1 minute 25.4 seconds
2nd Fair Alert
3rd Old Comrade
2000Lee Steere Stakes 1st Umrum 1 minute 23.6 seconds
2nd Old Comrade
3rd Star System

Get more information about the Lee Steere Stakes!