Euclase Stakes

Euclase Stakes News

Euclase Stakes 2017 Target for Ashlor

Euclase Stakes 2017 Target for Ashlor

Victorian-trained three-year-old Ashlor will head to Adelaide next month for a shot at the 2017 Euclase Stakes after impressing his trainer Daniel McCarthy with a Ladbrokes Park win on Monday.

Trainer Doug Harrison plans to target Adelaide’s Queen Of The South Stakes 2017 on May 6 with his mare Lopartega. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

A son of Hard Spun, the ...

The 2016 Euclase Stakes is a Group 2 feature race for three-year-olds held in early May on South Australian Derby Day, and the 2016 Euclase Stakes will run on 7th May 2016.

It has been known as a number of different race names over the years for sponsorship purposes including the Sportingbet Stakes (2014) and most recently the William Hill Stakes from 2015, but has been officially registered as the Euclase Stakes since 1991.

The race’s original name was the Great Western Plate (1981 – 87) followed by the Carrington Blush Plate (1988 – 89), the Angus Brut Classic (1990-2000), the Yallambee Classic (2001-13).

The title Euclase came from the 1991 winner of the race of the same name.

Run over a sprint distance of 1200m, the set weights clash is the major support race on SA Derby Day run at Morphettville Racecourse early during the annual Adelaide Autumn Racing Carnival.

Worth $250,000 in total prize money, the event is run by the South Australian Jockey Club (SAJC) and was inaugurated in 1981.

The first Euclase Stakes winner was Apollo’s Flame who won the race when it only held Listed status.

The event was elevated to a Group 3 event from 1986 – 1990 before gaining its current Group 2 status in 1991 when the aforementioned Euclase took it out.

The most notable Euclase Stakes winner in recent years was Miracles Of Life (2014), winner of the previous year’s Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) in Melbourne.

The Euclase Stakes 2016 will run on Saturday 7th May 2016.

Euclase Stakes
Date: 7th May 2016
Track: Morphetville Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000

2016 Euclase Stakes Field

The Euclase Stakes field usually features a talented range of sprinters from an assortment of preparations, with many trainers choosing to contest it first up. Below you will find the complete field for the Euclase Stakes when it is announced on the Wednesday prior to the race.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x7114x3820 SOOBOOG Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 1 57.5kg 76
2 8x152x1296 BROCKHOFF Ciaron Maher Luke Nolen 4 57.5kg 75
3 153114×149 COUNTER PULSE Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 6 57.5kg 74
4 5143326×22 DEMONSTRATE John O’Shea Craig Williams 15 57.5kg 73
5 1x7161x MR INDIVIDUAL Leon & Troy Corstens Mark Zahra 3 57.5kg 73
6 12346×1 FAATINAH David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Matthew Neilson 9 57.5kg 69
7 12104×85 AMERICAN STAR Mark Minervini Shayne Cahill 8 57.5kg 66
8 134×655013 BEAU RIVAGE Gordon Richards Jake Toeroek 5 57.5kg 66
9 x1221x2702 SECRET AGENDA Mick Price Damien Oliver 7 55.5kg 96
10 x21432x361 TEMPT ME NOT James Cummings Glyn Schofield 13 55.5kg 87
11 1x13118x22 MISS GUNPOWDER Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 2 55.5kg 85
12 1215 ALMIGHTY GIRL Mitchell Beer & Max Hinton Glen Boss 12 55.5kg 84
13 13247×3153 SUPER CASH Andrew Noblet Kerrin McEvoy 10 55.5kg 80
14 1312×32 JALAN JALAN Colin Little Ms Michelle Payne 11 55.5kg 79
15 19×14 COCOA DOLL Phillip Stokes Dwayne Dunn 14 55.5kg 68

2016 Euclase Stakes Nominations

Nominations for the 2016 Euclase Stakes will be released on the Monday before the race day.