Australia Stakes

The 2016 Australia Stakes is a Group 2 sprint held at Moonee Valley Racecourse.

Australia Stakes News

2016 Australia Stakes Betting Tips

2016 Australia Stakes Betting Tips

The feature race in Melbourne this weekend kicking off the Autumn Carnival is Moonee Valley’s Australia Stakes 2016, betting tips for the weight-for-age sprint found below.

Durendal is the tip to win Saturday’s 2016 Australia Stakes at Moonee Valley Racecourse. Photo: Adrienne Bicknell.

Due to run as Moonee Valley Race 7 at 4:46pm (AEDT), this year’s $200,000 Group ...

The 2016 Australia Stakes is a Group 2 race held each year in late January at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne. Run over 1200m under weight-for-age conditions on one of Moonee Valley’s night race meetings, this sprint race is worth $200,000 in prize money.

It is one of only a couple of group races held in January anywhere in the country and signals the return of regular black type racing to Melbourne.

The Australia Stakes 2016 will be run on 23rd of January, 2016.

Australia Stakes
Date: 23rd of January, 2016
Track: Moonee Valley Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group Two
Prize Money: $200,000

2016 Australia Stakes Field

The Australia Stakes field regularly features some top quality sprinters from around the country. It’s common for trainers to enter their horses into the Australia Stakes field as a means of preparation for the coming Autumn Racing Carnival.

The 2016 Australia Stakes field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Penalty
1 47x60x123x REBEL DANE Gary Portelli Brenton Avdulla 6 58.5kg 110
2 1310x1610x MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Vlad Duric 2 58.5kg 112
3 x46x111x0x HUCKLEBUCK Phillip Stokes Dom Tourneur 11 58.5kg 108
4 12111x2x7x TRUST IN A GUST Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 13 58.5kg 110
5 490x9835x0 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths Matthew Allen 4 58.5kg 98
6 1×21157543 CHURCHILL DANCER David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Nicholas Hall 12 58.5kg 100
7 55×3404972 RICHIE’S VIBE Paul Beshara Damien Oliver 3 58.5kg 98
8 113×815111 DURENDAL Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra Damian Lane 5 58.5kg 98
9 303766×618 WRITTEN UP George Osborne Craig Newitt 10 58.5kg 85
10 7x951x1217 KIEVANN Stephen Brown Steven Arnold 1 58.5kg 84
11 129134×131 SIRBIBLE Russell Bell Jye McNeil (a) 7 58.5kg 85
12 x22x41435x RAGEESE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Dwayne Dunn 9 55kg 80
13 1x3x38221x HOLLER John O’Shea Craig Williams 8 55kg 80

2016 Australia Stakes Nominations

Usually released on the Monday leading up to the race, Australia Stakes nominations contain a number of top quality horses with extensive sprinting backgrounds. When making your selections, keep an eye out for those horses among the Australia Stakes nominations that have had some access over 1200m at Moonee Valley.

The 2016 Australia Stakes nominations are provided below.

# Horse Trainer
1 AUDINO Robbie Laing 80
2 BLACKIE (NZ) Jarrod McLean 97
3 BOOMWAA Robbie Laing 80
4 DISSIDENT Peter G Moody 115
5 IT IS WRITTEN Robbie Griffiths 99
6 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing 99
7 MOMENT OF CHANGE Peter G Moody 110
8 RICHIE’S VIBE Paul Beshara 100
9 SMOKIN’ JOEY Wez Hunter 106
10 TUDOR Doug Harrison 73

Australia Stakes History

Formerly called the Carlyon Stakes until 2010, the Moonee Valley Racing Club changed the race name to the Australia Stakes to celebrate Australia Day. This race is not to be confused with the Group 1 William Reid Stakes, which was previously called the Australia Stakes, and is now once again called the William Reid Stakes and runs in March.

Originally a Listed race and known as the Carlyon Stakes, this race earned Group 3 status in 1990 until 1994 when it was again elevated to Group 2 status. Also known as the Stanley Wootton Stakes, the fastest winning time since 1988 was recorded by Hareeba in 1995 with 1 minute 8.8 seconds. The slowest winning time was 1 minute 12.8 seconds by All Our Mob in 1996.

Recent Australia Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Australia Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Australia Stakes
1st Holler 1 minute 10.96 seconds
2nd Churchill Dancer
3rd Rebel Dane
Australia Stakes
1st Mourinho 1 minute 9.9 seconds
2nd It Is Written
3rd Dissident
Australia Stakes
1st Richie’s Vibe 1 minute 10.96 seconds
2nd Moment Of Change
3rd It Is Written
Australia Stakes
1st Sea Lord 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Pinwheel
3rd Outlandish Lad
Australia Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 09.4 seconds
2nd Zedi Knight
3rd Doubtful Jack
Australia Stakes
1st Whitefriars 1 minute 09.6 seconds
2nd Undeniably
3rd Typhoon Tracy
Australia Stakes
1st Black Caviar 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Here De Angels
3rd La Rocket
Carlyon Stakes
1st Lucky Secret 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Light Fantastic
3rd Von Costa De Hero
Carlyon Stakes
1st Let Go Thommo 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Maldivian
3rd Casino Prince
Carlyon Stakes
1st El Segundo 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Cocinero
3rd Super Elegant
Carlyon Stakes
1st California Dane 1 minute 9.8 seconds
2nd Virage De Fortune
3rd Casual Pass
Carlyon Stakes
1st Super Elegant 1 minute 10.5 seconds
2nd Strikeline
3rd Ruben
Carlyon Stakes
1st Vocabulary 1 minute 11.5 seconds
2nd Super Elegant
3rd Confederate Kid
Carlyon Stakes
1st Yell 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Libidinious
3rd Pernod
Carlyon Stakes
1st Royal Code 1 minute 11 seconds
2nd Intelligent Star
3rd Ustinov
Carlyon Stakes
1st Piavonic 1 minute 11.8 seconds
2nd Ateates
3rd Le Zagaletta
Carlyon Stakes
1st Slavonic 1 minute 12.1 seconds
2nd Sports
3rd Le Zagaletta