Victoria Derby Results

Each Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival the official Victoria Derby results are known when the three-year-olds classic runs at Flemington Racecourse on the Saturday before the Melbourne Cup on the first Tuesday of November.

2016 Victoria Derby Results

  • 1st: Prized Icon
  • 2nd: Sacred Elixir
  • 3rd: Inference

The Victoria Derby results dominate the action on day one of the Melbourne Cup Carnival and the Group 1 classic over 2500m traditionally runs as Flemington Race 7 on a race card that features three other Group 1 races: the $1 million Group 1 Cantala Stakes (1600m), $500,000 Coolmore Stud Stakes (1200m) for three-year-old sprinters and the $500,000 Myer Classic (1600m) for fillies and mares.

Victoria Derby results list the Victoria Derby winner and the Victoria Derby finishing order of the entire field.

Checking the results at an online betting agency like will also reveal the winning Victoria Derby exacta, quinealla, trifecta and first four as well as the exotic Victoria Derby results and payouts.

The 2016 Victoria Derby results will be published right here once the race is run and won on Saturday October 29, 2016.

Bet on the 2016 Victoria Derby Results below

Past Victoria Derby Results

Looking over the past Victoria Derby results can help punters with their Victoria Derby betting for the current spring.

For example the recent Victoria Derby results from the past decade show that from 2006 – 2015 just two favourites saluted for the punters: Efficient (2006) and Tarzino (2015).

In that time there were some very notable upset Victoria Derby results by roughie chances in the Victoria Derby odds including: Fiveandahalfstar ($40 in 2012) and Rebel Raider ($100 in 2008).

Doing the Victoria Derby form on the previous Victoria Derby winners can also reveal any trainers and jockeys with a stand-out record in the Victoria Derby results.

For example, jockey Hugh Bowman has ridden three Victoria Derby winners since 2010 with: Lion Tamer (2010), Sangster (2011) and Polanski (2013).

As the Victoria Derby is only open to three-year-old thoroughbreds, no horse can win the title on more than one occasion. However, jockeys and trainers can play an important role in making a decision on who to back. Researching Victoria Derby results from previous years will give you an insight into what sort of things to look for in the upcoming race, as well as reveal which jockeys and trainers have won the event in the past few years.

It’s true that lead up races often have more of an impact in deciding the Victoria Derby odds, but that’s not to say that Victoria Derby results from previous years don’t have their place. Famous jockey Damien Oliver won the event in 2001, 2003 and 2014, while Greg Hall and Greg Childs have both won the race twice within the past two decades.

In terms of trainers, Lee Freedman is the most successful of the past 20 years with three victories, while Michael Moroney had to wait another 12 years after claiming the Victoria Derby title way back in 1997.

If you are interested in Victoria Derby results and keen to start betting on the prestigious horse race, you can sign up to an online bookmaker like today and enjoy a wide variety of betting opportunities and bonuses.

Recent Victoria Derby Winners & Results

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2016 Prized Icon Glyn Schofield James Cummings TBD 2:36.16
2015 Tarzino Craig Newitt Mick Price M G Price, Dr C G Lawler, Mrs M Jurie, et al 2:38.39
2014 Preferment Damien Oliver Chris Waller L Fuddy, Woppitt, Magic Bloodstock, et al 2:37.81
2013 Polanski Hugh Bowman Robbie Laing A Fraser, JK Fraser, et al 2:38.66
2012 Fiveandahalfstar Damien Oliver Anthony Cummings Bangaloe Stud et al 2:35.92
2011 Sangster Hugh Bowman Trent Busuttin Mr D Kneebone, Mr K J O’brien et al 2:40.33
2010 Lion Tamer Hugh Bowman Murray & Bjorn Baker P H P Bayly 2:46.43
2009 Monaco Consul Corey Brown Michael Moroney G G Syndicate Ltd (Mgr: G Peterson) & O G Glenn 2:41.68
2008 Rebel Raider Clare Lindop Leon Macdonald B H Perks, T J Robertson, R B Fairclough, Dr P C Goel et al. 2:36.90
2007 Kibbutz Craig Williams David Hayes Terry Henderson syndicate et al. 2:40.92
2006 Efficient Michael Rodd Graeme Rogerson Lloyd J. Williams et al. 2:38.35
2005 Benicio Noel Callow Lee Freedman Freedman brothers et al. 2:37.08
2004 Plastered Paul Harvey Lindsay Smith Jenella Harvey et al. 2:35.49
2003 Elvstroem Damien Oliver Tony Vasil Elvstroem Syndicate 2:38.99
2002 Helenus Steven King Leon Corstens Joseph & Thecla Xipell 2:40.54
2001 Amalfi Damien Oliver Peter Moody Ron & Judy Wanless 2:34.63
2000 Hit The Roof Glen Boss David Hall Bob Scarborough 2:39.02