George Main Stakes

The 2016 George Main Stakes will be held on September 17 at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

George Main Stakes News

Winx on Track for Ladbrokes Cox Plate 2017

Winx on Track for Ladbrokes Cox Plate 2017

An historic shot at a third Ladbrokes Cox Plate trophy in 2017 is still months away but already anticipation is growing around Hall of Famer Winx who is pleasing trainer Chris Waller in her early campaign build-up.

Winx is on track to become just the second horse in history to win three editions of the Cox Plate in 2017. Photo: ...

The George Main Stakes 2016 is a 1600m race held at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse in September. Worth $500,000 in prize money, the Group 1 event attracts plenty of horses eager for an early Sydney Spring Racing Carnival feature race win.

Open to horses aged three years and over, the George Main Stakes is a weight-for-age event and is a great lead-up to the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m) over the same track / distance the following month.

In 2011 the race was run over a 1500m trip at Rosehill due to construction work at Randwick.

The 2016 George Main Stakes will be run on Saturday 17 September 2016.

George Main Stakes
Date: Saturday 17 September 2016
Track: Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 1600m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000

2016 George Main Stakes Field

The 2016 George Main Stakes field was announced on Wednesday, September 14th. The race is registered in 2016 as the Colgate Optic White Stakes and attracted just eight final acceptances led by superstar mare Winx in barrier six.

Check out the full 2016 George Main Stakes final field and barrier draw below complete with the latest George Main Stakes odds provided by

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x0x51709x4 TOSEN STARDOM (JPN) Darren Weir Craig Williams 7 59kg 111
2 8x332722x1 HAURAKI John O’Shea James McDonald 5 59kg 109
3 3x611653x4 IT’S SOMEWHAT (USA) John O’Shea Tim Clark 4 59kg 108
4 447204x77x SPIRITJIM (FR) Chris Waller Brenton Avdulla 8 59kg 107
5 5400070711 GREAT ESTEEM Stuart Webb Kerrin McEvoy 2 59kg 97
6 2x12217x22 LE ROMAIN Kris Lees Christian Reith 1 58.5kg 108
7 111x0649x5 VANBRUGH Chris Waller Glyn Schofield 3 58.5kg 99
8 111x1111x1 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 6 57kg 123

2016 George Main Stakes Nominations

The 2016 George Main Stakes nominations were announced by Racing NSW on Monday September 12 and attracted just seven entries with Winx scaring away the rivals. The George Main Stakes 2016 nominations were extended until 11am (AEST) on September 13.

Read more about the 2016 George Main Stakes nominations.

George Main Stakes History

The race is named after George Main, the former chairman of the Australian Jockey Club, racehorse breeder and sheep runner. Inaugurated in 1945, the first winner of the George Main Stakes was Modulation. There have been several horses which have managed to win the race more than once including Kingston Town in 1981-82, Regal Rhythm in 1967-68, Count Radiant in 1964-65 and Shannon in 1946-47. The fastest winning time was recorded by Racing to Win in 2006 with 1 minute 33.75 seconds. The slowest recorded winning time was 1 minute 48.75 seconds by Montana in 1952.

George Main Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
George Main Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
George Main Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 36.1 seconds
2nd Hauraki
3rd It’s Somewhat
George Main Stakes
1st Kermadec 1 minute 37.70 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Pornichet
George Main Stakes
1st Sacred Falls 1 minute 35.66 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Laser Hawk
George Main Stakes
1st Streama 1 minute 34.78 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Veyron
George Main Stakes
1st Shoot Out 1 minute 36.4 seconds
2nd Rangirangdoo
3rd Secret Admirer
George Main Stakes
1st Sincero 1 minute 28.5 seconds
2nd Ilovethiscity
3rd Triple Elegance
George Main Stakes
1st More Joyous 1 minute 35.6 seconds
2nd Trusting
3rd Empires Choice
George Main Stakes
1st Road To Rock 1 minute 35.5 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd Onemorenomore
George Main Stakes
1st Mentality 1 minute 34.68 seconds
2nd Theseo
3rd Gallant Tess
George Main Stakes
Race Not Held  
George Main Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 33.75 seconds
2nd Red Dazzler
3rd Desert War
George Main Stakes
1st Mr Celebrity 1 minute 34.6 seconds
2nd Shania Dane
3rd Outback Prince
George Main Stakes
1st Grand Armee 1 minute 36.94 seconds
2nd King’s Chapel
3rd Shamekha
George Main Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 37.48 seconds
2nd Grand Armee
3rd Defier
George Main Stakes
1st Defier 1 minute 38.31 seconds
2nd Excellerator
3rd Sunline
George Main Stakes
1st Viscount 1 minute 36.74 seconds
2nd Shogun Lodge
3rd Courvoisier
George Main Stakes
1st Adam 1 minute 35.25 seconds
2nd Mr. Innocent
3rd Al Mansour