Magic Millions 2YO Classic

Magic Millions 2YO Classic News

Conchita Also Out Of Magic Millions Classic

Conchita Also Out Of Magic Millions Classic

Conchita has been ruled out of the 2016 Magic Millions Classic at the Gold Coast tomorrow after a veterinary examination found her to be lame in her off hind leg.

Paul Perry-trained Conchita has become the second horse to be scratched from the 2016 Magic Millions Classic. Photo by: Steve Hart

Racing Queensland stewards announced yesterday afternoon that Conchita would ...

The 2016 Magic Millions 2YO Classic is the highlight event of the illustrious Magic Millions Carnival that takes place at the Gold Coast Racecourse annually in January.

The race is held on the second Saturday of the month on the highly anticipated Gold Coast Magic Millions Raceday and is open only to horses previously purchased at the Magic Millions yearling sales.

A 1200m sprint, the Magic Millions Classic is an open race for two-year-olds at set weights worth $2 million in prize money.

The 2016 Magic Millions 2YO Classic will run on January 9th.

Magic Millions Classic
Date: Early January
Track: Gold Coast Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Conditions: 2YO – Set Weights
Status: Restricted Race
Prizemoney: $2 million
Inaugurated: 1987

2016 Magic Millions 2YO Classic Field

The 2016 Magic Millions 2YO Classic field will be published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 1×1 CAPITALIST Peter & Paul Snowden Blake Shinn 2 57kg
2 917 CLARO EL BANCO Jason Petch Glyn Schofield 17 57kg
3 1×1 DIETERS Jason McLachlan Daniel Griffin 14 57kg
4 215 SUNDANCE Toby Edmonds Jeff Lloyd 11 57kg
5 13 NIKITAS Kelso Wood Michael Cahill 3 57kg
6 22 NICCOLANCE Peter & Paul Snowden James McDonald 9 57kg
7 31 JUST ORM Tony Gollan Tommy Berry 8 57kg
8 3186 PUNISHING Liam Birchley Damian Browne 16 57kg
9 9×12 HIGHLAND BEAT David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 12 57kg
10 111 ZELADY’S NIGHT OUT Tony Gollan Jim Byrne 19 55kg
11 11 CANDIKA Steven O’dea Paul Hammersley 1 55kg
12 213 FARAWAY TOWN Matthew Smith Jason Collett 15 55kg
13 1xP CONCHITA Paul Perry Thomas Huet 5 55kg
14 3×2 SLUMBER PARTY Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 20 55kg
15 312 MOOSHAKISSA Peter & Paul Snowden Mark Zahra 18 55kg
16 1x RARE OCCURRENCE Stuart Kendrick Brad Stewart 13 55kg
17e 42240 RAINY DAY WOMAN Les Ross Ms Michelle Payne 7 55kg
18e 24×2 ZAFINA Gary Portelli 21 55kg
19e 120 PARTY PARDEE Andrew Suli 4 57kg
20e 22 PAR ONERI Natalie Mccall 10 57kg
21e 2326 HEART SKIPT A BEAT Liam Birchley 6 55kg

Magic Millions Classic History

The Magic Millions Classic was first run in 1987 when the Sally Rogers-trained Snippets claimed victory. From 1988 through until 1991, two races were run every year, one solely for fillies. Then in 1992 there was again two Magic Millions Classic races run, one over the standard 1200m and the other over 1400m. It was in this year that Clan O’Sullivan set the time record for the race of 1:08.46, the champion horse winning both runnings of the event for 1992.

A similar thing happened the following year in 1991 when star filly Bold Promise claimed victory in both the fillies and the open Magic Millions Classic races.

Magic Millions Classic Winners Since Inauguration

Year Winner Second Third Time
2016 Capitalist Nikitas Candika 1:09.2
2015 Le Chef Pepperano Single Gaze 1:10.8
2014 Unencumbered Oakleigh Girl Ruby Soho 1:09.6
2013 Real Surreal Sweet Idea Missy Longstocking 1:09.98
2012 Driefontein No Looking Back Alezan Thunder 1:09.49
2011 Karuta Queen Combat Kitty Schiffer 1:11.0
2010 Military Rose Ambers Waltz Demanding Miss 1:10.2
2009 Phelan Ready Paprika Motown Lady 1:10.0
2008 Augusta Proud She’s Meaner High Rollin Woman 1:09.4
2007 Mimi Lebrock Husson Lightning Royal Asscher 1:09.9
2006 Mirror Mirror Churchill Downs Reigart 1:09.8
2005 Bradburys Luck Emit Time Snitzel 1:09.4
2004 Dance Hero Not A Single Doubt Marie Madeleine 1:08.7
2003 Regimental Gal Danbird How Funny 1:09.8
2002 Lovely Jubly Chuckle Cool Trent 1:09.5
2001 Excellerator Miss Bussell Magic Albert 1:09.7
2000 Assertive Lad Belle Du Jour Rapid Man 1:09.3
1999 Testa Rossa Sally Magic Shalt Not 1:09.5
1998 Catnipped Spend Phorous 1:09.0
1997 General Nediym Special Dane My Halo Broke 1:09.03
1996 Winger Charger Our Banker La Snippette 1:10.1
1995 Zephyrz Gold Ace Pottinger 1:09.3
1994 Brave Warrior St. Covet Discreet Lady 1:10.2
1993 Our Fiction Flying Tycoon Tiba Tiba 1:09.5
1992 Clan O’Sullivan Guards Time Snippets Girl 1:28.1
1992 Clan O’Sullivan Zodiac Miss Quick Snip 1:08.46
1991 Bold Promise Sedgewyn Chortle 1:09.5
1991 Bold Promise Musical Chairs Dangerous Seam 1:09.5
1990 St. Jude Trustful Quick Score 1:10.61
1990 Dancers Joy Mahaasin Rhythmic Charm 1:10.0
1989 Sunblazer Scomasc Red Rancher 1:10.4
1989 Malibu Magic Tristanagh Proudly 1:10.1
1988 Molokai Prince Prince Regent Good Time Dancer 1:11.2
1988 Sea Cabin Regal Devotion Mean Eyes 1:14.2
1987 Snippets Prince Anton Mother Duck 1:09.9