Sandown Stakes

The 2016 Sandown Stakes is a Group 3 handicap held at Sandown Racecourse in November.

2016 Sandown Stakes Results

  • 1st: Redkirk Warrior
  • 2nd: Stratum Star
  • 3rd: Un De Sceaux

Sandown Stakes News

2017 Australian Cup for Sandown Stakes Winner Redkirk Warrior

2017 Australian Cup for Sandown Stakes Winner Redkirk Warrior

Lindsay Park co-trainer David Hayes believes next autumn’s 2017 Australian Cup looks the ideal race for the stable’s Sandown Stakes winning Hong Kong expat Redkirk Warrior. The talented Notnowcato six-year-old started favourite in the Hong Kong Derby (2000m) at Sha Tin back in mid-March, but things went amiss and he finished 11th. Having just his…

The 2016 Sandown Stakes – run in 2016 as the Yarramalong Racing Club Stakes – is a 1500m Group 3 event held at Sandown Racecourse in mid-November on the Saturday after Emirates Stakes Day closes the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Run under quality handicap conditions, the Sandown Stakes is open to all comers and pays $150,000 prize money.

The Sandown Stakes is held on Zipping Classic Day run at Ladbrokes Park. It is the biggest day of racing at Sandown Racecourse and also marks the end of spring group racing in Melbourne. Other races held on the same program include the Group 2 Zipping Classic (2400m), Group 2 Sandown Guineas (1600m), Group 3 Eclipse Stakes (1800m), Group 3 Summoned Stakes (1500m), Group 3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes (1300m) and three listed events, one of which is the 3200m Sandown Cup.

Horses typically target the Sandown Stakes towards the end of their spring campaign. Look to other handicaps held over similar distances for form leading into this race.

Following the Sandown Stakes, many runners head to the paddock for a break before Autumn. Some choose to head west and compete in races at Ascot and Belmont Park in Perth. Because the Sandown meet represents the end of group racing in Melbourne, there aren’t many options for top class horses after they’ve ran this race.

The 2016 Sandown Stakes will be run on November 12th.

Sandown Stakes 2016
Date: November 12th, 2016
Track: Sandown Racecourse
Distance: 1500m
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Sandown Stakes Betting Odds

The latest Sandown Stakes 2016 betting odds are listed below complete with links to the markets at for you to take advantage of our insider 2016 Sandown Stakes Tips at the best spring odds.

2016 Sandown Stakes Field

The Sandown Stakes field draws a range of horses from differing preparations. The vast majority of runners in the Sandown Stakes field will have already had quite extensive spring preparation in races at other Melbourne tracks. Because it runs so near to the end of spring racing, the Sandown Stakes field is usually filled out with horses at top fitness, making for an exciting race.

The 2016 Sandown Stakes field will be published here when released the Wednesday before the race.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 236033×850 STRATUM STAR Darren Weir 5 59kg 108
2 2171111146 ROYAL RAPTURE Darren Weir 7 56.5kg 103
3 0x66850x60 SLIGHTLY SWEET Jason Coyle Ms Kathy O’Hara 1 54kg 92
4 1x5120x5x2 REDKIRK WARRIOR (GB) David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Craig Williams 4 54kg 91
5 x65948x232 SOVEREIGN NATION David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 3 54kg 86
6 4760×67083 INSPECTOR Peter White Dean Yendall 2 54kg 81
7 55156×6054 UN DE SCEAUX Todd Balfour 6 54kg 72

2016 Sandown Stakes Nominations

The Sandown Stakes nominations are usually released on the Monday prior to the race. In the Sandown Stakes nominations you can find a host of promising gallopers, most with a decent chance of putting on a winning run. The Sandown Stakes nominations are the last chance for many horses to seize a black type victory in the spring, so a lot of trainers target the race.

The 2016 Sandown Stakes nominations will be provided below.

Sandown Stakes History

Inaugurated in 1981, the Sandown Stakes has a relatively brief history, but one that is filled with quality racing. It was initially known as the GJ Coles Stakes. It has also been known as the Coles New World Stakes.

Given Group 3 status in 1984, the Sandown Stakes has played an important role in Sandown racing.

Notable Sandown Stakes winners include Tower Belle (1981), Wrap Around (1991), Amtrak (2004) and Mahisara (2012, 13). Sandown Stakes results, winners and place getters since 2000 are provided below.

Sandown Stakes Results

Year Place Horse Time
Sandown Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Sandown Stakes
1st Redkirk Warrior 1 minute 30.66 seconds
2nd Stratum Star
3rd Un De Sceaux
Sandown Stakes
1st Charmed Harmony 1 minute 29.4 seconds
2nd Tashbeeh
3rd Burning Point
Sandown Stakes
1st Pornichet 1 minute 29.6 seconds
2nd General Groove
3rd Spacecraft
Sandown Stakes
1st Mahisara 1 minute 23.5 seconds
2nd Go The Knuckle
3rd Galah
Sandown Stakes
1st Mahisara 1 minute 29.2 seconds
2nd Morant
3rd Raspberries
Sandown Stakes
1st Under The Eiffel 1 minute 32.4 seconds
2nd Sistine Angel
3rd Orbit Express
Sandown Stakes
1st Larry’s Never Late 1 minute 33.2 seconds
2nd Demerit
3rd Rockpecker
Sandown Stakes
1st Nine Tales 1 minute 30.6 seconds
2nd Jungle Ruler
3rd Itsamonty
Sandown Stakes
1st Chasm 1 minute 31.8 seconds
2nd Marching
3rd Orbit Express
Sandown Stakes
1st Gotta Have Heart 1 minute 24.9 seconds
2nd Royal Ida
3rd Great Is Great
Sandown Stakes
1st Swick 1 minute 22.0 seconds
2nd Anwaar
3rd Cargo Cult
Sandown Stakes
1st Titanic Jack 1 minute 31.5 seconds
2nd Zankel
3rd Chickaloo
Sandown Stakes
1st Amtrak 1 minute 27.8 seconds
2nd Smart And Mighty
3rd Shadowmaker
Sandown Stakes
1st Chong Tong 1 minute 23.5 seconds
2nd Lord Volksraad
3rd Green Pick
Sandown Stakes
1st Salgado 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd Mr Magoo
3rd Lord Erin
Sandown Stakes
1st Little Dozer 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Le Zagaletta
3rd Dynamic Love
Sandown Stakes
1st Normal Practice 1 minute 21.4 seconds
2nd Ab Initio
3rd Cellar