Craven Plate

The 2017 Craven Plate is a Group 3 weight-for-age event held at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Craven Plate News

Revitalised 2017 Sydney Spring Carnival Confirmed

Revitalised 2017 Sydney Spring Carnival Confirmed

Racing NSW has today confirmed a number of changes to programming and prize money throughout the forthcoming 2017 Spring Racing Carnival. Headlined by the inaugural running of the $10 million The Everest (1200m) at Royal Randwick on October 14th, Racing NSW has restructured the Spring Carnival to favour sprinters, middle-distance horses and stayers, while also…

The 2017 Craven Plate is a Group 3 staying event hosted by the Australian Turf Club (ATC) at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

Held towards the end of the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival on the first Saturday in October, the Craven Plate is an exciting 2000m test which provides local stayers with a final run over a decent distance before heading to Victoria for the major feature days of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival.

The Craven Plate is raced under weight for age conditions and pays $500,000 prize money.

Held on Super Saturday, the Craven Plate shares a race program with some of Sydney’s most prestigious events. Other races held on the same day include the Group 1 Epsom Handicap (1600m), Group 1 Metropolitan Handicap (2400m), Group 1 Flight Stakes (1600m), Group 2 Premiere Stakes (1200m), Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes (1200m) and three listed events.

One of the preferred lead up races to the Craven Plate is the Group 2 Hill Stakes (2000m) held at Rosehill Racecourse a couple of weeks before. Some horses also contest the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) and the Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) prior to the Craven Plate.

Following a successful run in the Craven Plate, horses often continue on to major feature races such as the Group 1 Caulfield Cup or Group 1 Caulfield Stakes.

This 2017 Craven Plate will be run on Saturday October 14.

Craven Plate 2017
Date: Saturday October 14, 2017
Track: Royal Randwick Racecourse
Distance: 2000m
Race Type: Weight-For-Age
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $500,000

2017 Craven Plate Field

The Craven Plate field and barrier draw was released by Racing NSW on Wednesday September 28 and features just seven stayers led by It’s Somewhat and Raw Impulse.

See below for the official 2016 Craven Plate Final Field & Barriers and click on the link for a more detailed race preview.

Craven Plate Betting

See below for the full Craven Plate betting odds available online now on the Craven Plate field through

2017 Craven Plate Nominations

The Craven Plate nominations closed on Monday September 26 and feature 10 weight-for-age hopefuls including the Darren Weir-trained Raw Impulse, Spiritjim for Sydney’s Chris Waller and early favourite It’s Somewhat.

Check out the full 2016 Craven Plate Nominations now.

Craven Plate History

The Craven Plate was inaugurated in 1867, making it one of the oldest races in the country. Interestingly, the Craven Plate has a fairly consistent history. Throughout the many years it has ran, it has remained around the 2000m mark. Between 1867 and 1971 the Craven Plate was held over 10 furlongs, which is approximately 2000m. In 1972, the conversion to metric saw the Craven Plate rounded to an even 2000m. In 2001, for a year, the Craven Plate was held over 1800m. In 2002, it returned to 2000m and has remained at that distance since.

From its inception to 1978 the Craven Plate was regarded as a Principal event. Strangely, in 1979 the decision was made not to hold the race. That decision held until 1984 when the Craven Plate was reintroduced as a listed event. In 1993, an upgrade saw the Craven Plate run as a Group 3 event, a status it has retained since.

Known as the Craven Plate from the outset, very few name changes have befallen this long-abiding event. Given the prefix “AJC” between 1868 and 1999, the Craven Plate was for a year known as the AJC Queen’s Cup in 2000. In 2001, it was referred to as the AJC Japan Trophy Race. From 20002 onwards, the Craven Plate has returned to its original name.

The Craven Plate has acquired a reputation as an important stepping stone in the career of great horses. Some notable Craven Plate winners include Glencoe (1869), Chester (1878), Carbine (1890), Wakeful (1902), Gloaming (1919 & 1922), Phar Lap (1929-1931), Flight (1943 & 1945) Tulloch (1960), Ming Dynasty (1978), Honorius (2013) and countless others. Craven Plate results and winning times since 2000 are provided below.

Craven Plate Results

Year Place Horse Time
Craven Plate
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Craven Plate
1st Complacent 2 minutes 1.8 seconds
2nd Hauraki
3rd I’m Imposing
Craven Plate
1st Moriarty 2 minutes 2.6 seconds
2nd Rising Romance
3rd Vilanova
Craven Plate
1st Honorius 2 minutes 3.7 seconds
2nd Masked Marvel
3rd Vaquera
Craven Plate
1st Mourayan 2 minutes 2.4 seconds
2nd Western Symbol
3rd Dare To Dream
Craven Plate
1st My Kingdom Of Fife 2 minutes 4.3 seconds
2nd Shootoff
3rd Gazza Guru
Craven Plate
1st C’Est La Guerre 2 minutes 2.2 seconds
2nd Purple
3rd Triple Honour
Craven Plate
1st Miss Marielle 2 minutes 8.3 seconds
2nd Nom De Jeu
3rd Fulmonti
Craven Plate
1st Lorne Dancer 2 minutes 6.4 seconds
2nd Riva San
3rd Ice Chariot
Craven Plate
1st Race Not Held
Craven Plate
1st Cateclipse 2 minutes 3.4 seconds
2nd Testafiable
3rd Gawne
Craven Plate
1st Mummify 2 minutes 3.1 seconds
2nd Wild Iris
3rd Natural Blitz
Craven Plate
1st Fiery Venture 2 minutes 7.8 seconds
2nd Restless
3rd Ain’t Seen Nothin’
Craven Plate
1st Shower Of Roses 2 minutes 2.8 seconds
2nd So Assertive
3rd Mon Mekki
Craven Plate
1st Manner Hill 2 minutes 3.9 seconds
2nd Spillway
3rd Forest Jim
Craven Plate
1st The Man 1 minute 49.8 seconds
2nd Altiero
3rd Viva La Vie
Craven Plate
1st Yippyio 2 minutes 5.6 seconds
2nd Pravda
3rd Freemason