Cameron Handicap

The 2016 Cameron Handicap is a Group 3 event held at Newcastle Racecourse in mid-September.

Cameron Handicap News

Newcastle Over Winx Clash for Le Romain

Newcastle Over Winx Clash for Le Romain

Newcastle horseman Kris Lees has opted to run his Group 1 winner Le Romain at home in Friday’s Cameron Handicap over a clash with champion mare Winx at Randwick on Saturday. Winner of the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m) as a three-year-old in the autumn, Hard Spun gelding Le Romain is a dual acceptor this…

The 2016 Cameron Handicap is a Group 3 sprint raced over 1350 metres during the Newcastle Gold Cup Racing Carnival each September.

Held at Newcastle Racecourse, the Cameron Handicap is worth $150,000 in total prize money. The Cameron Handicap is held under open handicap conditions and usually attracts a fairly commendable field. Held on Newcastle Gold Cup Day on a Friday in mid-September, the Cameron Handicap usually draws horses from local and Sydney-based stables.

The Cameron Handicap is part of the two day Newcastle Spring Carnival, which involves three Group 3 races besides the Cameron Handicap; the Spring Stakes (1600m), Newcastle Gold Cup (2300m) and Tibbie Stakes (1400m).

Horses often seek to contend the Cameron Handicap following successful runs in other races held at Newcastle. The Group 2 Warwick Stakes (1400m) is another lead up race for Sydney horses. Some Sydney horses might seek to incorporate the Cameron Handicap into their spring campaigns and make the two hour journey up for the race.

The 2016 Cameron Handicap will be held on September 16th.

Cameron Handicap 2016
Date: September 16th, 2016
Track: Newcastle Racecourse
Distance: 1350m
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000

2016 Cameron Handicap Field

The 2016 Cameron Handicap field was released on Wednesday September 14 and features 10 final acceptors led by Randwick Guineas winner Le Romain who is also accepted for Randwick’s Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m) the following day.

Check out the official 2016 Cameron Handicap Final Field & Barrier Draw in the table below complete with the latest Cameron Handicap odds from

2016 Cameron Handicap Nominations

The 2016 Cameron Handicap nominations were released by Racing NSW on Monday September 12 and feature a bumper 20 early entries led by Kris Lees’ Group 1 winner Le Romain.

Read the full 2016 Cameron Handicap nominations, ballot and weights now.

Cameron Handicap History

The Cameron Handicap was inaugurated in 1937 and has continued to provide great racing entertainment since. The race is named after James George Cameron, who was born in Newcastle to a very large family. He built Cameron’s Family Hotel in Broadmeadow, a home on Cameron’s Hill and purchased land nearby the racecourse. Tibbie, after whom the Tibbie Stakes is named, was part-owned by Cameron. James George Cameron served the Newcastle Jockey Club as president for 25 years and was instrumental in the construction of Newcastle Racecourse.

The Cameron Handicap was a listed race from its inauguration until the 2005 edition ran as a Group 3 event for the first time. It has remained at that grade since. In 2011, the distance was changed to the current 1500m.

Notable Cameron Handicap winners include Luskin Star (1977), Cheval Cavalier (1990), Court’s In Session (2006) and Toydini (2013). Cameron Handicap results with winning times are listed below.

Cameron Handicap Results

Year Place Horse Time
Cameron Handicap
1st Chetwood 1 minute 18.3 seconds
2nd Le Romain
3rd Famous Seamus
Cameron Handicap
1st Forget 1 minute 29.6 seconds
2nd Malice
3rd Wouldnt It Be Nice
Cameron Handicap
1st Hooked 1 minute 32.3 seconds
2nd Rugged Cross
3rd Mighty Lucky
Cameron Handicap
1st Toydini 1 minute 29.1 seconds
2nd High Esteem
3rd Scream Machine
Cameron Handicap
1st Rolling Pin 1 minute 29.1 seconds
2nd Lightinthenite
3rd Offenders
Cameron Handicap
1st Raspberries 1 minute 29.6 seconds
2nd Light Brigade
3rd Kaunda
Cameron Handicap
1st Kenny’s World 1 minute 15.3 seconds
2nd Prince Braeman
3rd Chasm
Cameron Handicap
1st Absolutelyfabulous 1 minute 16.3 seconds
2nd Black Piranha
3rd McClintock
Cameron Handicap
1st Raheeb 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Ashikaga
3rd Falaise
Cameron Handicap
Race Not Held  
Cameron Handicap
1st Court’s In Session 1 minute 22.2 seconds
2nd Malcolm
3rd Mac’s Tune
Cameron Handicap
1st Collate 1 minute 23.2 seconds
2nd Mr Celebrity
3rd Cincinatti Gal
Cameron Handicap
1st Osca Warrior 1 minute 22.6 seconds
2nd Shamekha
3rd Tsuimai
Cameron Handicap
1st Archave 1 minute 22.4 seconds
2nd Britt’s Best
3rd Stoway
Cameron Handicap
1st Excellerator 1 minute 24.4 seconds
2nd Hey Pronto
3rd Mowerman
Cameron Handicap
1st Kingsgate 1 minute 17.3 seconds
2nd Lord Essex
3rd Maitland Gold
Cameron Handicap
1st Mulan Princess 1 minute 22.0 seconds
2nd Kenconcarne
3rd Spying