Warwick Stakes

The 2016 Warwick Stakes (1400m) is a Group 2 event held at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Warwick Stakes News

Winx in fine shape for third Cox Plate campaign

Winx in fine shape for third Cox Plate campaign

Trainer Chris Waller is ready to start mapping out a plan to win a third Group 1 $3m Ladbrokes Cox Plate (2040m) with super star Winx following her return to his Rosehill stables in fine order.

Winx, above, is being set for a third consecutive Cox Pl;ate win at Moonee Valley. Photo by Ultimate Racing Photos.

Waller is happy with ...

The 2016 Warwick Stakes is a quality Group 2 race held at the very start of the esteemed Sydney Spring Racing Carnival. The feature event of Warwick Stakes Day, the race is run over 1400m under weight-for-age conditions and is worth a generous $250,000 in total prize money. From 2013 onwards, the Warwick Stakes was been held at Royal Randwick Racecourse.

Runners in the Warwick Stakes may have previously competed in the Group 3 Missile Stakes (1100m), another weight-for-age event at Randwick two weeks prior. So it is always a good tip to watch for the dominant horses in these earlier weight-for-age events as an indication for your Warwick Stakes bets.

It is an exciting and often hard-to-predict race because of the range of entries it attracts. Good local sprinters and in form winter types compete alongside some classy interstate sprinters as well as staying types seeking a race with a bit more distance.

Warwick Stakes entries may progress on to the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes (1600m) in two weeks time if they are looking for a middle distance WFA event, or even the illustrious Group 1 George Main Stakes (1600m WFA) in September. The Warwick Stakes / George Main Stakes is a popular betting double at the carnival and horses to claim victory in both races include Lonhro (2003) and Defier (2002).

2016 Warwick Stakes
Date: August 20
Track: Warwick Farm Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
Inaugurated: 1923

2016 Warwick Stakes Field

The full 2016 Warwick Stakes field, barrier draw, jockeys, weights and latest Fixed Win odds from Ladbrokes.com.au are detailed in the table below.

Warwick Stakes History

The Warwick Stakes has a long and rich history dating back to its inaugural race in 1923 when Sunburst won. It started out as a principal race run over seven furlongs and the distance was converted to 1400m in 1972. Not long after in 1979 the event reached Group 2 status, one year before the mighty Kingston Town won his first of an eventual three successive Warwick Stakes in 1980. For one year in 2001 the race distance was decreased to 1300m and the event was not held in 2007 due to the equine virus.

Many quality horses have graced the Warwick Stakes and notable winners include Racing To Win (2008), Lonhro (2003 & 2001), Sunline (1991), Super Impose (1991 & 1990) and Groucho (1989).

Warwick Stakes Records
Time Record: 1:14.77 set by Al Mansour in 2000.
Most Successful Horse: Kingston Town won three successive Warwick Stakes in 1980, 1981 and 1982. He was ridden by jockey M. Johnston for all three victories; Johnston is the only hoop to win three Warwick Stakes in a row.
Most Successful Jockey: D. Munro won an incredible six Warwick Stakes with Rogilla (1935), Allunga (1937), Beaulivre (1940), Katanga (1943), Removal (1945) and Tarien (1954).
Multiple Winners: Johnnie Jason (1931 & 1932), Chatham (1933 & 1934), San Domenico (1949 & 1950), Tarien (1953 & 1954), Sky High (1961 & 1962), Gay Gauntlet (1965 & 1967), Super Impose (1990 & 1991), Filante (1996 & 1997), Lonhro (2001 & 2003) and of course Kingston Town (1980 – 1982).
Heaviest Weighted Victor (since 1970): Racing To Win (2008) with 59.0kg
Lightest Weighted Victor (since 1970): Silver Shadow (1975) with 47.5kg

Recent Warwick Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Warwick Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Warwick Stakes
1st Winx 1 minute 23.83 seconds
2nd Hartnell
3rd Rebel Dane
Warwick Stakes
1st Royal Descent 1 minute 21.57 seconds
2nd Pornichet
3rd Messene
Warwick Stakes
1st Tiger Tees 1 minute 27.73 seconds
2nd Royal Descent
3rd Criterion
Warwick Stakes
1st Veyron 1 minute 21.55 seconds
2nd Streama
3rd Rain Affair
Warwick Stakes
1st Pinwheel 1 minute 22.59 seconds
2nd Secret Admirer
3rd Danleigh
Warwick Stakes
1st Pinwheel 1 minute 25.86 seconds
2nd Ilovethiscity
3rd Startsmeup
Warwick Stakes
1st Metal Bender 1 minute 24.2 seconds
2nd Triple Honour
3rd Danleigh
Warwick Stakes
1st Trusting 1 minute 21.5 seconds
2nd O’lonhro
3rd Mr Baritone
Warwick Stakes
1st Racing To Win 1 minute 24.5 seconds
2nd Gallant Tess
3rd Danzippo
Warwick Stakes
Race Not Held  
Warwick Stakes
1st Courts In Session 1 minute 23.3 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Desert War
Warwick Stakes
1st Sir Dex 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Dizelle
3rd Sportsman
Warwick Stakes
1st Private Steer 1 minute 22.7 seconds
2nd So Assertive
3rd Niello
Warwick Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 24.3 seconds
2nd Clanalang
3rd Defier
Warwick Stakes
1st Defier 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Lonhro
3rd Republic Lass
Warwick Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 17.3 seconds
2nd Diamond Dane
3rd Shogun Lodge
Warwick Stakes
1st Al Mansour 1 minute 14.7 seconds
2nd Hire
3rd Celestial Choir