St George Stakes

St George Stakes News

2017 Australian Cup Aim for Exospheric

2017 Australian Cup Aim for Exospheric

Half of the Team Freedman training duo Lee Freedman has confirmed plans to target the Australian Cup 2017 with last year’s Caulfield Cup placegetter Exospheric.

Imported Caulfield Cup placegetter Exospheric targets the Australian Cup 2017 this autumn in Melbourne. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

At just his second start down under the British import finished a brave third behind the ...

The 2016 St George Stakes (now known as the Peter Young Stakes) is a Group 2 thoroughbred race held mid-way through the Melbourne Autumn Racing Carnival on Blue Diamond Stakes Day in February at Caulfield.

The Peter Young Stakes is a middle distance race run over 1800m under weight-for-age conditions and is worth $220,000. It is the first weight-for-age race at the carnival run over a distance greater than 1400m and so attracts a quality field of runners seeking a bit more distance.

There are an incredible eight group races held at the meeting including three Group 1 events, the Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m), the Oakleigh Plate (1100m) and the Futurity Stakes (1600m). The other Group 2 races on the day are the Autumn Stakes (1400m), Angus Armanasco Stakes (1400m) and the Caulfield Autumn Classic (1800m). Finally there is one Group 3 race, the Mannerism Stakes (1400m).

The date for the 2016 Peter Young Stakes will be 27th of February, 2016.

Horses running in the Peter Young Stakes may have previously contested the Group 1 CF Orr Stakes two weeks prior. The St George Stakes is also an ideal lead-up to the premier weight-for-age race of the carnival, the $1million Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) held a fortnight later on Flemington’s Super Saturday of Racing. The St George Stakes has been a terrific guide to the Australian Cup over the years with many champions of the Australian turf winning both races including Pompeii Ruler (2007), Lonhro (2004), Northerly (2002 & 2003), Istidaad (1999), Dane Ripper (1998), Durbridge (1994 & 1995) and Let’s Elope (1992).


Peter Young Stakes
Date: 27th of February, 2016
Racecourse: Caulfield Racecourse
Distance: 1800m
Conditions: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $200,000
Inaugurated: 1900

Peter Young Stakes Field

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 120x1266x0 FAWKNER Robert Hickmott Nicholas Hall 13 59kg 116
2 x6050208x0 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Ms Jamie Kah 2 59kg 111
3 10x1610x70 MOURINHO Peter Gelagotis Craig Newitt 12 59kg 112
4 16x7x9230x OUR IVANHOWE (GER) Lee & Anthony Freedman Ben Melham 1 59kg 112
5 x5383482x0 MESSENE Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James Winks 3 59kg 105
6 260x900x2x LIDARI (FR) Darren Weir Brad Rawiller 7 59kg 103
7 6x5067101x ALMOONQITH (USA) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Damian Lane 10 59kg 107
8 1x6x6x20x0 BOW CREEK (IRE) John O’Shea Damien Oliver 9 59kg 109
9 x8x52415x2 HE OR SHE David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 4 59kg 96
10 34x30721x0 AWESOME ROCK Leon & Troy Corstens Stephen Baster 14 59kg 96
11 0x4098035x DON DOREMO (NZ) Robbie Laing Ms Michelle Payne 8 59kg 90
12 2x620027x0 RISING ROMANCE (NZ) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Craig Williams 11 57kg 108
13 412x9102x9 FENWAY Lee & Shannon Hope Mark Zahra 5 57kg 106
14 13x300x93x DO YOU REMEMBER (SAF) Peter G Moody Luke Nolen 6 57kg 95

Peter Young Stakes Nominations

St George Stakes History

The St George Stakes is one of the older Australian thoroughbred races having first run in 1900 when Parthian claimed victory. It began as a Principal race run over nine furlongs and continued under the same status and distance right up until 1973 when Australia adopted the metric system and converted the race distance to 1800m. Through that time there was only one year when the St George Stakes was not held, 1921.

In 1979 the St George Stakes was elevated to Group 2 status and the race length was dramatically shortened to 1200m for one year. The following year in 1980 the distance reverted back to 1800m. In 1982 the distance decreased to 1600m, then in 1983 it was run over 1800m, in 1984 it shortened again to 1600m for four years until 1988 when it went back to the distance it remains today 1800m, except for one year in 1995 it was run over 2000m.

Recent St George Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
St George Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
St George Stakes
1st Mourinho 1 minute 48.0 seconds
2nd Happy Trails
3rd Akzar
St George Stakes
1st Fiorente 1 minute 50.09 seconds
2nd Mourayan
3rd Star Rolling
St George Stakes
1st Foreteller 1 minute 50.97 seconds
2nd Mr Moet
3rd Budriguez
St George Stakes
1st Lucas Cranach 1 minute 48.8 seconds
2nd Illo
3rd Manighar
St George Stakes
1st Heart Of Dreams 1 minute 48.8 seconds
2nd Precedence
3rd Spacecraft
St George Stakes
1st La Rocket 1 minute 49.04 seconds
2nd Heart Of Dreams
3rd Miss Maren
St George Stakes
1st Theseo 1 minute 47.8 seconds
2nd Baughurst
3rd Zarita
St George Stakes
1st Princess Coup 1 minute 51 seconds
2nd Sirmione
3rd Douro Valley
St George Stakes
1st Pompeii Ruler 1 minute 49.2 seconds
2nd Marasco
3rd Aqua D’Amore
St George Stakes
1st Our Smoking Joe 1 minute 50.2 seconds
2nd Lad Of The Manor
3rd Vroom Vroom
St George Stakes
1st Elvstroem 1 minute 49.5 seconds
2nd Makybe Diva
3rd Casual Pass
St George Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 50.9 seconds
2nd Sound Journey
3rd Mummify
St George Stakes
1st Northerly 1 minute 51.8 seconds
2nd Fields Of Omagh
3rd Mr Casanova
St George Stakes
1st Northerly 1 minute 49.2 seconds
2nd Old Comrade
3rd Piper Star
St George Stakes
1st Cent Home 1 minute 47.1 seconds
2nd Giovana
3rd Kaapstad Way
St George Stakes
1st Royal Voyage 1 minute 49.1 seconds
2nd Oliver Twist
3rd Arena