Royal Sovereign Stakes

Royal Sovereign Stakes News

2016 Arrowfield 3YO Sprint Results: Japonisme Beats Counterattack

2016 Arrowfield 3YO Sprint Results: Japonisme Beats Counterattack

Group 1 winner Japonisme led the all Chris Waller-trained quinella in the Arrowfield 3YO Sprint 2016 at Royal Randwick Racecourse this Saturday in Sydney holding on by a nose to beat stablemate Counterattack in the half-a-million-dollar feature.

Chris Waller scored the 2016 Arrowfield 3YO Sprint Quinella with Japonisme (centre, pink cap) beating home stablemate Counterattack (outside). Photo: Steve Hart....

The 2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes is a Group 2 sprint race for three year old colts and geldings. Once again held at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse, having previously had a stint at Warwick Farm Racecourse, in April each year the 1200m race requires each runner in the field to carry a set weight of 56.0kg.

Worth $500,000 in prize money, the Royal Sovereign Stakes is a good lead up race to bigger events later in the year.

The Royal Sovereign Stakes runs on Sydney Cup Day alongside four Group 1 races. These are the $4 million Queen Elizabeth Stakes, the Australian Oaks, the Queen Of The Turf Stakes and the coveted Sydney Cup. The race day also features listed three-year-olds sprint the South Pacific Classic, and the Group 3 Royal Randwick Stakes.

The Royal Sovereign Stakes 2016 will be run on Saturday 9th April, 2016.

2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes Field

The 2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes field is published here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 x111229x15 SCISSOR KICK Paul Messara Tye Angland 7 56.5kg 102
2 114x10x37 RUBICK Gerald Ryan Joao Moreira 3 56.5kg 102
3 1x4342x207 DELECTATION Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 11 56.5kg 90
4 5x11113x32 KURO (NZ) Joseph Pride Blake Shinn 12 56.5kg 100
5 7x17520x86 NOSTRADAMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Zac Purton 9 56.5kg 86
6 127x418x78 SOLDI DOMANI Bryan Dais Damien Oliver 6 56.5kg 74
7 12124×1 CONFEDERATE Gai Waterhouse Kerrin McEvoy 5 56.5kg 72
8 321 PUZZLING WONDER Anthony Cummings Christian Reith 1 56.5kg 67
9 3616x REKINDLED POWER Paul Messara Craig Williams 2 56.5kg 65
10 1x1121x662 MOSSFUN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 10 54.5kg 103
11 2x3318x025 EARTHQUAKE John O’Shea James McDonald 8 54.5kg 102
12 313x18740x BRING ME THE MAID Peter G Moody Chad Schofield 4 54.5kg 96
2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes
Date: 9th April, 2016
Track: Royal Randwick
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 3YO Colts & Geldings Set Weights 56.0kg
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000

2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes Nominations

Below is the list of the 2016 Royal Sovereign Stakes Nominations.

No Horse Trainer Ballot Weight Hcp Rating
1 MOSSFUN Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 1 54.5kg 103
2 EARTHQUAKE John O’Shea 2 54.5kg 102
3 BRING ME THE MAID Peter G Moody 3 54.5kg 96
4 SCISSOR KICK Paul Messara 4 56.5kg 102
5 RUBICK Gerald Ryan 5 56.5kg 102
6 DELECTATION Chris Waller 6 56.5kg 90
7 KURO (NZ) Joseph Pride 7 56.5kg 100
8 NOSTRADAMUS Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 8 56.5kg 86
9 SOLDI DOMANI Bryan Dais 9 56.5kg 74
10 CONFEDERATE Gai Waterhouse 10 56.5kg 72
11 REKINDLED POWER Paul Messara 11 56.5kg 65
12 PUZZLING WONDER Anthony Cummings 12 56.5kg 67

Royal Sovereign Stakes History

First won by Acamar in 1979, the Royal Sovereign Stakes quickly changed to Group 3 status in 1981. In 1996 the Royal Sovereign Stakes was elevated to be a Group 2 event.

Since its inauguration in 1979, the fastest winning time for the Royal Sovereign Stakes was recorded by Guineas in 1998 with 1 minute 3.66 seconds. The slowest winning time was recorded in 1981 by Trench Digger with 1 minute 15.8 seconds.

Recent Royal Sovereign Stakes Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Royal Sovereign Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Japonisme 1 minute 10.3 seconds
2nd Counterattack
3rd Takedown
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Delectation 1 minute 11.7 seconds
2nd Bring Me The Maid
3rd Rekindled Power
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Sidestep 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Bounding
3rd In Cahoots
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Rebel Dane 1 minute 10.8 seconds
2nd Urquidez
3rd Taxmeifyoucan
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Hot Schnitzel 1 minute 08.9 seconds
2nd Manawanui
3rd Moment of Change
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Master Harry 1 minute 10.2 seconds
2nd Audacious Spirit
3rd Skilled
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Shoot Out 1 minute 10.74 seconds
2nd More Than Great
3rd Viking Legend
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Youthful Jack 1 minute 11.32 seconds
2nd Over The Wicket
3rd Desuetude
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st El Cambio 1 minute 10.33 seconds
2nd Kingda Ka
3rd Solo Flyer
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Mutawaajid 1 minute 9.58 seconds
2nd Sniper’s Bullet
3rd Mearas
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Flying Pegasus 1 minute 10.01 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd De Beers
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Dance Hero 1 minute 10.05 seconds
2nd Eremein
3rd Star Cat
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Exceed And Excel 1 minute 8.27 seconds
2nd Ambulance
3rd Impaler
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Athelnoth 1 minute 10.18 seconds
2nd Planchet
3rd Charlie Bub
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Lonhro 1 minute 11.06 seconds
2nd Viking Ruler
3rd Shags
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Assertive Lad 1 minute 9.91 seconds
2nd Continum
3rd Century Kid
Royal Sovereign Stakes
1st Hire 1 minute 9.92 seconds
2nd Easy Rocking
3rd Condotti