Golden Rose Stakes

The 2016 Golden Rose Stakes is an exciting Group 1 event worth $1 million prize money.

Golden Rose Stakes News

O’Shea Wins 2016 Golden Rose Stakes Again with Astern

O’Shea Wins 2016 Golden Rose Stakes Again with Astern

Godolphin and trainer John O’Shea enjoyed their second Golden Rose Stakes success in as many years with Astern getting the job done in devastating style in the 2016 edition of the Rosehill Gardens classic.

2016 Golden Rose winner Astern went back-to-back for John O’Shea in the Rosehill Gardens classic. Photo: Steve Hart.

Last Sydney Spring Racing Carnival the stable took ...

The 2016 Golden Rose Stakes is a 1400m sprint race held at Rosehill Racecourse in early September each season. The $1 million race is the richest event in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival for three-year-olds and attracts a great group of youngsters every year. As a set weight race, colts and geldings are required to carry 55.5kg and fillies must carry 53.5kg.

Golden Rose Stakes 2016
Date: Saturday September 10 , 2016
Track: Rosehill Racecourse
Distance: 1400m
Race Type: 3YO Set Weights C&G 55.5kg, F 53.5kg
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000

2016 Golden Rose Stakes Field

The 2016 Golden Rose Stakes field has attracted 14 final acceptors with the three-year-olds classic led by the likes of Chris Waller’s classy filly Omei Sword and the John O’Shea-trained Run To The Roses winner Astern.

Check out the official Golden Rose Stakes 2016 field and barrier draw along with the latest Fixed Win odds provided by below.

2016 Golden Rose Nominations

The 2016 Golden Rose nominations were released on August 5 and feature 205 three-year-old hopefuls.

See below for the Top 40 Golden Rose Stakes nominations in the pre-field Golden Rose betting markets provided by

Golden Rose History

Inaugurated in its current name and format in 2003, the Golden Rose was elevated to Group 2 status in 2007 and became a Group 1 race in 2009. Many horses come from the 1300m The Run to the Rose, the 1200m Up and Coming Stakes or the 1200m Silver Shadow Stakes. The race’s fastest winning time was in 2007 when Forensics crossed the finish line in 1 minute 22.43 seconds whereas In Top Swing won with the slowest time of 1 minute 23.99 seconds in 2003.

In 2015 Exosphere won the Golden Rose Stakes before backing-up to take out the Group 2 Roman Consul Stakes (1200m) at Randwick in October.

Recent Golden Rose Winners

Year Place Horse Time
Golden Rose Stakes
2nd TBD
3rd TBD
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Astern 1 minute 23.9 seconds
2nd Omei Sword
3rd Impending
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Exosphere 1 minute 21.83 seconds
2nd Speak Fondly
3rd Sebring Sun
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Hallowed Crown 1 minute 24.0 seconds
2nd Scissor Kick
3rd Shooting To Win
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Zoustar 1 minute 22.51 seconds
2nd Dissident
3rd Bull Point
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Epaulette 1 minute 22.3 seconds
2nd Albrecht
3rd Ashokan
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Manawanui 1 minute 23.32 seconds
2nd Smart Missile
3rd Helmet
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Toorak Toff 1 minute 21.9 seconds
2nd Squamosa
3rd Ilovethiscity
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Denman 1 minute 22.8 seconds
2nd Trusting
3rd Stryker
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Duporth 1 minute 23.81 seconds
2nd Stripper
3rd Desuetude
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Forensics 1 minute 22.43 seconds
2nd El Cambio
3rd Kingda Ka
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Court Command 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Empires Choice
3rd Mentality
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Paratroopers 1 minute 23.52 seconds
2nd Racing To Win
3rd Pendragon
Golden Rose Stakes
1st Doonan 1 minute 23.1 seconds
2nd Al Maher
3rd Lieutenant
Golden Rose Stakes
1st In Top Swing 1 minute 23.99
2nd Handsome Ransom
3rd Ashenti