Cox Plate Field

2017 Cox Plate Results

  • 1st: #8 Winx
  • 2nd: #3 Humidor
  • 3rd: #5 Folkswood

Each year the Ladbrokes Cox Plate field attracts a star-studded line-up of the best local and international weight-for-age horses. Run on a Saturday in late October at the notoriously tight Moonee Valley Racecourse, the Cox Plate field has a capacity of 14 starters plus four emergencies.

A large number of foreign raiders seek entry into the Ladbrokes Cox Plate field each year, and every year the Moonee Valley Racing Club (MVRC) extends an official Cox Plate invitation to a number of top international runners.

Ladbrokes Cox Plate nominations are taken in early August followed by a number of acceptance stages to whittle-down the hopeful runners to the official Cox Plate field, which is announced on the Tuesday of race week.

Cox Plate Field

The Ladbrokes Cox Plate Final Field & Barriers were released on Tuesday October 24, 2017 and drew 9 final acceptors led by Winx.

See below for the full Ladbrokes Cox Plate 2017 Field, following the link to read more on the super star mare Winx chasing her third title and the eight brave rivals taking her on including two for Darren Weir saddling-up Humidor out of last weekend’s Caulfield Cup and last start Ladbrokes Stakes winner Gailo Chop.

2017 Cox Plate Field Update: Kaspersky Out, Winx Still $1.16

# Form (Last 10) Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp. Rating
1 x2125x1212 HAPPY CLAPPER Patrick Webster Damien Oliver 9 59kg 120
2 1x37x01431 GAILO CHOP (FR) Darren Weir Mark Zahra 4 59kg 117
3 2212×68135 HUMIDOR (NZ) Darren Weir Blake Shinn 8 59kg 122
4 37×5252720 KASPERSKY (IRE) Jane Chapple-Hyam Ms. Michelle Payne 2 59kg 113
5 2x212235x1 FOLKSWOOD (GB) Charlie Appleby Kerrin McEvoy 5 59kg 113
6 82x060x005 SEABURGE David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Regan Bayliss 1 57.5kg 115
7 x6713x7120 HARDHAM David Brideoake Luke Nolen 3 57.5kg 116
8 x1111x1111 WINX Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 6 57kg 132
9 111×144 ROYAL SYMPHONY Tony McEvoy Dean Yendall 7 49.5kg 110

2017 Ladbrokes Cox Plate Field Dates

  • Cox Plate 2017 Nominations: Midday Tuesday August 8, 2017 – attracted 141 entries 
  • Cox Plate 2017 First Acceptances: Midday Tuesday September 12, 2017 – drew 79 first acceptances
  • Cox Plate 2017 Second Acceptances: Midday  Tuesday September 26, 2017 – featured 48 hopefuls
  • Cox Plate 2017 Third Acceptances: Midday Tuesday October 10, 2017 – left 36 weight-for-age horses
  • Cox Plate 2017 Final Field: Released Tuesday October 24, 2017 – official Final Field of 9 hopefuls

Betting on the Cox Plate Field

The updated Cox Plate odds on the runners in the Cox Plate field courtesy of the race sponsor are listed below, with Cox Plate betting dominated in 2017 by the dual defending champion Winx.

2017 Cox Plate First Acceptances

The official Ladbrokes Cox Plate 2017 First Acceptances were announced on Tuesday September 12, 2017 and of the 79 remaining weight-for-age hopefuls all the money is on the Chris Waller-trained Winx to win the classic for the third straight year.

View the 2017 Ladbrokes Cox Plate First Acceptances now.

2017 Cox Plate Second Acceptances

The Cox Plate 2017 Second Acceptances were taken on Tuesday September 26, 2017 leaving 48 hopefuls including five international raiders. Leading the Cox Plate second acceptors is Hall of Fame mare Winx who is the dual defending champion. Seven three-year-olds are still in the mix for the weight-for-age classic, but Winx is the one to beat.

Read more on the 2017 Ladbrokes Cox Plate Second Acceptances now.

2017 Cox Plate Third Acceptances

The Ladbrokes Cox Plate Third Acceptances 2017 closed on Tuesday October 10, 2017 and just 36 horses remain in the mix. All but the superstar mare Winx, who is now odds-on at $1.20 in pre-field Cox Plate betting after winning the Turnbull Stakes, are likely running for second at best in the Cox Plate results on October 28. The other notable Cox Plate 2017 third acceptors include Epsom Handicap winner Happy Clapper and Hartnell who ran second in last year’s Cox Plate quinella.

Check out all the facts on the 2017 Ladbrokes Cox Plate Third Acceptances now.



Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: L...

2018 Eye Liner Stakes field: Lucky Hussler draws barrier 2

The Darren Weir trained Lucky Hussler heads up the final field for the 2018...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?