VRC Derby Calls 2017 Ladbrokes Classic Winner Cliff’s Edge

October 21, 2017

VRC Derby Calls 2017 Ladbrokes Classic Winner Cliff’s Edge

Trainer Darren Weir is likely to press onto the 2017 VRC Derby with his progressive young stayer Cliff’s Edge who powered home for a dominant Ladbrokes Classic win on Caulfield Cup Day.

Cliff's Edge

Ladbrokes Classic winner Cliff’s Edge is onto the 2017 Victoria Derby at Flemington on Day 1 of the Melbourne Cup Carnival. Photo: Ultimate Racing Photos.

The Canford Cliffs colt won at Caulfield over the mile two back before being found out at Flemington on October 7, run down late by Main Stage for a second in the Listed UCI Stakes (1800m).

Returning to his preferred track at Caulfield on Saturday for the Group 3 $350,000 Ladbrokes Classic (2000m), registered as the Norman Robinson Stakes, Cliff’s Edge was always going to be a danger.

“The run [in the UCI Stakes] definitely toughened him up,” Weir said post-win on Cup Day.

“Getting back to Caulfield, where he dictated and was able to kick on the corner.”

Extending out to the 2000m for the first time, the up-and-comer was given a perfectly-timed ride by the in-form Irish hoop John Allen who was backing-up from a successful day out at Warrnambool yesterday where he rode four winners for Weir.

Allen steadily worked up on Cliff’s Edge after the jump to take up the lead from Ataraxia, while the Chris Waller-trained Tangled got a cushy run throughout in third.

The James Cummings-trained UCI Stakes winner Main Stage meanwhile was tucked away fifth on the fence, needing luck to work into contention as the pace quickened approaching the turn for home.

Allen still hadn’t asked Cliff’s Edge for anything 400m out and by the 300m the horse had far too much left in the tank having dictated the pace throughout, working up through the gears.

All the other runners were left chasing as Allen went for home on the front-runner, Cliff’s Edge ($3.80) ultra-impressive powering late and bolting home to score by two and a half lengths from Tangled ($5).

It was a photo for third, Main Stage ($3.90) just holding on to round out the Ladbrokes Classic trifecta ahead of the race roughie Aberro ($31).

“Today he switched off beautiful,” Allen said.

“I knew when I gave a little squeeze at the 600m…he had plenty left there.

“He did it with a bit of ease.

“He’s improved every start and gone from strength-to-strength.”

The Ladbrokes Classic is a traditional lead-up into the Group 1 $1.5 million Victoria Derby (2500m) run at Flemington on Saturday November 4 during the Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Weir is yet to prepare a Victoria Derby winner but on the strength of today’s win, is keen to give Cliff’s Edge the chance to do the Norman Robinson Stakes – VRC Derby double for the first time since Polanski (2013).

“He’s got a great racing style,” Weir said.

“He loves bowling along in front and relaxes so well.

“I don’t really know [about the VRC Derby], I suppose you’d have to have a throw at the stumps the way he went today.

“We’ll have a look how he pulls up and decide from there.”

To back the Ladbrokes Classic winner Cliff’s Edge at his updated price in VRC Derby 2017 betting, head to Ladbrokes.com.au today.

2017 Ladbrokes Classic Results

Caulfield Race 4 – 21/10/2010

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Weight SP
1 2 CLIFF’S EDGE Darren Weir John Allen 8 57kg $3.80F
2 1 TANGLED Chris Waller Blake Shinn 2.75L 5 57kg $5
3 4 MAIN STAGE (NZ) Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young Mark Zahra 5L 1 57kg $4
4 6 ABERRO Matt Laurie Ben Melham 5.1L 2 57kg $31
5 3 ESHTIRAAK David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Kerrin McEvoy 5.2L 6 57kg $12
6 7 TAVISTOCK ABBEY (NZ) Anthony Freedman Luke Currie 8.45L 4 57kg $6.50
7 8 SWEET MISCHIEF Tony McEvoy Joao Moreira 9.95L 3 55kg $31
8 5 ATARAXIA James Cummings Hugh Bowman 10.35L 7 57kg $9

Racing fields and data are copyright 2011-2018 © Racing Australia Pty Ltd (RA) (and other parties working with it).
Racing materials, including fields, form and results, is subject to copyright which is owned by RA and other parties working with it. Full copyright notice.

Spring Racing

Brave Smash to race in Chris W...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbou...

Rogerson Dreams of 2018 Melbourne Cup Win with Surrey

A son of triple Melbourne Cup hero Makybe Diva, Surrey, could develop into a...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feat...

The Everest 2018 Field to Feature Redzel

Inaugural champion Redzel has officially secured his position in the 2018 The...

2018 The Everest Field Takes S...

2018 The Everest Field Takes Shape: In Her Time Confirmed

She missed out on a shot at the world’s richest race on turf last spring but...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 Th...

Trapeze Artist Secures 2018 The Everest Slot for Aquis

The first official slot in The Everest 2018 field has been confirmed with...

Horse Racing Today

Calanda to carry top weight in...

Tradesman is top weight for 20...

Tradesman is top weight for 2018 Tattersall’s Cup

Ipswich Cup winner Tradesman has been given the top weight for Saturday’s...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Ta...

Bumper Nominations for 2018 Tattersall’s Club Tiara

The last Group 1 of the current racing season is set to have a capacity field...

Moss ‘N’ Dale chal...

Moss ‘N’ Dale challenging for favouritism in 2018 Eye Liner Stakes betting

Victorian sprinter Moss ‘N‘ Dale is making a solid bid for favouritism for the...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ips...

Final field of 11 for 2018 Ipswich Cup

A final field of eleven will line up in the 2018 Listed $175,000 Channel 7...

Race Results

Viewed Victorious in Caulfield Cup

Race 1 Result – $101 500 AGL Renewable Energy Stakes – She’s Got Gears Wins

Race 2 – $101,500 Schiavello Plate – Avienus Wins

Race 3 – $101 500 Lavazza A Modo Mio – Linton Street Wins

Race 4 Results – $151,500 Listed Herald Sun Stakes – Strawberry Field Wins

Race Previews

2009 Caulfield Cup Barrier Draw Announced

Who Are the Top Contenders for Tomorrow’s Caulfield Cup?

Victoria Derby in sight for Onemorenomore

2009 Melbourne Cup Field

Eclipse Stakes Final Field & Preview

Fields & Form

SA Fillies Classic 2013 Field Released

The Goodwood Day Fields – National Stakes 2013

Adelaide Cup Winner Riayla Heads RA Lee Stakes Field 2013

Linton Continues Stradbroke Handicap 2013 Campaign in Adelaide

Can Moody Score Second Goodwood With Moment Of Change?