2013 Manikato Stakes Form & Betting Guide

This Friday night under the lights at Moonee Valley Racecourse the first of the weekend’s two Group 1 features will take place with the Manikato Stakes 2013 taking centre stage.


Race favourite Samaready is out to become the sixth punters' pick in 11 years to win the Manikato Stakes. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

There are 12 sprinters in the mix for this year’s $1 million Group 1 Sportingbet Manikato Stakes (1200m) which is set to bring the evening’s proceedings to a close as Moonee Valley Race 8 at 10:00pm (AEST).

Current favourite in Manikato Stakes betting at a short $2.70 is former star juvenile Samaready, Mick Price’s mare after her third win from as many starts this time in.

The now four-year-old daughter of More Than Ready resumed off a 12 month injury enforced break at Caulfield in August to post her fifth career win at start number seven.

She added more gold to the trophy cabinet and became a dual Group 1 winner, Samaready having won the 2013 Blue Diamond Stakes as a two-year-old, last start with a blistering four length victory in the Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m).

In gate seven again with Craig Newitt continuing his association, she looks the one to beat in the Manikato.

Her main dangers are then perceived to be Rob Heathcote’s Moir Stakes runner-up Buffering ($6.50) who lines up in their 18th Group 1 race, Hong Kong sprint star Lucky Nine ($7) in their Australian race debut, last start Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes winner Rebel Dane ($11) dropping back in distance and the Chris Waller-trained Arinosa ($11) who won the Group 2 Premiere takes (1200m) narrowly first-up in Sydney.

This is what the Manikato Stakes betting markets have to say, but what about the form guide and betting history?

Having gone over all the statistics below are the must know Manikato Stakes facts to have you tipping the winner online at Ladbrokes.com.au this weekend!

2013 Manikato Stakes Form Facts & Betting Stats

  • Last year’s Manikato Stakes winner was the then John O’Shea-trained Sea Siren who won first-up from barrier five (of 10) with Jim Cassidy aboard
  • This year two hopefuls are first-up with #1 Lucky Nine ($7) and #5 Shamexpress ($14)
  • Since 1997 six Manikato Stakes winners were resuming off a spell, another nine all placed at their final run
  • Last year’s winning barrier (5) on Friday belongs to #8 Sessions ($17), with Sea Siren the only horse in the past 30 years to win from that gate
  • The next best barriers since 1983 with four wins each have then been 1, 4, 6 and 10 drawn this year by #4 Bel Sprinter ($13), #1 Lucky Nine ($7), #6 Moment Of Change ($19) and #2 Buffering ($6.50) respectively
  • Barriers 2, 3 and 9 meanwhile haven’t produced a Manikato winner in the past three decades – a hoodoo out to be broken this year by #5 Shamepxress (2), #11 Diamond Earth (3) and #7 Rebel Dane (9)
  • There are four last start winners in the Manikato field this year with #1 Lucky Nine (Group 1 Krisflyer International Sprint, 1200m, Kranji, Singapore, 19/05/2013), #7 Rebel Dane (Group 1 Sir Rupert Clarke Stakes, 1400m, Caulfield, 29/09/2013), #10 Samaready (Group 1 Moir Stakes, 1200m, Moonee Valley, 27/09/2013) and #12 Arinosa (Group 2 Premiere Stakes, 1200m, Randwick, 05/10/2013)
  • Over the distance the horses with the best form include #1 Lucky Nine (21-8-5-2), #2 Buffering (22-7-6-3), #5 Shamexpress (6-2-1-2), #6 Moment Of Change (6-2-1-1), #7 Rebel Dane (4-3-0-0), #9 Le Bonsir (13-5-2-3), #10 Samaready (4-3-0-1) and #12 Arinosa (9-4-1-0)
  • At the Moonee Valley track those with a great record include #2 Buffering (6-2-1-1), #4 Bel Sprinter (4-2-0-0), #5 Shamexpress (1-1-0-0), #9 Le Bonsir (6-3-0-2), #10 Samaready (1-1-0-0) and #11 Diamond Earth (2-1-0-0)
  • There are then three horses to have won at the Track & Distance with #2 Buffering (5-1-1-1), #9 Le Bonsir (6-3-0-2) and #10 Samaready (1-1-0-0)
  • The horse with the best Win Rate in the field is the favourite #10 Samaready ($2.70) with 75% followed by #7 Rebel Dane (60%) and #8 Sessions (56%)
  • The highest Place Rate then belongs to #8 Sessions ($17) with 89% followed by #10 Samaready (88%), #2 Buffering (74%), #6 Moment Of Change (73%), #1 Lucky Nine (71%) and #7 Rebel Dane (70%)
  • Mares have a great recent record in the Manikato with recent winners including Sea Siren (2012), Gold Edition (2007) and Miss Andrettie (2006);  the mares in this year’s race are #10 Samaready ($2.70), #11 Diamond Earth ($101) and #12 Arinosa ($11)
  • In the past 10 years just one horse Danleigh (2009) has won at more than $8.50 favouring the single-figure fancies which this year are #10 Samaready ($2.70), #2 Buffering ($6.50) and #1 Lucky Nine ($7)
  • Favourites also have a great strike rate winning five of the past 10 editions at an average price of $2.69 – very close to the current $2.70 this year’s favourite #10 Samaready is paying to win

Stay tuned to Races.com.au for our insider Manikato Stakes 2013 betting tips to be published before Friday night’s feature.

In the meantime why not check out the markets currently available online at Ladbrokes.com.au and lock in the guaranteed best prices on your early selections at the bookie offering DOUBLE the Cox Plate odds this weekend!

2013 Manikato Stakes Field & Form Guide

Moonee Valley Race 8 – 10:00pm (AEST) – 25/10/2013

*All odds quoted are Fixed Win from Ladbrokes.com.au and subject to change