Roma Cup

The 2015 Roma Cup is a Group 3 race held at Belmont Park Racecourse in Perth on Saturday, May 16th 2015.

Roma Cup News

2015 Roma Cup Betting Odds & Tips

2015 Roma Cup Betting Odds & Tips

The Perth Autumn Racing Carnival feature race this weekend runs at Belmont Racecourse with the Roma Cup 2015, betting tips for the weight-for-age sprint detailed right here.

Luckygray is the race favourite and tip to win the 2015 Roma Cup in Perth this Saturday. Photo: Sarah Ebbett.

A diminutive field of just nine hopefuls is set to line-up ...

The 2015 Roma Cup is a Group 3 race held annually during either May or June at Belmont Park Racecourse. Contested under weight for age conditions over 1200m, the Roma Cup is one of the most anticipated sprints in Western Australian racing.

The 2015 Roma Cup is the feature race on Roma Cup Day (known as Italian Day in 2014) and as such attracts a bumper crowd of race fans. Paying $125,000 prize money, the Roma Cup attracts talented sprinters from all around the state, putting on a fine display of Western Australian pedigree. Few interstate horses make the journey, although occasionally a few can be found amongst the field.

The Roma Cup is often contested by the same horses seeking the double header with the Belmont Sprint, which was last achieved by Grand Nirvana’s pair of wins in 2011. The Roma Cup is a fairly reliable form guide for the Belmont Sprint, as both honour rolls have a lot of names in common.

The 2015 Roma Cup will run on Saturday May 16, 2015.

Roma Cup
Date: Saturday May 16, 2015
Track: Belmont Park Racecourse
Distance: 1200m
Race Type: 2YO+ WFA
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $125,000

2015 Roma Cup Field

The 2015 Roma Cup field is provided here.

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight
1 9604125x4x LUCKYGRAY Trevor Andrews Shaun O’Donnell 2 58.5kg
2 522x9780x4 RANGER Adam Durrant Joseph Azzopardi (a) 5 58.5kg
3 x1341224x2 SHINING KNIGHT Grant Williams Peter Hall 7 58.5kg
4 1x4327036x RESPONDENT Adam Durrant Ms Lucy Warwick (a) 3 58.5kg
5 48×9053231 ZESTER Daniel Morton Ms Jerry Noske (a) 9 58.5kg
6 2261115231 DAWN APPROACH Vaughn Sigley Takahide Ikenushi 6 58.5kg
7 3467x41x9x MODELLO Lindsey Smith Troy Turner 4 58.5kg
8 2111158×43 ROCK MAGIC Chris Gangemi Jarrad Noske 8 58.5kg
9 114x21255x FUCHSIA BANDANA Darren Mcauliffe Ben Kennedy 1 56.5kg

2015 Roma Cup Nominations

No Last 10 Horse Sex Age Trainer Weight
1 2261115231 DAWN APPROACH G 4 Vaughn Sigley 58.5kg
2 9604125x4x LUCKYGRAY G 7 Trevor Andrews 58.5kg
3 3467x41x9x MODELLO G 6 Lindsey Smith 58.5kg
4 522x9780x4 RANGER G 8 Adam Durrant 58.5kg
5 1x4327036x RESPONDENT G 4 Adam Durrant 58.5kg
6 2111158×43 ROCK MAGIC G 5 Chris Gangemi 58.5kg
7 x1341224x2 SHINING KNIGHT G 6 Grant Williams 58.5kg
8 2311319×12 SURPARK G 6 Sonya Price 58.5kg
9 48×9053231 ZESTER G 8 Daniel Morton 58.5kg
10 1211×12 LIBERTY’S GEM G 3 Simon A Miller 57kg
11 114x21255x FUCHSIA BANDANA M 4 Darren Mcauliffe 56.5kg

Roma Cup History

The Roma Cup was first run in 1966, with Summer Storm claiming the inaugural victory. Initially run as a principal race over 1400m (1600m in 1974), the Roma Cup received Group 3 status in 1980. At this time, the race length was adjusted to 1200m where it has since remained.

Due to its favour with local horses, some names can be found over several years amongst the Roma Cup results. Grand Nirvana won in 2009, placed third in 2010, won in 2011, placed third in 2012, and while he didn’t run in 2013, he will be making a bid for a third victory in 2014. Luckygray, well known WA horse, won in 2012. Power Princess returned from a second place in 2011 and a scratching in 2012 to seize victory in 2013.

Roma Cup results since 2000 are detailed below.

Roma Cup Results

Year Place Horse Time
Roma Cup
1st Luckygray 1 minute 12.2 seconds
2nd Dawn Approach
3rd Fuchsia Bandana
Roma Cup
1st Magnifisio 1 minute 11.2 seconds
2nd Elite Belle
3rd Checkpoint
Roma Cup
1st Power Princess 1 minutes 10.6 seconds
2nd Ranger
3rd Playing God
Roma Cup
1st Luckygray 1 minutes 11.1 seconds
2nd Our Ol’ Fella
3rd Grand Nirvana
Roma Cup
1st Grand Nirvana 1 minutes 10.3 seconds
2nd Power Princess
3rd King Kool Kat
Roma Cup
1st Vain Raider 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Idyllic Prince
3rd Grand Nirvana
Roma Cup
1st Grand Nirvana 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Kens Double
3rd Sheenasaidgrey
Roma Cup
1st El Presidente 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Arctic Park
3rd Oroya Gold
Roma Cup
1st No Questions 1 minute 10.1 seconds
2nd Star Laser
3rd Scuffs
Roma Cup
1st Is Amazing 1 minute 09.9 seconds
2nd Electic
3rd River Mist
Roma Cup
1st Avenida 1 minute 12.9 seconds
2nd River Mist
3rd Ambers Halo
Roma Cup
1st Modem 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Cento
3rd Golden Delicious
Roma Cup
1st Tribula 1 minute 10.4 seconds
2nd Suspicion
3rd Dark ‘n’ Dangerous
Roma Cup
1st Kaprats 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Corporate Bruce
3rd Cool Business
Roma Cup
1st Secret Remedy 1 minute 11.4 seconds
2nd Prince Of Pop
3rd Country Blazer
Roma Cup
1st Star System 1 minute 10.6 seconds
2nd Double Blue
3rd Corporate James